We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really not sure what to make of this one...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really not sure what to make of this one...”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First impressions were fantastic, very luxurious and within easy reach of the town centre. However it seems that once you scratch the surface things are as cheap as possible whilst looking as good as possible.

The breakfast was ok, however the hot plate stuff was stone cold and having come down at 9.30am and asked politely if there were any more pancakes at 10am we were told that breakfast was finished, even though it doesn't finish until 10.30.

All this was excusable, the main issue is not. We had left the windows closed all day, instead using the air conditioning. At about 11pm I was reading a book on the bed and I noticed little flies dropping on we, I looked up to see the top corner of the room covered!! We went down to the reception hoping for bug spray/ a change of room but from the receptionist we got 'how is this my problem, what can I do about it?!' This made a situation which could have been smoothed over easily into something I wont remember for a long time. When I mentioned that perhaps we should complain she suddenly barked out 'I will get you another room, you can sleep in that and give to keys in'. No apology, no 'let me get you complimentary drinks', nothing! On going into the replacement room we noticed it smelt much fresher than the old room, but didn't have a bath, so check what you are getting with your room!

In short we will never go back to this hotel or to Bratislava, we felt distinctly unwelcome. (Btw, I dont have ridiculously high expectations, we are half way around a tour of Europe which is giving us an excellent perspective when comparing hotels.

Room Tip: Don't speak to the night receptionist, she is really mean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are very sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected as well as, that you had a bad experience with flies. I am really sorry; your room did not have a mosquito net on the window, which, of course, is our problem. Also mistakes during the breakfast as well as problems in communication at our reception, I would like to honestly ask you to apologise all mistakes on our side. We would like to assure you that we are doing continual improvements to better the product and keep it in a good quality level. One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement.
We wish you all the best, with kind regard,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    289
    104
    28
    14
See reviews for
119
187
35
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ekalaka, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was here for a conference and was not disappointed. As others have remarked, the exterior leaves a lot to be desired--my Slovak colleague who was my escort on the trip warned me, "Don't worry, it goes back to Soviet days, but the inside is better!" And it certainly is: warm and welcoming, with a very attentive staff and well-appointed rooms. It is really ideal for "conferencing," but equally nice for a non-business visitor. Located on a quiet square, off the beaten track, where local people walk their dogs and stroll with their children, it is in a quiet, congenial setting with essentials--currency exchange, drugstore, transportation--right there.

Be sure to avail yourself of the hotel restaurant--it is a superb game restaurant, and each of the several meals I had there was memorable. Forget everything the travel guides say about Slovak food tending toward the rich and heavy side: from pheasant soup to wild boar pate to red deer prime rib--all with varied and succulent vegetable accompaniments and served with really good regional wines--it was all excellent. And the décor is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear that our customers are satisfied with services of our hotel. We appreciate that you liked our St.Hubert Restaurant, which was many times awarded for its excellent venison and offers various gourmet menus in affordable prices. We are also happy to hear that you find our hotel comfortable for conferences and business stay.
Regarding the hotel building and the surrounding area, we are going to renovate our facade from outside to make nicer first impression 
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future. We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is located in a quiet area in Bratislava and the rooms are nice, modern and clean. Free Wifi access and breakfast is good for the price you pay. In 30 minutes you will walk to the city center of Bratislava or you can take a taxi and you're there in a few minutes. You pay a good price for a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review, with a positive underline of our value for the money. We are happy that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation, cleanliness and breakfast selection. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our location and its connectivity to downtown.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava again.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

From outside hotel is not looking so good like inside. So don't take outside view as opinion. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds. Air conditioning is quite noisy but it wasn't an issued or me. Elevator is horrible upon summer. Lack of airconditioning there is just unacceptable. Breakfast are tasty with good choice of everything you will need. You will need to use the bus to get to the centre which is really easy. Bus stop is just few meters from hotel and ticket will cost you about 70 cents. Of course you can go by walk for about 20 minutes. There is wifi but somehow I wasn't able to connect with my iPhone and Samsung. But if you have laptop you can use wired connection as well. On TV you will find about 15 channels including BBC and CNN.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofspace_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel, accommodation and TV channels selection, as well as a pleasant connectivity to downtown. I am really sorry for the internet connection failure; we have made several improvements to avoid similar complications in the future. Regarding the hotel building and the surrounding area, we are going to renovate our facade from outside to have nicer first impression.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel during your next stay in Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Don't be put-off by the exterior of this hotel - it blends perfectly with the 60/70's communist concrete architecture of the area. When inside it is really quite nice.

My initial welcome to the hotel was not great - the receptionist is clearly in the wrong job. However all other staff seemed great.

One problem was that the aircon was broken, and they could not fix it in the 2.5 days I was there. There had been floods in the town week before, so they recommended not to open the windows in the room (midges). However it was unbearably hot so I had to leave the windows open all night. Not too noisy, and a bit cooler.

Overall - fairly nice hotel for business, but not really for a romantic break! Good value.

Two tips:
1. If you are flying into Vienna, then the buses terminate at the station not far from this hotel (less than 1km). Alternatively pre-book a taxi - I used www.taxitransport.sk and had a nice new Mercedes transfer for only €46 - much cheaper than airport taxis.
2. If you find your safe in your room does not unlock when using the correct code, then push the door in slightly and re-type the code!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiohead319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are honestly sorry to hear that part of our services was not at the level that you have expected. We would like to assure you that we have already made several improvements, the entire problem with air condition was made by our internal communication mistake and I would like to apologize for all inconveniences that may cause. Regarding the hotel building and the surrounding area, we are going to renovate our facade from outside to have nicer first impression.
One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement and for telling us your experience.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our two young children in a family suite which was spacious & suited our needs. We were a little earlier than the check in time so we put our luggage down & enjoyed a light meal in the hotel restaurant, in the sun out front, which also had a little cubby house & some toys which was a hit with our children. Staff were very helpful & knowledgeable & when I reported a broken shower head, it as promptly repaired. There were only two small issues & these were; the 20 minute walk into the old town (may not be so bad for singles but with children not great) & the lack of wifi in the room - we were told this had something to do with Apple products however my husband has a Samsung mobile phone & this also had no access in the room. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank misslaussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel. We are very glad that you and your family liked our Family rooms, as well as Sunny terrace with special menus and a small corner for children. We also appreciate your positive valuation of our employees. Regarding the Wifi, we are sorry for all inconveniences, we have already invested into a new system to avoid similar problems in the future.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
1,520 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#13 of 94 in Bratislava
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Dulovo namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#19 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#19 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing