We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing quality of performance in a historical building”

Slovak National Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.44*
and up
Old Town Trolley Tour in Bratislava
Ranked #26 of 238 things to do in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing quality of performance in a historical building”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went to see Bayadere on the last Saturday.
It was a ballet that we will remember for long. The entire performance - orchestra, dancers, costumes etc. -were fantastic. Only can recommend to anyone. And the price is the lowest one that I have ever paid for opera/ballet ticket on the ground floor.
Ornamentation of the building is romantic, seatings are comfortable even with long legs.
Local people are dressed pretty so please keep up the habit and bring something nice for your trip if you go to the Old Opera House!!
What we also liked that everyone go for champagne in the buffet!
The staff is very young and helpful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
337 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very Good Venue”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I saw both Swan Lake and Rigoletto while in Bratislava. The venue is easy to access, comfortable and has good acoustics. I found both performances quite good as well. Prices are also very reasonable and I was able to get walk up tickets to both shows.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraigF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Opera”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Saw Lohengrin - a modern dress production, but great voices. The new building is first rate and the opera hall has great acoustics and comfortable seating. The Bratislava opera has an excellent well-deserved reputation and bus-loads of opera lovers come in from Vienna for the performances.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolfstetten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good performance, cheap prices”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We saw La Traviata and it was very well performed. The prices in General are so much cheaper than in any of the Western Towns and the artists are of excellent professionalism

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“opera”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I saw opera in the historic building of Slovak National Theatre, the tickets were very cheep, the performance was realy good, and building itself is also worht to visit, so just try

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1111094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slovak National Theatre also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Slovak National Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing