We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay But Rather Unfriendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penzion a restauracia PORTUS
Ranked #2 of 55 Bratislava B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. The twin room was basic but very clean. This is certainly a no frills place to stay - low quality towels, no toiletries in the bathroom etc. We had breakfast both mornings which again was ok, but nothing to shout about. You are not offered a menu at all, just asked by the owner what you would like - this proved to be a little tricky as his English was quite limited so it was a bit of a gamble as to what was presented to you! I had an omelette both mornings which was quite nice. One evening, we decided to have a Chicken salad before going out which was very good. There were 2 men who ran the place (not sure who was the actual owner). One was more pleasant than the other. The not so pleasant guy came across as being rather abrupt on occasions. The B&B is right next to the American Embassy so we felt quite safe when we arrived back late at night as there were always guards hanging around. We were, however, a little worried one night when we arrived back as we had trouble getting the key into the front door (it is locked after 10pm). Thankfully, the one guy was still in the building but just about to leave himself. He managed to sort the door out with difficulty but I dread to think what we would have had to have done if he hadn't been there. The location of the B&B was very good with lots of pubs and restaurants nearby and in walking distance to the Incheba Expo where we went to see Lord of the Dance. Would I stay here again? Probably not, as I like something a little more luxurious. However, if you just want somewhere to lay your head, then it serves the purpose.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kcottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 70 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in July of 2013. Manager is super friendly, the breakfast was among the best of our trip. Even if you don't stay, come by for breakfast or lunch. Yes, the rooms are upstairs and there is no elevator. Pack light. One downside to be aware of is that it is right next door to the American Embassy. You will hear the security gates clang in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Penzion Portus is right in the centre of Bratislava, and in an area cluttered with expensive hotels, it stands out by its friendly price. Rooms are simple, but adequate, with toilet and shower, good beds and good wifi. The owner is very nice and hospitable, he offered a free drink (in my case, a beer) on arrival and was helpful, but he hardly speaks a foreign language. The breakfast is not included, but value for money too.
One disadvantage: there is no parking space, and parking in the centre of town is expensive. In the end, it almost cost me as much as the room itself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runa195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The team working in this small B&B is fully welcoming and dedicated to making your stay comfortable. Despite the fact that they had no double room, which we initially booked and gave us one with twin beds, the rest of our stay was beyond our expectations. The breakfast was so delicious that we went there for lunch as well. Many local guests are the proof of quality. There is an option to park in front of the Penzion Portus, but you should contact them directly.

Room Tip: The rooms are basic. If you have a room looking at the street you might hear the dumpster truck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a group of 6 bicyclists doing the Danube route, we arrived at the hotel pretty late in the night, it was raining, we were wet. While they initially kept us at arms length, wet dirty riders wanting to come into their hotel, once they realized that we would clean up and not track dirt, they warmed up and helped us get checked in and get our gear stored. The rooms were basic but very clean and pretty spacious for European hotels. The breakfast cooked by Martin (one of the owners) was awesome, he asked what we wanted and then he cooked it. The location was nice it's right in the old town, next to the US embassy, a short walk to the various street musicians that were playing that night really made it nice.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms that we had were nice, nothing uber fancy, but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saul-from-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during the last week of September - the place is very welcoming especially if you arrive late at night after a rather tortuous journey by public transport. One of its strengths is its location right next to the rather overwhelming American Embassy but at least that way every taxi driver should know where to take you. The other attribute is that it is a stone's throw from the mooring point for the boats which ply the magnificent Danube - definitely worth a trip to visit Vienna and finally it is very close to the gentrified old town. Miro (ex Hotel Imperial Cork, Ireland), Roman and Martin the owner can not do enough for their guests. Breakfast is anything you want - if they do not have it ie muesli they nip out to the local shop to purchase it.
The kitchen really operates to serve lunch to the local people who work in this part of time but I recommend one of their dishes for supper - sadly kitchen shuts when the cook goes home at 20.00. The warmth of the hospitality is what sets Penzion Portus apart - that and the location.
Sadly those ladies looking for luxury in their sleeping arrangements will be disappointed - the rooms are clean but the soft furnishings are in short supply. But overall heartily recommend this unpretentious inn and I shall be returning with friends. ( It is a bit of a schlepp from the railway station for those who arrive this way - better to arrive on a Danube boat)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellonwheels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

In the middle of the old town, this was our first introduction to Slovakian hospitality and we were made to feel very welcome by the staff of this small and simple pension. The room was not great but functional with a good bathroom. Breakfast whilst not included is well worth having and includes juice, coffee, cold meats and cheese plus ham and fried eggs and enough bread to fill even my ample stomach. If you don't mind the slightly curious room furnishings then this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Taxis can get to this hotel where many in the centre are on pedestrianised streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Garni Hotel Virgo
Garni Hotel Virgo
#1 of 55 in Bratislava
174 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
NH Bratislava Gate One
#7 of 94 in Bratislava
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion a restauracia PORTUS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion a restauracia PORTUS

Address: Paulinyho 10, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bratislava
Price Range: $59 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penzion a restauracia PORTUS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing