We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully cozy”
Review of Penzion Portus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Portus
Ranked #1 of 51 Bratislava B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully cozy”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in July of 2013. Manager is super friendly, the breakfast was among the best of our trip. Even if you don't stay, come by for breakfast or lunch. Yes, the rooms are upstairs and there is no elevator. Pack light. One downside to be aware of is that it is right next door to the American Embassy. You will hear the security gates clang in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
18
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Penzion Portus is right in the centre of Bratislava, and in an area cluttered with expensive hotels, it stands out by its friendly price. Rooms are simple, but adequate, with toilet and shower, good beds and good wifi. The owner is very nice and hospitable, he offered a free drink (in my case, a beer) on arrival and was helpful, but he hardly speaks a foreign language. The breakfast is not included, but value for money too.
One disadvantage: there is no parking space, and parking in the centre of town is expensive. In the end, it almost cost me as much as the room itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Runa195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The team working in this small B&B is fully welcoming and dedicated to making your stay comfortable. Despite the fact that they had no double room, which we initially booked and gave us one with twin beds, the rest of our stay was beyond our expectations. The breakfast was so delicious that we went there for lunch as well. Many local guests are the proof of quality. There is an option to park in front of the Penzion Portus, but you should contact them directly.

Room Tip: The rooms are basic. If you have a room looking at the street you might hear the dumpster truck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a group of 6 bicyclists doing the Danube route, we arrived at the hotel pretty late in the night, it was raining, we were wet. While they initially kept us at arms length, wet dirty riders wanting to come into their hotel, once they realized that we would clean up and not track dirt, they warmed up and helped us get checked in and get our gear stored. The rooms were basic but very clean and pretty spacious for European hotels. The breakfast cooked by Martin (one of the owners) was awesome, he asked what we wanted and then he cooked it. The location was nice it's right in the old town, next to the US embassy, a short walk to the various street musicians that were playing that night really made it nice.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms that we had were nice, nothing uber fancy, but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saul-from-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during the last week of September - the place is very welcoming especially if you arrive late at night after a rather tortuous journey by public transport. One of its strengths is its location right next to the rather overwhelming American Embassy but at least that way every taxi driver should know where to take you. The other attribute is that it is a stone's throw from the mooring point for the boats which ply the magnificent Danube - definitely worth a trip to visit Vienna and finally it is very close to the gentrified old town. Miro (ex Hotel Imperial Cork, Ireland), Roman and Martin the owner can not do enough for their guests. Breakfast is anything you want - if they do not have it ie muesli they nip out to the local shop to purchase it.
The kitchen really operates to serve lunch to the local people who work in this part of time but I recommend one of their dishes for supper - sadly kitchen shuts when the cook goes home at 20.00. The warmth of the hospitality is what sets Penzion Portus apart - that and the location.
Sadly those ladies looking for luxury in their sleeping arrangements will be disappointed - the rooms are clean but the soft furnishings are in short supply. But overall heartily recommend this unpretentious inn and I shall be returning with friends. ( It is a bit of a schlepp from the railway station for those who arrive this way - better to arrive on a Danube boat)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellonwheels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

In the middle of the old town, this was our first introduction to Slovakian hospitality and we were made to feel very welcome by the staff of this small and simple pension. The room was not great but functional with a good bathroom. Breakfast whilst not included is well worth having and includes juice, coffee, cold meats and cheese plus ham and fried eggs and enough bread to fill even my ample stomach. If you don't mind the slightly curious room furnishings then this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Taxis can get to this hotel where many in the centre are on pedestrianised streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with our 9yo, the rooms were big with 3 comfy single beds. The only problem we had was there was no hot water when we went to shower, we didn't see owner & there may be a European way to turn it on in old buildings so it's our fault & the only reason we didn't give it 5. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the Wi-Fi was very fast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie1512w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
583 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#7 of 92 in Bratislava
586 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Portus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Portus

Property: Penzion Portus
Address: Paulinyho 10, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penzion Portus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing