We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bratislava Post-Communism Tour
682

Book in advance
from
$105.29
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Slavin
from $105.29
More Info
from $307.10
More Info
from $438.71
More Info
from $1,069.37
More Info
Reviews (1,269)
Filter reviews
1,269 results
Traveler rating
667
466
127
9
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
667
466
127
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soviet soldiers impressive monument their lives memorial site world war great view of the city old town worth the climb worth a visit city centre presidential palace train station liberation hill grave slovakia hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,269 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2019

We walked up to Slavín, which is a walk that goes up quite steeply.

At the Slavín monument you can have a look around at all the graves of the Russian soldiers.
You also have a beautiful city-view.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Saskia-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

I had been recommended to visit as it is a somber point where almost 7000 Union Soviet troops were killed and mainly buried in mass graves when Bratislava was taken from the Nazis. The site can be reached on the 148 bus which comes to the base or the blue city tour. The only thing with the latter is you only get 15 minutes which isn’t quite enough. As a result I only saw Alexander Dubcek’s peace garden, shown, from a distance.

That said worth visiting.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Fi_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

A Nice walk up the hill to the national cultural monument . A place to be seen, so take your time and walk from the old town and up. Have a nice walk😎

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank 142mattisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

The Monument of Slavin is located on a hill in the city and the ascent to the area is quite strong, especially if it is snowing like the day we visited it. However, the route compensated us with the above. Well-crafted houses, dressed in white stairs and clean atmosphere, created the perfect backdrop. The best of all was the panoramic view of the city from the monument. The Slawin Monument is a huge cemetery of 6,845 Soviet soldiers who were “lost” during the liberation of the city in 1945.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank chtsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

It is quite easy to be reached by car and there is also some small parking lot. The view from the hill not as good as from the castle but still not bad. For me, the most impression did the wall with names, date of birth and death of all Soviet soldiers who fell while liberating Bratislava

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Lukasz8dosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews