We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served a purpose!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Junior Bratislava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Junior Bratislava
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Served a purpose!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Myself and 8 friends stayed at the hotel as part of a stag weekend. The best man booked the stag do through a stag agency who arranged the accommodation for us so we didn't find out we were staying here until a day or so before we were due to arrive. The hotel exterior is very drab, a pale concrete structure. The hotel interior was also drab, rooms were basic but they were in the main clean and tidy. A big plus point was free Wi-Fi which was available throughout the hotel. I was baffled by the fact that the shower area was not fitted with a shower curtain which resulted in a flood every time someone took a shower, there was 3 of us sharing a room so by the time all 3 of us had shower water had streamed under the bathroom door and onto the carpet into the main living area. The bracket that held the shower head to the wall was also very loose so with the head in the holder it was prone to spinning around and spraying water all over the bathroom which also didn't help the flood situation. It's obviously been happening for many years as the bottom of the bathroom door was starting to rot. This was the case in the two other rooms our group were in.

As it was a stag weekend booking I wasn't expecting breakfast to be included so when I found out it was I was pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately I missed breakfast the first morning after a heavy night out but made sure I was up for the 2nd morning. Some of our group had made it to breakfast on the first morning and weren't very impressed but I wasn't took concerned as I'm not a particular fussy eater. Despite this I can confirm that the breakfast offerings are woeful, I came down to breakfast with my two room mates to find one piece of eggy bread, 2 choices of cold meat, a few slices of cheese, bread and 2 basic cereals. It seemed as though once the food was gone it wasn't topped back up, we couldn't find the butter and other breakfast condiments, the whole breakfast arrangement was very badly organised.

On the plus side for the hotel, is the lake right out side which gives a more natural appeal than that of the surrounding concrete jungle. The Billa over the road, is a large supermarket which sells everything you would want and the prices were very cheap.

In terms of the staff, we only really came into contact with the main lady on reception was very nice and helpful, called no end of taxis for us and even looked after our passports so we didn't lose them whilst out on the town.

The location is ok, not the most attractive of areas as touched on above and its quite a way out of the centre, about 10 minutes in a cab. The lady on reception said they had a flat 6 euro rate agreed with the taxi firm but all the drivers we had were insistent on charging us 10 euros.

On the whole it done the job for us, I wasn't expecting The Ritz but it was very basic and drab. Its ok for a short stay if your looking to keep costs down and spend most of your time out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    14
    4
    13
See reviews for
5
5
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I usually stay at the Junior Hotel when I am in Bratislava as it is close to the bus line from the Airport to the Train station / Centre (Bus 61). It is a ca. 8 minute walk to the hotel from the bus stop and a 8 minute walk to the tram stop into the immediate city centre (tram 9). The accommodation is very basic, but adequate for a couple of days if you want to discover the city and you are out most of the day. The hotel was build in the typical old style - somehow I like the old charm :-) Breakfast is also good with fresh bread, cheese and meat, cooked sausages, cereals, fresh vegetables and tea / coffee. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel has a bar - but I haven't used it yet as well as a restaurant - however, I would always recommend going into the historic centre of Bratislava for a typical meal at very reasonable prices.
I will stay here again when I am back in Bratislava.

Room Tip: It took me a while to figure out public transport: To / from the airport and train station: Bus 61...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A nice hotel, well positioned. Lake located in the vicinity increases its value. It is necessary to install air conditioning. If you want a good room ask at reception room with lake view. In the neighborhood (across the street) have a large store.

Room Tip: If you want a good room ask at reception room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel is in a nice location right next to a lake. It is very close to the new hockey stadium (Orange Arena), and there is a large Billa supermarket right across the street that has everything that you'll need. The staff at the front desk speak English. The rooms are pretty much Communist throwbacks - torn up carpet, concrete walls, a tiny TV that gets 4 channels, one 40-watt lightbulb in a frosted glass wall sconce is the room's only light source, mattresses as hard as boards, and no shower door or curtain, no hair dryer. All of that for 100 Euros, although I clearly paid for the proximity to the hockey stadium (I was there for the World Championship games). Never mind. Breakfast was decent and the people were nice. Be warned - it's a 25-minute walk to the train station or to old town from here - you're better off going in a taxi if you have a big suitcase.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenellen1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nivy
Hotel Nivy
#50 of 93 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Color
Hotel Color
#39 of 93 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Old City Hotel
Old City Hotel
#42 of 93 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Set
Hotel Set
#27 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Modena Hotel
Modena Hotel
#61 of 93 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bratislava
Crowne Plaza Bratislava
#12 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Junior Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Junior Bratislava

Property: Hotel Junior Bratislava
Address: Drienova 14, Bratislava 82101, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Junior Bratislava 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Junior Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing