We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“selaví: C’est la vie - place to be!”
Review of Selavi

Selavi
Ranked #256 of 1,466 Restaurants in Bratislava
Price range: $7 - $20
Description: “The art of living a good life” We just love life and everything it brings. That’s why we’d like to invite you to enjoy life with a glass of superb wine and a plate with first-class delicacies in the stylish premises of Selaví, our restaurant and wine shop at Klobučnícka 4 in Bratislava. The idea to open a wine shop with the Selaví (from the French C´est La Vie – “That’s life” in English) concept originated during final stages of the reconstruction of the historical Hotel Lomnica; this is where the first Selaví wine shop was actually opened. In the Selaví branch located at Klobučnícka 4 in Bratislava, you may taste exquisite wines made by top-level family and boutique wineries from the former Austrian-Hungarian monarchy. You will also taste delightful cuisine based on the tradition of the old monarchy. A wide range of excellent cheeses or cold platters serving typical Slovak cured meats and meat products comes as a matter of course.
Restaurant details
Description: “The art of living a good life” We just love life and everything it brings. That’s why we’d like to invite you to enjoy life with a glass of superb wine and a plate with first-class delicacies in the stylish premises of Selaví, our restaurant and wine shop at Klobučnícka 4 in Bratislava. The idea to open a wine shop with the Selaví (from the French C´est La Vie – “That’s life” in English) concept originated during final stages of the reconstruction of the historical Hotel Lomnica; this is where the first Selaví wine shop was actually opened. In the Selaví branch located at Klobučnícka 4 in Bratislava, you may taste exquisite wines made by top-level family and boutique wineries from the former Austrian-Hungarian monarchy. You will also taste delightful cuisine based on the tradition of the old monarchy. A wide range of excellent cheeses or cold platters serving typical Slovak cured meats and meat products comes as a matter of course.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

good location
(couple of steps from the Main Square)
great wine
exceptional, beautifully presented food
interesting details in interior design
art works on the walls
lunch/dinner/drink
TOP: excellent customer servis ❤️

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank DevaSlovenska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 12 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2019

The former wine shop was rebuild and refurnished into a restaurant. The interior is nice and clean but for my it has no special "atmosphere". The place has a great location in the city centre. As far as I know this is the 2nd opened Selavi operation. The first one - wine bar is in Tatranska Lomnica.
But beside the neuter interior I can say the service was absolutely professional and the staff was always helpful, going around.
Selection of wines is wide - from different Slovak, German and Italian wine producers. The staff will help you with a selection or pairing if you don´t have your own opinion. And the food! That was a fairy-tale. Season products prepared with fantasy and all I got on my plate was super tasty.
The menu is changing quite often according to available seasonal products but there is still some special offer which will be offered by the staff.
Great place to hang out with friends, for date or for wine.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucySkrovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador827111, Manažér pre styk s verejnosťou at Selavi, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Dear Lucy,
thank you very much for your feedback, we truly appreciate it and we are very happy, that you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
You are right, our concept is build on traditional cuisine, focusing on regional dishes from former Austro-Hungarian empire. The same goes for our wine selection, we offer wine made by top-level family and boutique wineries from Slovakia, Moravia and other regions of the former Austrian-Hungarian monarchy.

Due to our offer changing according to the current season, as you metioned, we will be happy to welcome you back again, we currently introduced our new exicting menu for spring/summer :)

Thank you very much once again,
Team Selavi


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Selavi is a nifty wine bar. Yet they also serve fabulous food! Tasty, delicate, creative and quite sophisticated. The menu is limited, do one doesn't have many options to chose from. However, everything we ordered was top notch.
And the wine too. Especially the Slovakian Donau, which reminded me of some of the best French grand cru CABs I'd enjoyed.
Highly recommended for a romantic dinner, or any dinner
...

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Erez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Walked past this restaurant and then saw the car in the Window, and wondered what on earth is that? Never heard of an Aero before. So went back the next day for what we thought would be a quick lunch and was blown away by the quality of what was offered. Now if you favour belt busting hearty food then these delicately prepared offerings that you normally find in establishments with Michelin stars will not be for you. However if you like clever combinations of taste and textures you would not be disappointed. As Selavi started life as a wine bar you would expect the wines to be good and both the ‘Bott Frigyes’ Pinot Noir and the ‘Chateau Ruban Milia’ semi sweat were very good and the ‘Zitavske Vinice’ Dunaj was excellent. The menu is short but the Celery Soup, Cod, Pork Knuckle and both desserts were all good. Prices were surprisingly reasonable. The coffee was also excellent.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheBlueDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Stopped by on a Thursday, where it was a bit quiet. So decided to revisit on Friday. Nice crowd, cool music and generally relaxed atmosphere. Very professional service. Visit this place if you enjoy complex wines and delicious food.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank O4325ALpeterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selavi also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Selavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing