We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b central to old town in a very quiet location.”
Review of Garni Hotel Virgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garni Hotel Virgo
Ranked #1 of 51 Bratislava B&B and Inns
Berks
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great b&b central to old town in a very quiet location.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We wanted and found a quiet b&b convenient for the old town. This met our needs very well. We had a ground floor room which was very clean and comfortable. The breafast was very good value.
The taxi we had from the station was a real rip-off at EU18 for less than a 5 minute drive. The reverse journey was about EU4!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theRoyalBerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
24
69
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Amazing little B&B Within a few minutes walk of everything you need/attractions.

WE stayed on the the top floor, some nice views. Good value for money. Taxi from the airport was very good value. Room was quite spacious and good shower facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iangeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A friend brought a Rick Steves book about Austria on our trip and it included a chapter on Bratislava. We were interested to see that the Penzion Virgo was one of the hotels he recommended when coming to Bratislava.

We arrived from Vienna to the Petržalka train station in Bratislava and it was about a 20-25 min drive to the hotel. Our room (on the second floor) was nice, the bathroom was spacious, it wasn't terribly noisy late at night or in the mornings (the window in the room I stayed in overlooked the street), bring your own conditioner because they have the “two in one” shampoo and body gel for shower use, and there is no air conditioning in the rooms.

The neighborhood isn't bad and we were told that since we are so close to the presidential palace, there is a lot of security around the area; I always felt safe at night and during the day.

The staff was nice and they were very helpful with recommending bars, restaurants, etc.

TIP: arrange for the hotel to have a taxi waiting for you when you arrive or find a way to have a taxi called to the train station/airport to pick you up. It cost us about 25 euros when it should have cost no more than 10 euro. If you call for a taxi, they will be more honest with their fee than the taxis you find randomly on the street.

Room Tip: There is a hostel located on the same street (Downtown Backpackers? something like that...) and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, can get very noisy at night and in the early hours of the morning. Some receptionist staff are polite. Be warned they ask for cash payment on arrival and claim they don't take cards, even though its clearly stated on the website and through booking that they do. They do not take payment when you book online and if you book through booking.com you give your credit card details.
The card machine does work, only when the staff can be bothered to use it. The hotel is located close to the old town, about 10-15 min walk, all attractions are quite near. Overall satisfied, but measurements could be taken to make it quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a triple room and found it quite spacious and comfortable. Penzion is in a quiet area but still only a short distance from the old town.The entrance door is locked at all times and we found it a bit tedious having to ring a bell to get in all the time.Cleaning is ok but breakfast is a bit hit and miss,unless you are there very early ,a few times there was very little left by 8.45am.We would stay again but without paying for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at this Penzion and we were all sad that we were only staying one night in Bratislava.

The rooms are clean, the staff are very helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the price is great value for money. The Penzion is perfectly located to the old town and very easy to find.

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
1,344 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived on the train from Vienna and took a short local bus ride into town - it's fairly easy to find - about 5 stops (it's on the same street as Downtown Backpackers and they helpfully have a sign at the train station telling you how many stops to their hostel). Good location, short walk to the historic centre of Bratislava. We arrived a couple of hours prior to check-in. There was no-one around the hotel and we are 99% sure the room was in fact ready.... but we were still told to come back later - albeit a generous 30 minutes prior to "official check in". We found this to be a stereotypical Eastern European attitude (trouble with stereotypes is they occur because things happen so often. There are rules and we will stick to them mentality). Having said that, the room was beautiful, spotlessly clean, spacious, comfy bed, gorgeous brand new bathroom with large tub, modern and smartly designed in a cosy way. Excellent value. Breakfast is expensive for what you get - so we took almost every meal at the restaurant at the Downtown Backpackers a few doors down the road (see review). We would stay here again if we return to Bratislava.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,619 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,543 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#7 of 92 in Bratislava
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Hotel Virgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Hotel Virgo

Property: Garni Hotel Virgo
Address: Panenska 14, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia (Formerly Penzion Virgo)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Hotel Virgo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Garni Hotel Virgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing