We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and perfect location”
Review of Hyde Park Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hyde Park Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This war really a good option to stay in Bratislava. Location was perfect and room was really nice and clean. We had a double room towards the courtyard, so it was real quiet as well.
Use of fridge and water kettle + cups/plates in the room made it handy.
Nearby (across the street from Slovak Pub) very nice pubs / restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annamari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hyde Park Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 139 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and were really suprised with how good it was! The location is great, near to the centre and everything you will want to visit, and there are plenty of shops and restaurants on the same street. The room itself was big, clean and had a nice bathroom. The guy who checked us in, Igor, was so helpful, he gave us maps, showed us where all the attractions were, and gave us good advice on how to get to the bus station etc. The only downside was that our room was on the front of the building, and the trams were so loud! This isn't the hostel's fault obviously, but if we had been staying longer i think we would have asked for a room at the back of the building as the trams run quite late and start pretty early! This place is such good value for money, I would recommend if for sure,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emc420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Location is in the city center, 5 mins to all attractions. Igor helped a lot, and very nice man. Price is cheap and everything is okay . Cons: no hair drier, no breakfast, you have to make your bed yourself (sheets etc)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadullah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Honestly, my expectations were much lower than this hostel offers! Well, the word "hostel" itself makes you be prepared for minimal comfort... But my room in Hyde Park was not worse then the room in 3* hotel in Riga =) Seriously! The room was pretty spacious (about 18 square meters) with 2 beds, small wardrobe, big TV-set it even had kitchen area with kettle and stuff... The bathroom was huge! Well-equiped with good water pressure.
Wireless is available for free.
The location is also nice - 15 minutes walk down the walking street to the city center. Many caffes, restaurants and shops are around.
The owner was very polite and helpful!
The only thing I would add is opportunity to pay with credit cards, all the other stuff is well-done!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had the chance to spend one night in this hostel during my stopover in Bratislava, my feedback about this accommodation is almost positive.
The hostel is placed in the very city center, along the Obchodna street (one of the main avenue), so from this hostel you can easily reach all the main attractions of the city (as Stare Mesto old city, hrad castel and so on..); moreover, this hostel is easily reachable from the airport / main station, as you just need one public bus to get to the hostel.
When travelling, I used to spend my vacation in hostel as I appreciate int'l environment, relaxed and cheap accommodation, but I need to advice that at the end it is not a real hostel.
In fact, rooms are located on the upper floor of a building, but not living rooms or common rooms are provided; this place seems more a B&B than an hostel, as rooms are fully equipped with private large bathrooms, beds, tv and windows.
By the way, rooms are clean, confortable and quite; towels and blankets are provided, bathroom was perfectly in service and checkin was smooth and effective.
On the ground floor, hostel provides also an easy-going pub, where you can enjoy fresh meals in a fresh terrace.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I spent just one night in this hostel, in a double room with a friend of mine. We spent 18€ each, and the room was provided with tv, private WC, etc.; so you pay the price typical for a hostel but you can have more privacy and comfort, for sure.
The position is perfect, 5 minutes walking from city centre, in a very lively street.

Just 2 drawbacks:

- rooms are too much bright because Venetian blinds don't cover so well windows;

- the tram runs just below the main part of the hostel's room, it is quiet silent but for someones it could be a problem to sleep in the morning;

So, just try to go sleeping not too late in the night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maximit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had booked a three-bed-room and got a room with five beds, so the room was very spacious and clean. We had our own bathroom (the shower door didn´t work properly, but apart from that no complaints), the room had a fan, a kettle and some cups. The hostel is within walking distance from downtown Bratislava, so that was great, too. The price was reasonable as well; The only downside was that our room faced the street, and since it was a saturday night, it was pretty noisy all night long, so I couldn´t open the window to cool the room down a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatharinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,498 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old City Hotel
#56 of 92 in Bratislava
181 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,588 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hostel

Address: Obchodna 53, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia (Formerly Crash Hostel)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range: $33 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hyde Park Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing