We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap place for your stay in Bartislava!”
Review of Hyde Park Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hyde Park Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had the chance to spend one night in this hostel during my stopover in Bratislava, my feedback about this accommodation is almost positive.
The hostel is placed in the very city center, along the Obchodna street (one of the main avenue), so from this hostel you can easily reach all the main attractions of the city (as Stare Mesto old city, hrad castel and so on..); moreover, this hostel is easily reachable from the airport / main station, as you just need one public bus to get to the hostel.
When travelling, I used to spend my vacation in hostel as I appreciate int'l environment, relaxed and cheap accommodation, but I need to advice that at the end it is not a real hostel.
In fact, rooms are located on the upper floor of a building, but not living rooms or common rooms are provided; this place seems more a B&B than an hostel, as rooms are fully equipped with private large bathrooms, beds, tv and windows.
By the way, rooms are clean, confortable and quite; towels and blankets are provided, bathroom was perfectly in service and checkin was smooth and effective.
On the ground floor, hostel provides also an easy-going pub, where you can enjoy fresh meals in a fresh terrace.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

I spent just one night in this hostel, in a double room with a friend of mine. We spent 18€ each, and the room was provided with tv, private WC, etc.; so you pay the price typical for a hostel but you can have more privacy and comfort, for sure.
The position is perfect, 5 minutes walking from city centre, in a very lively street.

Just 2 drawbacks:

- rooms are too much bright because Venetian blinds don't cover so well windows;

- the tram runs just below the main part of the hostel's room, it is quiet silent but for someones it could be a problem to sleep in the morning;

So, just try to go sleeping not too late in the night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maximit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had booked a three-bed-room and got a room with five beds, so the room was very spacious and clean. We had our own bathroom (the shower door didn´t work properly, but apart from that no complaints), the room had a fan, a kettle and some cups. The hostel is within walking distance from downtown Bratislava, so that was great, too. The price was reasonable as well; The only downside was that our room faced the street, and since it was a saturday night, it was pretty noisy all night long, so I couldn´t open the window to cool the room down a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatharinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hostel has private rooms, so that's a plus if you're travelling as a couple or with family. The room was very spacey and was pretty clean when we arrived. It has free wifi even in the room. The hostel is about 5 minutes to the centre, so you can walk everywhere. Igor, the owner, is a really nice person and super helpful, you'll love him. I find only two problems: first, the curtains let all the sunlight in, so it's pretty difficult to stay asleep past 8 or 9. Second, the price. Personally I think it was a little too much for what you get.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this hostel from Friday 17th to Monday 20th August 2012. The hostel is 5 minutes along the main rd to the old town and is perfectly located with loads of fantastic and cheap bars around. The receptionist Igor was very helpfull. The hostel is very nice and bright.

Our room was a triple room with a double bed and two twin beds. The room was very big and had a great bathroom.

The room faced onto the main street with two massive windows where you could sit on the ledge and watch the world go by.

The hostel was fantastic. I have been all over Europe and this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Perfect location and very cheap at £13 each per night. I would have paid £20 each per night for this.

I would give this 5/5 and definatly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

if you are on a budget, this is the place for you. Clean, nice rooms, great service and an excellent location. It is withing walking distance of the main train station, and right next to the historical center. If you are feeling tired or just a bit lazy, you have a tram stop right in front of your door. The hostel itself is a bit basic, no kitchen, no bar, no common areas to speak of, but the beds were great, bathrooms were clean, modern and spatious, and the manager is super helpful. All in all, great stay - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunburina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very, very nice owner and his wife. They have helped us even when we were in Bratislava around 4 am! Very nice room, or should i said appartment with tv, washer, separate bathroom and kitchenette. Great localisation on Obchodnastreet near to city center.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vulpes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#2 of 70 in Bratislava
544 reviews
Patio Hostel
#7 of 70 in Bratislava
564 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hostel Folks
Hostel Folks
#1 of 70 in Bratislava
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,777 reviews
NH Bratislava Gate One
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
766 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hostel

Address: Obchodna 53, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia (Formerly Crash Hostel)
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range: $40 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hyde Park Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing