We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally in the East European Mood!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally in the East European Mood!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel provides a great combination of location/facilities/price. It is located very centrally and the extremely friendly hotel staff make it a very good option when staying in Bratislava. The best advantage of this hotel is that it truly has a East European flavour!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are more than glad that we could provide you the Eastern European flavour and even more and that we served as the great point to explore our beautiful and cozy city.

Thank You for sharing Your feedback with us and all the Tripadvisor community.

Thank You for staying at Danubia Gate hotel.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    164
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
94
346
76
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay in Danubia Gate. The location is great, the staff is extremely friendly and the prices are very reasonable, including a good breakfast with perfect scrambled eggs. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBR1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You very much for sharing Your experience with the tripadvisor community.
I am very pleased that You enjoyed the stay at Danubia gate hotel within our great, friendly and always helpful team. I am more than happy that You like the breakfast as well as it is our challenge to provide the best breakfast in our smaller premises. But we try hard and on the small place we create and conjure to provide to the guests as much as possible. We even provide a la carte breakfast free of charge to make our guests fully satisfied. And if the guest asks for something, everything is possible in our hotel and we are ready.

Thank You for staying with us.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What an interesting hotel. It is just so cool, from the great young, efficient, folks at reception, to the modern, eclectic decor, to all the right touches in the rooms. (first time I actually experienced having a wall hung, flat screen, computer in the room: nice touch) The breakfast and location is good to get you off to a nice start to visiting Bratislava's lovely old town. I happened to stumble upon the conference rooms on the top floor. This would be a great hotel to hold a small conference in. The hotel is very much like the rest of the town, seemingly young, vibrant, and just plain cool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mike,

You made my day. It is very pleasant to read such a beautiful review from such satisfied guest.
We are more than happy that we had the possibility to offer You our services, provide You such a good experience and contribute to Your memorable stay in Bratislava.

Thank You for staying with us.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very good hotel in Bratislava. I do not have enough experience in staying in Bratislava, but in my opinion this is a good choice. Very clean, comfortable, with attentive staff and hearty breakfast. In 10 minutes away from the historical centre. What do you need more?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vs-versus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You very much for taking Your time to share Your positive experience with our hotel with Tripadvisor community. We are glad that You enjoyed our location, cleanliness and our always helpful staff. We are more than pleased to contribute with our best to Your beautiful stay in Bratislava.

Thank You for staying with us.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a one night stay at this hotel in July 2013. Few positive remarks:
+ Location of the hotel is good. Area is quiet and hotel is not far from the old city
+ Glass of wine as a welcome drink was a good surprise
+ Service at the reception and at the breakfast restaurant were very friendly
+ Parking area behind the hotel without any extra costs
+ Clean and spacious rooms with free wi-fi and pc in the room
+ A small TV in the bathroom
+ Nice and modern room decoration
+ Led reading lights

Few things which didn’t worked very well:
- Wifi -Internet in the room lost it’s connection all the time. Disturbing.
- TV in the bathroom didn’t work well (all the channels disappeared suddenly after 10-20 minutes).
- Sometimes door opened very slowly with electronic key. Unsure technology.
- TV and computer device reacted on same remote control. If you change channel from TV, also the computer device changed channel at the same time.
- Some technical problems to get wi-fi code for me at the reception

Hotel is clean and room was modern and spacious. All their technological solutions didn’t work very well all the time. Regardless the technical problems it was good place to overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It's located between the main bus station and old town. The people were very friendly and helpful. The entire hotel was very modern and clean. I had a huge room for a great price. There is wifi and air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blsnwbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. We were more than delighted to have you as a guest in our hotel and to provide you with the best service.

We are working with love and passion to offer our guest the excellence.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room, which was generally a bonus. Unfortunately it was a jacuzzi bath rather than a shower. The room was really large and one of the best equipped we have experienced. There were 3 TVs including one in the bathroom! English channels were limited. There was a full size PC system with printer!

Reception was welcoming both at arrival and departure.

What should have been a very positive experience was marred by the restaurant staff. The sole waitress was eating her dinner behind the bar and spoke to us with her mouth full! She was a bit obtuse concerning our questions about the wine. We ordered melon and ham as a starter. Initially we were the only diners, so it was puzzling why such a simple dish took so long. We were subsequently told that the 'chef' had misread the order and made only one. There was therefore a further wait. My wife ordered fish and the only accompanying vegetable was carrots, so she also requested potatoes as an addition. The dish was presented with a large quantity of carrots only. When the potatoes were requested, the waitress said that they had been forgotten. She then said the kitchen could cook them if we still wanted!! Obviously too late with the dish cooling. The waitress and kitchen staff seemed to find their omissions funny, as her return to the kitchen with the complaints resulted in laughter.

I requested green mushroom pasta with roast chicken. When presented it looked totally unappetising. At my first taste I detected grit in the dish. The mushrooms had obviously not been cleaned properly. I am a fan of this dish and have had it in restaurants many times. It did not taste good. I complained immediately to the waitress, only to be told there was nothing wrong with it, and that a previous diner enjoyed it! My complaint was not addressed and she simply wanted to argue. I doubt the existence of any other diner because we arrived early and only one other person arrived after us. We went out to eat elsewhere and when we returned there was still only the same diner.

We were on a 2 month tour of Europe and this has been our worst dining experience. Very poor service and attitude. Unappealing food presentation and taste. There is no way I can recommend the hotel's restaurant.

The hotel itself I would allocate 4 out of 5. It is well located, well equipped. The parking and wi fi are free, Reception staff pleasant. The deluxe room was excellent. The breakfast was reasonably good, but not as good as similar level hotels.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is excellent, but does not have a shower enclosure. Our room at the back was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWeismuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you ver much for taking your time to write us this detailed review and your experience with our hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the De Luxe room with all its equipment.

On the other hand i am really very sorry for the experience you had in our restaurant, which did not meet your expectations. I very much apologize for the whole situation. We will definately do our best to avoid such problems in the future and will work harder on improving our restaurant services.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
1,520 reviews
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 94 in Bratislava
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
571 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#13 of 94 in Bratislava
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Property: Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava
Address: Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DANUBIA GATE is a small but very friendly **** hotel in the Bratislava city centre, offering a complex package of services to both the business clientele and tourists. It is interesting due to its modern but elegant and tastefully designed interior and excellent services, hotel is famous for its latest technological equipment. The accommodation capacity of the hotel is 45 beds and we provide single rooms, double rooms, economy and family rooms as well as deluxe rooms. One of the rooms is specially furnished to provide comfort to our disabled guests. Modern STREET COFFEE & RESTAURANT with capacity for 40 – 50 guests is part of the hotel lobby. Its appealing architecture creates two spaces with different design. The hotel offers two conference rooms on the top floor, which are separated from the accommodation premises, and hence provide conditions for undisturbed meetings. Capacity of these rooms is 20 and 40 places depending on the type of event and variability of seating. A balcony with a view of the Bratislava castle and the old town is part of the rooms, which is designated also for smokers. Hotel provides free fitness centre to its guests and smoking Coffee House. All additional services which you may wish, will be arranged for you on the basis of contractual relations between several organizations and the hotel. Parking is available directly at the car park at the back of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing