We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great little hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were in Bratislava on family business, never having visited before we chose Mama's after reading the reviews. We were very glad we did! Great small hotel, super welcome, we were given an up grade on our room which had a huge terrace. It is very strange to be opposite a police station/prison and in a residential street, however, it was only a twenty minute stroll to the old town. Not sure I would have liked walking back at night by myself but only because the street lighting was not great it felt safe otherwise. Super views from the roof terrace. Whilst the breakfast was not exciting, it was perfectly fine there was plenty to eat and drink with cereal, cold meats, yogurts and pastries.

Good small gym, tiny pool and jacuzzi on the roof terrace (bit too chilly to take advantage in early October)

We received great help from reception when we were looking for various locations in the city. A light bulb was changed within minutes. I would definitely recommend this hotel and go back there if we were ever to be in Bratislava again.

If getting a taxi from the station ask the price to avoid being ripped off!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika54B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    55
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
70
16
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Check in efficient. One of our team upgraded but then had to wait to get in while it was cleaned. Rooms good although, as with all boutique hotels, light in bathrooms not strong enough to really ensure you not going out looking like Coco the clown...

After dinner we returned and a very nice chap served us beers until the wee small hours. Bill in morning not cheap but it was reasonable.

Breakfast was in a very small room but as we only ones there no problem.

Hotel location a 20 minute walk from old town but we would return again.

Thanks to all

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DonnaTunwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

really nice small hotel that has everything you would require for your stay in this city ,faultless,would definetly recommend anyperson who was to visit bratislava to stay at this hotel ,close enough to the center,ten euros in a taxi,would be my first choice if i was to visi again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selwyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kruisland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We've visited the Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel during our trip through Europe last summer (2013). Since we arrived by car it was good that the hotel had some private parking spaces to park the car.

The room was great ! It was not very big, but it was very well decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The bahtroom was very nice and everything was really clean.

The hotel is located a bit outside of the city center and it takes about 25 minutes to walk to the city center. We also took a taxi, and that only costed us €5, so that's also a cheap way to go to the city center. The area around the hotel is very quiet and relaxed, so no noises at night.

The best thing about the hotel was the swimming pool and the jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was on the rooftop and we really enjoyed using it during our stay. Since the hotel has only 15 rooms the chances are pretty big that nobody is using the jacuzzi or pool.

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. One time the jacuzzi didn't work and they fixed it within 15 minutes. Also the sushi restaurant was very nice.

If you're looking for a very relaxed and romantic place to stay in Bratislave i would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikvanTurnhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is a 5 star gem, with some kind of odd points. The lift stops between floors, it was obviously added later and it's opposite the police penitentiary, which could mean it's either very safe, or you risk meeting strange people going in and come out from the 'hotel with a difference' from across the street. Other than that, I can truly say I loved what they've done with this hotel. The decor is very stylish and high-end design. From the illuminated bed-boards and floor lifts to candles in the stairs to the clean-cut lines of the bathroom. The only negative was the checking-out. As I use hotels.com, which prepays on the room, there was some confusion when I was asked to pay again for my stay, as they couldn't find the paperwork or access the account for hotels.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Don't be put off by the situation, in a residential street. My room was well appointed and large. Fashionably designed but, unlike some much more expensive hotels I have stayed in, not to the point of being impractical. For only the second time in my life, I tried the sushi restaurant and really enjoyed it. Staff were pleasant, helpful and polite. Two criticisms: Breakfast was functional and not much more; my room had a bath but the side was ridiculously high, so if you have slight mobility issues or are very short, it's probably best to ask for a room with a shower cubicle.
It is located 10 minutes from the main commercial area and 15 from old town. I paid 119 Euro per night, two-thirds the price of a small Paris hotel but twice the quality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in town for one night and this hotel was great. Although the sushi bar was closed for a private function I was able to order some food to my room. Having access to the pool and sauna was a real bonus and the roof terrace was beautiful!! The staff were so friendly and even agreed to send me something I had left in the room. The room was spacious and well decorated and everything was spotlessly clean. Brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseinLondon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Art Hotel William
#20 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Arcadia Hotel
#16 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 93 in Bratislava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Hotel Albrecht
#29 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel

Property: Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel
Address: Chorvatska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mama`s Design & Boutique Hotel is a comfort boutique hotel in the wider city centre. The hotel will enchant you with a unique style, modern design and family-friendly atmosphere. You will find 15 luxurious Superior and Executive rooms here. Hotel is located in a quiet residential district, and the utter privacy of the guests is ensured by rooms` sound-proof system. Each guestroom has a premium minibar, 37-inches plasma TV with in room entertainment system and a pillow menu that allows you to choose the best pillow just for you. There is a free Internet access in the entire hotel. You can relax in the private wellness centre with a sauna, pool and fitness. Within hotel services there is an own car rental, free bike rental, free laptop rental. There is a wonderful Panasain Restaurant in the hotel. The distance from the airport is 15 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing