We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite adequate”
Review of Hotel Avance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Avance
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As a guest on a business trip last week I was checked into this Hotel.
The rooms are modern and well fitted out. The bathroom was adequate with a powerful shower located above the bath ( a shame this was not free standing in its own shower cabinet as the powerful spray did tend to soak the bathroom floor )
I had a room to the front of the hotel affording perhaps a cheerier outlook than those rooms to the rear.
Breakfast was again adequate and the coffee was excellent.
The staff were perhaps more efficient than friendly but I had no complaints.
The location of this hotel in the old town is what makes it a good choice.
Everything touristy is within walking distance.
The Wifi worked very well.
All in all I would be happy to stay here again if I was to return to Bratislava on another occasion

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are in my opinion the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Its hard to tell what i did like, maybe room. it was really good looking room and free wifi ... The hotel is located close to the city center.

i think for this price in Bratislava room should have:
- coffeemaker,
- wall plugs next to the bed
- slippers
room should be clean, we did stay 2 days and we could write with finger to the dust

Try to find out in advance if hotel plan to have some company banquet or similar plans, if so just go to different hotel (i dint sleep til 3:30am one night, cause this mistake)

I have to tell that hotel management did offered me a free stay as compensation for this, so i know it was not standard situation, bud really management should consider what is more important, guests in hotel or banquet for some company.

-- staff on reception is incompetent
-- staff in restaurant ok, just they do things they should do when restaurant is closed not front of guests (preparing things for next day breakfast ....)
-- staff from kitchen and reception should not be found smoking in garage

Room Tip: dont stay on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuzana244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is located close to the Danubie port and to the city center. Then you can easily walk to downtown or enjoing a relaxing promenade on the blue Danubie. Clean, confortable, very calm, with private parking, good restaurant and a very well working wifi service to connect to internet. From the hotel it is easy to reach the main turistic points in Bratislava ( the castle, the cathedral, the main square, the blue church, the shopping area) and the port where if you want you can book your cruise to Vienna. Definetly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alfonso P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

One cannot go wrong, with this hotel. Excellent location / staff / bar / room (Posh bathroom... what a treat). Even my friend Doris, would be pleased with this hotel; we are going to recommend it to her (beleive me, Doris would be very annoyed, if I gave a poor recommendation). What more can I say. Book it, you will enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed with another couple. rooms on the first floor, both excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in the historical centre and within a walking distance from the pier where the ferry from Vienna terminates.
The staff was courteous and spoke English. Breakfast was good, not amazing but still satisfying. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. I stayed there for 2 nights during a short city break in late May'12.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, chose this hotel due to to central location as per Tripadvisors comments. On our first night at 23.38 pm, all of a sudden a lady opened our door, and she said she made a mistake and pointed that her room was 440. 8 asked her how she can open our door with her key? I immediately informed the night reception who replied to me that it can't be possible! I told him it just happened and my husband and I saw the lady! The next morning, we reported again to the lady receptionist and her first reaction was it can't happen! We told her it did, and suggested they check their CCTV. So before our departure today, we asked her again and she said that they did not see anyone because the camera shows only people leaving he elevator and not going into their rooms..and she again repeated that this was not possible to happen! So I ask her whether she thinks I was inventing a story? Without any regrets nor apologies fromn this lady , its a pity for a hotel with such a good reputation, having won the 2012 Tripadvisor best hotel, and have such an attitude like this of their staff! As I said the hotel was almost perfect, I would like also to suggest that breakfast be refilled with hot dishes ..for some late comers like us. Housekeeping should also be trained to check and clean properly, when we arrived we noticed bread crumbs on the carpets, and was still thee until the day we left. The throw pillow on the sofa will also need to be replaced as this is completely old and thorn! As I said it was almost perfect due to its location and spacious room. I like to have a reply from the Manager for the incident that happened on 10 sept. thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A modem, clean, comfortable hotel in a very central location in Bratislava. The rooms are large and very comfortable with modern spacious bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and there is a nice comfortable bar for evenings. The staff are efficient and helpful. I can recommend using the hotel limo service between Bratislava and Vienna Airport. All round an excellent base for your visit to Bratislava.

Room Tip: Check out the air con - a little noisy in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nollaigbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Hotel Devin
#9 of 92 in Bratislava
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,752 reviews
Roset Boutique Hotel
#4 of 92 in Bratislava
632 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#6 of 92 in Bratislava
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avance

Address: Medena 9, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range: $110 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avance 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find inspiration in the historical centre of Bratislava! Are you looking for luxury and comfort? Do you wish to relax and enjoy exceptional cuisine after your business meeting is over? Let us take care of you. Twenty-six tastefully appointed modern rooms and two attractive suites with non-stop service and free Wi-Fi await you. If you require maximum comfort and superb facilities we offer a luxury presidential suite to satisfy even the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing