We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest, clean, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments Blue Danube
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Igor, the owner, was incredibly helpful in meeting us outside the apartment building and answering any questions/ providing general info on Bratislava- could not fault the service he provided at all.
The apartment was a room, with a small kitchenette and table and chairs. The room was not technically 'en-suite' as the toilet was out in the corridor- but it was only available for use from our room so this really made little difference (only mentioned as a warning for those who may be bothered by this, to request this clearly in advance). The bathroom fittings were good, and the nice shower was greatly appreciated in the heat we had there! The furnishings were modest but incredibly clean- which served our purposes perfectly.
The apartment building is interesting, I imagine almost wholly residential- which we felt added a nice dimension to the stay, as it truly felt as if you left the stag parties and tourist traps behind once you entered the courtyard. However, it was a 5 minute walk right into the centre of the Old Town, so would be a perfect location whether you wanted a quiet stay or to go out on the nights.
Really happy with our stay here, though would perhaps be after something more spacious if we had stayed for longer and wanted to utilise the apartment facilities fully.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlixPallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

The apartment was clean, modestly furnished but rather basic - pretty much what you expect for the price. However, note that our room didn't technically have an en suite as suggested - there was a shower room but the toilet was outside on the corridor. However, the owner (Igor) was very helpful on arrival.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The only thing that lets this property down is the linen, don't get me wrong, it isn't terrible linen however I do think a small amount of money sent will make such a difference.
Apart from that everything else is amazing. The location is 5 minutes from the center of town, its really clean, well equipped regardless of older comments and igor the owner will help you with any queries about the city you may have! Most helpful proprietor I have ever come across, and very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iain t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Igor the owner/host met us outside the building and showed us to our decently sized apartment which was clean, and tidy.

He sat us down and gave us loads of info of Bratislava, and answered any questions we had.

Fantastic for the price, and the location is pretty good (close enough to the old town, yet far enough to be quiet).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emereyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

In my opinion the "Blue danube apartments" are not really apartments, We had and independent room with washroom. But the toilet room, kitchen and hall was a shared spaces with others travellers. All the doors haved their own key, and like the film "The Others" you must to close one door before to open the next door :)

About the shared rooms, the kitchen was very small, but useful. And the toilet was clean. But the washroom in our room, it was not very clean...

The owner was very kind and he made a little guide touristic about Bratislava, and the city was a surprise for me (specially the old city).

The apartment it´s in a very good location, near the Danube and the old town, and it have supermarket very close.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Clean, new, well organized, spacious (big), fully equiped kitchen, fully equiped appartment (cupboards, sofa etc), excellent location, big beds. One of the employees met us and showed us the appartment. He gave us a map to the city and explained a bit about the area and attractions. River and main squares are within a few minutes walk. The bedroom has a big bed, a sofa, and a large cupboard. The living room has a small sofa which was used as the children's bed (ages 2.5 and 5.5). The living room also contains a dining table, kitchen, tv, toilet and shower room. The shower is quite big. I would recommend it to friends and family.
There's No air conditioning. I'm not sure it's necessary but it is important to know. It was a hot week in Slovakia except for the day we stayed in this appartment. I don't remember if there was a microwave oven. Ask the owner. No elevator. We stayed in the 2nd floor and we didn't mind.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double room via booking.com. I don't know how good are the other appartmets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yaron_hadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were travelling from Vienna and staying in one night in a twin room booked for us at Medena 10. From the train station, we walked to the main shopping streets, and from there we caught tram 11 towards Nam L. Stura which took us to the corner where it was a few minutes walk to Medena Street. Prior to our stay, the owner of the apartments, Igor, arranged to meet us on the day at a suitable time for us. After a quick phone call we met him outside the apartments where he showed us to our room.

The building itself looks a little run down, with other residents living inside it as well. However this by no means implies that it is ugly; on the contrary it has a great amount of character. We were given our keys and Igor was kind enough to give us a map and recommend some sights of Bratislava.

Our apartment itself consisted of two rooms for separate groups (our neighbours were two Spanish travellers) with our own bathroom and a shared toilet. It was decorated really nicely and in a contemporary fashion, with wooden furniture and comfortable beds. There was also a little sofa and a television. The bathroom was very clean and tidy, but the only downfall was the issue of the shower which went from boiling hot to freezing cold in the space of about a minute...!! The television remote had also run out of batteries and we didn't see a point in buying any.

The apartment is next to the Danube and two minutes away from some really bars and restaurants, in particular there is a shisha bar we went to which was really great. Prices are very reasonable and you can dine well for much less than other European cities. Lots of great souveneir stalls and everywhere is clean and safe. Transportation is mostly by tram which is cheap and easy to use!

Great apartment in a great location in a wonderful city - would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a double room - twin beds are comfy but quite small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,779 reviews
NH Bratislava Gate One
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
767 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 92 in Bratislava
1,527 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,616 reviews
Hotel Color
#44 of 92 in Bratislava
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Blue Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Blue Danube

Address: Medena 10, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range: $54 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Blue Danube 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments Blue Danube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing