We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap,but dirty in a bad location”
Review of Red Star Hostel

Red Star Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bratislava
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Star Hostel
Moate, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“cheap,but dirty in a bad location”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

stayed here in july,staff were friendly and helpfull but the room were dirty and the beds made up from bits of couches,no aircon and toilet and shower were not clean,have since found out its used as student accomadation during the year,the signs are on it,also in a bad location,u need to get a tram to get to down,my advice would be to find a hostel in town

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Place needs a good clean and a lick of paint. Showers and toilets not very clean but staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location it's only four stops on the tram to the old town

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoifala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand / UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Hostelbookers.com (Hostelz.com) allowed my friend to book this hostel for our group friends, during January. But it's not even open during this time!!!

Most of the year it is University student accommodation.

For starters, it's in the middle of nowhere, in a dimly-lit industrial area. Just a petrol station close by who pointed us at the University building. We turned-up to a guy who didn't speak English saying "no hostel, no hostel". When we showed him our booking confirmation, he was more helpful but he still didn't admit we were in the right place. Instead he pointed us to a Hotel close-by which was full anyway.

By this time, all other Hostels were full. So we booked double-rooms at the Park Inn Danube Hotel, for £79 per room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katchafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

madrid
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I was few days ago in hostel Red Star in Bratislava, was preety ok, cheap, staff was helpful. This is a student's house during the year, the surrounding is green, they've got tennis and basketball courts. I was satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatosano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Patio Hostel
#4 of 68 in Bratislava
538 reviews
NH Bratislava Gate One
#7 of 92 in Bratislava
729 reviews
Hotel Color
#38 of 92 in Bratislava
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,646 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,557 reviews
Holiday Inn Bratislava
#30 of 92 in Bratislava
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Star Hostel

Property: Red Star Hostel
Address: Botanicka 25, Bratislava 842 14, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing