We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and cake in a museum”
Review of Konditorei Kormuth

Konditorei Kormuth
Ranked #25 of 1,468 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Description: Konditorei Kormuth is a place where history, culture and traditions interconnects with delicious taste of home-made cakes which are made with love. Konditorei Kormuth offers you delicious cakes and desserts from its special bakery which uses the finest ingredients to meet the high quality standards. It avoids any addition of artificial dyes, flavorings, preservative and others modern aids.
Restaurant details
Description: Konditorei Kormuth is a place where history, culture and traditions interconnects with delicious taste of home-made cakes which are made with love. Konditorei Kormuth offers you delicious cakes and desserts from its special bakery which uses the finest ingredients to meet the high quality standards. It avoids any addition of artificial dyes, flavorings, preservative and others modern aids.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

Went there because of the reviews for a coffee and cake.
They tell you on arrival (wait to be seated) that you will spend 10€ for one piece of cake and a beverage- which is a lot!
But you get high-quality stuff in a historic building, everything fits together.
And the coffee and cake is excellent!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2019

We saw Konditorei from outside. It looked interesting and we decided to venture in. Wow! What a find. The first thing you notice on entering is the wonderful selection of mouth watering cakes. You are surrounded by classical wall paintings on the walls and ceilings which reminded me of frescoes that you might see in a cathedral or opera house. The coffee was delicious and served in porcelain cups. For me, this was a truly amazing experience and I cannot wait to go back to the beautiful city of Bratislava and a visit to Konditorei Kormuth will be to pf the list.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Doing the tourist thing in Bratislava, and several people, including our guide recommended Konditorei Kormuth, if we were interested in a different take on the whole "coffee shop" + melange + sweets experience. When we had the chance, we popped in. However, we learned you don't just "pop in" here: they are very precise in how they seat customers, etc.

We got lucky, though, as two kind women who were just being seated invited the two of us to join them at their table (shoutout to Fran & Laura!).

The "coffeehouse" has the look of something that's been around a very long time, but apparently it was re-furbished (if not created out of whole cloth) in recent times. But that really doesn't matter: it is fantastic, charming to explore all the small nooks and crannies and displays of porcelain ware. Plus, the interior is totally decked out in carved wood, frescos, etc. (we were trying to decide: Baroque? Rococo?).

Display cases along one side contain an assortment of sweet treats: for a set price, you choose one to go along with your coffee. Many choices, hard to decide. We came to the conclusion that you can't go wrong no matter what you eventually select.

We had lovely time: wonderful tortes, cakes, swan-shaped creampuffs, perfectly done melanges (and/or tea service, which our new friends opted for ...).

This is not a place for having a full meal, nor a sit-down-for-hours coffeehouse. It is simply what it is: a one-of-a-kind delightful experience, one that will be remembered for years to come. It should be on your "must do" list.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigTaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Highly recommend this place! Beautiful atmosphere, wonderful coffees and treats. Perfect service. Enjoy!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank portland_OR_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

For all cake lovers this is a mandatory stop in the city. The decoration is rich in details and the porcelain tea service is an experience in itself. The service was impeccable and we did not want to leave.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank pquaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konditorei Kormuth also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Konditorei Kormuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing