We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Skaritz!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the Skaritz!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Skaritz on a weekend holiday in Slovakia. We booked roughly a month in advance and had no trouble securing a room. The staff at the Skaritz even allowed us to book the 3-for-2 night special on a Thurs-Sun trip even though that particular package typically is only good Fri-Monday.

Our large, apartment-style room was spacious, with tall ceilings, plenty of storage, a comfortable seating area and a wonderful shower (always important!). Even more important was the wonderful breakfast - a full buffet spread in the adjoining restaurant that literally kept us full for half the day. We got our daily fill of sausage, eggs, pastries, coffee, juices and yogurt.

The hotel is smack dab in the center of the old town, on a pedestrian street (don't worry, only about 100 yards from the nearest street with cars and taxis). Because of this, the nighttime noise through the windows can be loud (especially on the weekend!), but we also like to sleep with the windows cracked.

One note - our package came with one 'free mini bar refill' - for the entire weekend my husband and I debated about what this means exactly. Turns out it means you can have one item for free (except for spirits) and they will refill that single item for no cost. Good to know...it's not multiple items as I had suspected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithjp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    173
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
297
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and the hotel itself was in an excellent location right in the middle of the old town bars and restaurants. the room number (23) was facing the Main Street and was spotless clean the only issue we had was only receiving 1 cup of a hot drink in the room then a notice stating if u have more than that then u will be charged. now if u are paying €90 per night in a 4 star hotel I would expect a little less penny pinching, no milk was provided either and when asked for the receptionist was glad to go to the restaurant next door but this again could of quite easily been avoided if provided in the foo. . Overall nice hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a short stop-over in Bratislava in between stays in Vienna and Budapest... in hindsight we wish that we had stayed less time in stuffy Vienna and more time in charming Bratislava! For our 1 night stay, we found Skaritz Hotel to be wonderful. The room that we had was enormous, even if measured against typical US hotel rooms. Everything about the room was fresh and new, very clean and set up as an excellent launch point for many days of exploring Bratislava and the surrounding areas, I only wish we had more time to enjoy it.
The location was fantastic, nicely situated in the old-town area, just a couple of blocks from everything in the very walkable part of the city. The room price was quite reasonable and we very much enjoyed our time in Bratislava and the Skaritz Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were visiting Bratislava for 3 days and stayed in 3 different hotels. Skaritz, Marrols and Arcadia. In my opinion Skaritz was the best when you compare location/price and quality. We got a one-bedroom apartment which was huge. Kitchen, livingroom, bathroom and bedroom. The shower was extremly good. Everything was very clean. If you take a taxi from airport it will cost about 25 euro, and bus 0,90 euro which has to be prepaid in a machine in front of busstop. Dblcheck if the bus is stopping in Bratislava busstation. We took busnr 96 and that was a big mistake. Busnr 61 is correct. Then you can choose to stop either in Central trainstation or busstation. From there a taxi will cost about 10 euro to hotels in old city.Usually you have to walk a few meters because no cars is allowed to drive in the middle of old town. I will recommend a trip to Vienna if you got the time. Just 1 1/2 hours busdrive and cost only 7,70 euro each way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Istanbul. It's a €10 cab trip to & from the train station but the hotel is situated right in the middle of the old town where we visited. It's quite roomy and our room opened to the side street. We left it open all night so a bit noisy but we opted for the fresh air. The staff was great, internet fast, breakfast was good and we really enjoyed our stay. This would be the place for us if we ever return to Bratislava.

Room Tip: Hotel is in pedestrian zone so some vehicles don't have access. The hotel called for us when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancin
Level Contributor
289 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Well located in the old town and charming decor but.... There are too few lamps in the rooms and too few sockets to plug lamps or electronics into. The phone had to be unplugged to allow the computer to be plugged in. A multi plug extension cord would help but staff does not seem to be awake to the issue.

Reception Desk Staff when asked about dining options just recommended the nearby beer hall. "The best food in town". When pressed further they took out the free map and looked at what restaurants had advertised. They clearly had not been educated on local dining options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the Skaritz, my 4th stay in Bratislava but 1st at this hotel. Agree with all the great things said about this hotel, you really cannot beat the location, it was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Just a couple of minor niggles, there was not much in the way of toiletries and once opened were not replaced, I had to request a shower cap. There was only enough tea and coffee for one cup each and a notice stating that if you wanted any more it would be charged to the room. I feel the level of penny pinching was unwarranted in an hotel of this standard. Also beware, myself and my companion also suffered with an upset stomach 2 mornings and could only put it down to the coffee/milk, the only thing both of us had (sorry, too much info!!) Despite these (minor) issues I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 92 in Bratislava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skaritz Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Property: Skaritz Hotel & Residence
Address: Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#12 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#16 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skaritz Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Downtown Location of Skaritz Hotel & Residence…Located in the pedestrianised area of the Old Town and on the most popular Michalska Street, our downtown hotel is an ideal starting point for all your business or leisure plans.All 20 guestrooms are non-smoking. The first 2 floors are evocative of the last couple of centuries due to their stylish decor and interior design. The top floor has been designed in a fresh modern decor. All guestrooms provide the latest in-room amenities for your convenience and comfort.In addition, our 6 apartments are equipped with kitchen and dining facilities. Our serviced apartments are prepared to provide you with the best comfort for long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Skaritz Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaritz Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing