We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Narodny dom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Narodny dom
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Banska Bystrica
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is surprisingly large and modern for the town. The rooms are a decent size, but nothing special. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Good value for money overall. We arrived late and tired and were very happy to find this place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Narodny dom
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 44 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

This ticks all the boxes- conveniently located near the centre, very professional staff, comfortable rooms (if you get a junior executive suite you have about 30m2 to play with), excellent breakfast (eggs or omelette cooked to order in front of you) and very good value. Bad points? There's no lift (not the end of the world as there are only three floors). Apart from that a very good experience, thoroughly enjoyed it

Room Tip: Don't be put off if your room overlooks the street, this is not a busy place (at least not on we...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grooverjlazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good brake fast / 2 places car parking hotel free in street / not so fancy / very close to center 2 minuts by walk
Easy to find and not far away from big new mall / ask room on the street that enter to hotel - less trafic




Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Yoav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stay here if you decide to go to Banska Bystrica. Close to center, large rooms, low price, good breakfast. We could not ask for more. Biulding is old but the stay inthe overall has been really comfortable. I would surely choose it again

Room Tip: The one with balcony on the garden, I don't remember room number
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippaAdvaisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at Narodny Dom on New Years 2011. The hotel was clean, staff nice, breakfast great (fruit, omeletes to order - super fresh, cheese, ham) - continental breakfast buffet. I have nothing to complaint about. Our room was warm (central heating), the shower large and perfectly functional. The housekeeping came to clean every day, even on Christmas Day which was so sweet. We even had a safe in the closet which was a bonus for us.

Room Tip: choose one with the balcony
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Podkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

In the very middle of the city, which is good. But you can have a problem with parking place.And with getting to the hotel, as to get there you can take two possibilities, the streets are one way only.
After renovation, the rooms are very comfortable. I slept very good! The breakfast is OK. In the evening, or in the afternoon I would advice to try the restaurant, you can sit also outside in good weather.From here, it is one step to the Opera house, as the entrace is next door, in the same building.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Well I hate to give a nice hotel a poor rating, but my photos speak for themselves. There were just too many major items to overlook. It looks like they remodeled the entire hotel with decor and furniture and linens, etc, but forgot to paint or fix the walls or the actual building itself.
First the good.

-NIce location close to the square.
-Good breakfast room with white table clothes and nice heavy silverware.
-Nice bright hallways.
-Nice modern room decor and furniture.
-Free parking pass to park on city street right in front of hotel.
-Grand staircase (no elevator)

Now the Bad. Please see my attached photos

-Large crack five feet tall on wall (photo)
-Broken shower head in shower. I had to Macgyver it to keep it from falling. (photo)
-Lots of cracked shower tiles. (photo)
-My towel was shredding and had a hole in it. (photo)
-Pillows so thick that they are uncomfortable 14". (photo)
-Slight musty smell.
-Staircase carpet was slipping on the stair treads (big liability)
-Crummy view of a creepy inner area.
-No A/C

Bottom line: I would ask to see the room to avoid cracks, towels, shower head, etc. Bring your own pillow and get a street view. I would give the hotel another try if I returned but I would be wary.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 119
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tadtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banska Bystrica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arcade
Hotel Arcade
#1 of 7 in Banska Bystrica
53 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Sachticka
Hotel Sachticka
#4 of 7 in Banska Bystrica
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#3 of 7 in Banska Bystrica
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Resort Kaskady
0.4 mi away
Villa Maura
Villa Maura
#1 of 19 in Banska Bystrica
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel - Pension Kuria
Hotel - Pension Kuria
#2 of 19 in Banska Bystrica
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Narodny dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Narodny dom

Address: Narodna 11, Banska Bystrica 974 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Bystrica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Banska Bystrica
Price Range: $83 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Narodny dom 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Narodny dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing