We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Arany Barany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arany Barany Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zalaegerszeg
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were just travelling around and wanted to have a snack. It was a Sunday, this May and everything else was closed. The balcony of the restaurant is an interesting place to sit and view the pedestrians, everything was quite quiet. We got the menu and it was well organized and we ordered some unknown food, but found it very delicious. The prices were very low (since this is the EU and a hotel). Also the inner restaurant was nice and the toilets were very clean. The staff was very kind, but unfrotunately they can speak very little English or German, which is a shame.
People - notice that other countries have other traditions - don't bring your own traditions with you and want to have everything like at home - that's why we travel - have an open mind and heart.

Room Tip: Sorry, just ate there
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julijana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Arany Barany Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Overpriced hotel in the city centre. The TV is from the medieval age! No air climatisation, extreme noisy! That's a joke that in this town there is no choice? As when this hotel would have placed twenty years ago. Scandal for the owners, scandal for the town. Next time Ill avoid this town, and choose or Nagykanizsa or Zalakaros. Double room price was 75 euro

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank IkonOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The personnel were very friendly, but it does not help if you have to try sleeping on a bed that does not make it possible. They bought this bed when travellers were happy to find accomodation in Hungary. Currently they are adding a new wing to the empty hotel, instead of changing the beds to one you can sleep on. Still having a back ache after 2 days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiborTimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As other people said, is the best Hotel in the Town, but it doesn´t mean it´s good.
Rooms are big, but old.

Breakfast it´s really cheap, some normal chees and ham, corn flakes. Bread some days is good, some days really poor, no croissants or something similar, instant cheap orange juice....

At the end, when you get the bill you can not believe that cost more than a 3 stars hotel in Vienna, so 90€ per night!!!

Just go here if you do not have any other alternative.

Anyway Hotels quality in Hungary is really bad.

With suche beneficts in Hungary you could have a palace there and offer more conford to the guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oppidum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is relatively clean, the staff is friendly. Our room was simple with an old tube type TV with cable disconnected. Took me about 20 minutes to get it to work. If you close the window
the room is hot (no air conditioning) if you open the window it is extremely noisy. Otherwise the
room was adequate. At checkout if you pay with currency other then the Forint they zap you with about a 10% surcharge in the form of a very bad exchange rate. Unfortunately this hotel being the
only one in town you don't have much of a choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gyula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Due to the very limitted choices in this small town, this hotel is perhaps the best in the area... Since most of the people that stay there are in for business the hotel is expensive for what it is and since there isn't really a "better" place they can charge more.

They don't clean the rooms very well and the washroom. I notice a bunch of hair (my hair) in the floor of the washroom it was there for days! So the make the bed, arange the room and refil the shampoo/soap. I hardly doubt they vacuum the rooms.

The room doesnt really have much in it.

No WiFi except in the reception area, this "hotel" is generating so much revenue and cant spend the extra money to get the WiFi.

Breakfast is included which is great but options are the same everyday! Just different way/mix of scrambled eggs or type of sausage. They don't even take out the ketchup sometimes and you need to ask for it.

Room Tip: Best option for whats around
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BRAI79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zalaegerszeg hotels
0.3 mi away
Beck's Corner Motel
Beck's Corner Motel
#1 of 2 in Zalaegerszeg
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gocsej Palatinus Etterem es Panzio
2.2 mi away
Nosztalgia Vendeghaz
Nosztalgia Vendeghaz
#3 of 13 in Zalaegerszeg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Kiskakas Vendeglo Es Panzio
#7 of 12 in Zalaegerszeg
2 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Bastya Fogado
#4 of 12 in Zalaegerszeg
3 reviews
21.7 mi away
No photo provided
Silvanus Panzio
#3 of 12 in Zalaegerszeg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arany Barany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arany Barany Hotel

Address: Szechenyi ter 1, Zalaegerszeg 8900, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Zalaegerszeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zalaegerszeg
Price Range: $85 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arany Barany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Arany Barany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing