We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Your Visit to Veszprem”
Review of Hotel Gizella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gizella
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Veszprem
San Francisco
Level Contributor
215 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Your Visit to Veszprem”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Gizella is a very pleasant, unpretentious hotel in Veszprem right at the foot of "Castle Hill" which contains many of the town's attractions. We had a large room on the second floor on the street side of the hotel which was a little noisy. The room was simple and clean with new furniture. Note that there is no air-conditioning but we left the windows one and the room was always cool. The staff are very friendly and helped us secure taxis during our stay. I liked the location being o close to Castle Hill. One could walk out the front door of the hotel and immediately climb the steps up the hill.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel recently but my review is more about the excellent restaurant. I wasn't too sure what to expect from the restaurant at Gizella but our large party was well catered too. We were offered a mixed starter that consisted of two large plates of smoked salmon, steak tartare (Hungarian style!), Savanyított paprika (pickled peppers) and Lecsó (mixed vegetable stew, made of tomato and paprika). This was served with ample amounts of Vekni bread (soft with hard crust). For the main course I ordered beef medallions with Lecsó and garlic potatoes. For desert I really enjoyed myself by ordering Somlói galuska. Now this piece of over indulgence consists of his decadent Hungarian trifle recipe or somloi galuska consists of three layers of sponge cake, pastry cream and chocolate sauce. I'd skipped lunch that day so I felt I could contend with it! The waiter was extremely pleasant and the decor was light and airy. If you are looking for a place for a romantic meal or a business dinner then the Hotel Gizella is worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johneric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Attended a conference there and stayed at the same hotel for 4 nights in the scorching eastern European June of 2013. The hotel is at a walking distance from the center and is very comfortable. Rooms are big and clean with very effective air conditioning. Breakfast was disappointing but most of their food was delicious with amazing kinds of fried potatoes and fish. The reception staff and the waiters were very polite, welcoming and eager to help. Wifi was free and supported many connections simultaneously.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are advisable as they are bigger with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usmanfarrokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here on business for a week and found the place to be very convenient and the staff very friendly and helpful. Property is very clean if I have only two suggestions then it would be better black out curtains in the bedrooms, and there were no hairdryers. When I return to Veszprem I will stay at this Hotel again as it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falcon-360dtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was our first experience of a Hungarian hotel and we didn't know what to expect. The staff, all of whom seemed to speak English, were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the room excellent. The only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast and it was to a high standard. Just a short walk up to the town which was an experience in

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furth, Österreich
Level Contributor
229 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

The people are very nice, the hotel is directly in the centre and in walking distance to the old town which is very nice and recommendable. The rooms are big, the restaurants is nothing special but alright and both the are very cheap. Wifi and parking is free.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank naurithron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Dined here for a business meal and it was a great experience. We dropped in for an aperitif of a traditional fruit based spirit before taking a walk to the church and atmospheric courtyard at the top of the hill. Then back for dinner. Attentive and charming service was the most notable point. No need for a menu, the waiter and team brought a range of fine traditional food and wines describing everything in a pleasantly quirky way. I enjoyed the meal, particularly the Hungarian broth and the sponge with chocolate sauce. Various digestif were then sampled. The only thing I thought could be improved was the ambience, with the lighting a little too bright but this is a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briangfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veszprem
0.3 mi away
Villa Medici Hotel
Villa Medici Hotel
#1 of 6 in Veszprem
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oliva
Hotel Oliva
#4 of 6 in Veszprem
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Betekints Hotel
Betekints Hotel
#2 of 6 in Veszprem
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 40 in Siofok
36 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fonix Hotel
Fonix Hotel
#1 of 8 in Balatonfoldvar
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Historia & Historante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gizella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gizella

Property: Hotel Gizella
Address: Jokai 48, Veszprem 8200, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Veszprem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Veszprem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gizella 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gizella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing