We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent accommodation, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tihany Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tihany Atrium
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tihany
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“decent accommodation, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is very well-located (the port is on the other side of the street), it offers a lovely view and excellent rates for the autumn season. Breakfast is just outstanding, but no dinner available. The nearest place is 2-3 km away, perfect for a lovely uphill walk. Sauna is top notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

On the plus side the hotel is in a great spot with its own 'beach' area which is a fairly large, well tended, shady grassed area at the lake's edge, with a cafe with outdoor seating. The water here is clean and shallow - you can wade out 50 metres or so to have a nice safe swim. Hire of loungers is extra - about £2 a day. The hotel rooms are fine, breakfast as well (very good fresh selection of breads, cheeses and cold meat especially). Staff were very friendly to us. There is some nice outdoor seating at the hotel itself and we were brought a complementary glass of wine the first time the staff spotted us sitting there.
The gym is a small room with some fairly lightweight equipment (the treadmill's top speed is 12 kmh) and no weights. The jacuzzi looked OK but it was in the small atrium yard with no view (not even of the sky). The hotel is half way along the road that runs down from Tihany village to the ferry and Club Tihany complex. So it's about a 1km walk in either direction for the nearest shop, cash machine or place to eat. The roadside path is OK but unlit at night. If you were here for a week you might tire of the beach cafe food - it is nice but not that wide ranging and expensive for Hungary, There is a bus to Balatonfured every hour which costs about £1. It must be one of the nicest spots to spend a day or two by the lake - any longer and you'd want to get out more, either in a car or going hiking perhaps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angyalföld, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Pros.:
Very good location quite at the coast of the lake, excellent beach near to the hotel. Breakfast was rich and tasty. Tihany is a beautiful village.
Cos.:
Dirty carpet and curtain. Wellness is quite small, fitness room is useless. Overall a bit expensive for these services.

Overall our holiday was fine, on sunny days I can recommend this hotel if you are not price sensitive.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for rooms with view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurjGabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very nice hotel,elegant, good size room, nicely furnished. In the corridors there are very pictures.
Bathroom a bit small but nice and clean.
We had a room on ground floor with balcony on the lake side. It was very silent and it was good to sit out on the balcony in the evening or just put the towels out to dry.
Bed and pillows are ok too. Only strange thing is that there was no litter bin in the room. No tea or coffee making opportunity either.
We traveled with a baby and got a baby cot free of charge which was very useful.
Breakfast is only from about 8, so if you are an early bird it is very late. But breakfast is worth waiting for: breakfast room is very nice or you can have breakfast on the terrace which is lovely. Very nice variety of food, good coffee, great breakfast so far.
Staff is nice and helpful
Beach is just across the road, app 50ms. It is a small, silent beach, not too many people and very well kept. Huge trees all over give shade in the summer heat. Water is clear. Entrance fee is included in the room price.
On the beach there is a restaurant open from 9am to 10pm where you can get a daily offer for app 4€ or a nice meal for app. 6-8 €.
There is a nice walking path along the lake and you can walk kms if you feel like or rent a bike from reception.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy lake Balaton. No discos, no night life around it is really only the lake and silence.:-)

Room Tip: ground floor or first floor room with balcony, lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szilvia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I did not stay in the hotel, but had a very upsetting experience with their reservations staff/owner/whoever answers the phone. I was making a lot of hotel bookings as we travelled in Hungary through the booking.com, and then cancelled the ones that we did not need. I made 2 different bookings for this hotel, the same dates but different rooms as we were not sure how many people would be travelling. I cancelled one of them, but somehow completely got confused and did not cancel the other. So I have just arrived back home from our holiday and found out that they charged me nearly £400 for "no show". I understand that technically they were within their rights and cancellation policy, but in this instance we clearly did not show up not because we did not care but because there were several bookings in that hotel and I got muddled up with them. Anyway, I phoned the hotel and tried to explain it to them and asked them if they would be prepared to at least partially refund it out of the goodwill. The rude man on the phone said "no" and shortly just put the phone down on me... I guess, it goes without saying, that he has lost a customer as although I go to Hungary quite often, I will avoid his hotel like a plague and would advise all my friends to do the same.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tihany hotels

brisbane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

stayed here unexpectedly for one night. very pleasant room, very large, a suite really. overlooking the marina - staff very helpful. major drawback when out of season, nothing open at hotel or nearby so have to drive 5km to town for dinner and drinks and zero tolerance for alcohol then becomes a problem, and taxis are difficult to find. so plan your stay.

Room Tip: front room overlooking marina - it is a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 989 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a 4 star local hotel so has to be reviewed with this in mind.

We nearly missed this lovely hotel as the fog was so thick....visibility down to 15 metres!
Arrive we did and into a spotless warm modern reception. Reception was fine if a bit formal.

The room and bathroom were fine...clean, comfy, warm and no problems. It could however do with a makeover. Value for our stay was reasonable.

Lovely, well presented breakfast with everything you would need. Probably one of the better ones we had in Hungary. The dining room was nicely decorated, bright and clean.

The lady on check out was smiling, friendly, charming and very helpful.

All in all a pleasant stay and we would for sure consider going back. The only draw back is the distance from the town centre...about 3-4 minutes by car. So having a few glasses of wine and geting back is a problem.

What a pity the next day was also foggy so the lake was spoiled for us. We will be back in February so hopefully we can see it then!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tihany
4.0 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 20 in Balatonfured
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 41 in Siofok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#5 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ipoly Residence - Executive Hotel Suites
3.7 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#2 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Tihany
Club Tihany
#1 of 3 in Tihany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tihany Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tihany Atrium

Property: Tihany Atrium
Address: Kenderfoeld ut 19, Tihany 8237, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Tihany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tihany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tihany Atrium 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tihany Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing