We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few days in Tihany”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tihany Atrium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tihany Atrium
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tihany
Angyalföld, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Few days in Tihany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Pros.:
Very good location quite at the coast of the lake, excellent beach near to the hotel. Breakfast was rich and tasty. Tihany is a beautiful village.
Cos.:
Dirty carpet and curtain. Wellness is quite small, fitness room is useless. Overall a bit expensive for these services.

Overall our holiday was fine, on sunny days I can recommend this hotel if you are not price sensitive.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for rooms with view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurjGabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very nice hotel,elegant, good size room, nicely furnished. In the corridors there are very pictures.
Bathroom a bit small but nice and clean.
We had a room on ground floor with balcony on the lake side. It was very silent and it was good to sit out on the balcony in the evening or just put the towels out to dry.
Bed and pillows are ok too. Only strange thing is that there was no litter bin in the room. No tea or coffee making opportunity either.
We traveled with a baby and got a baby cot free of charge which was very useful.
Breakfast is only from about 8, so if you are an early bird it is very late. But breakfast is worth waiting for: breakfast room is very nice or you can have breakfast on the terrace which is lovely. Very nice variety of food, good coffee, great breakfast so far.
Staff is nice and helpful
Beach is just across the road, app 50ms. It is a small, silent beach, not too many people and very well kept. Huge trees all over give shade in the summer heat. Water is clear. Entrance fee is included in the room price.
On the beach there is a restaurant open from 9am to 10pm where you can get a daily offer for app 4€ or a nice meal for app. 6-8 €.
There is a nice walking path along the lake and you can walk kms if you feel like or rent a bike from reception.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy lake Balaton. No discos, no night life around it is really only the lake and silence.:-)

Room Tip: ground floor or first floor room with balcony, lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szilvia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I did not stay in the hotel, but had a very upsetting experience with their reservations staff/owner/whoever answers the phone. I was making a lot of hotel bookings as we travelled in Hungary through the booking.com, and then cancelled the ones that we did not need. I made 2 different bookings for this hotel, the same dates but different rooms as we were not sure how many people would be travelling. I cancelled one of them, but somehow completely got confused and did not cancel the other. So I have just arrived back home from our holiday and found out that they charged me nearly £400 for "no show". I understand that technically they were within their rights and cancellation policy, but in this instance we clearly did not show up not because we did not care but because there were several bookings in that hotel and I got muddled up with them. Anyway, I phoned the hotel and tried to explain it to them and asked them if they would be prepared to at least partially refund it out of the goodwill. The rude man on the phone said "no" and shortly just put the phone down on me... I guess, it goes without saying, that he has lost a customer as although I go to Hungary quite often, I will avoid his hotel like a plague and would advise all my friends to do the same.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tihany hotels

brisbane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

stayed here unexpectedly for one night. very pleasant room, very large, a suite really. overlooking the marina - staff very helpful. major drawback when out of season, nothing open at hotel or nearby so have to drive 5km to town for dinner and drinks and zero tolerance for alcohol then becomes a problem, and taxis are difficult to find. so plan your stay.

Room Tip: front room overlooking marina - it is a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 990 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a 4 star local hotel so has to be reviewed with this in mind.

We nearly missed this lovely hotel as the fog was so thick....visibility down to 15 metres!
Arrive we did and into a spotless warm modern reception. Reception was fine if a bit formal.

The room and bathroom were fine...clean, comfy, warm and no problems. It could however do with a makeover. Value for our stay was reasonable.

Lovely, well presented breakfast with everything you would need. Probably one of the better ones we had in Hungary. The dining room was nicely decorated, bright and clean.

The lady on check out was smiling, friendly, charming and very helpful.

All in all a pleasant stay and we would for sure consider going back. The only draw back is the distance from the town centre...about 3-4 minutes by car. So having a few glasses of wine and geting back is a problem.

What a pity the next day was also foggy so the lake was spoiled for us. We will be back in February so hopefully we can see it then!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
375 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

When we were there (September 2011) the crowds had gone, so it wasn't hectic or full of tourists. The hotel was clean and tidy, and the staff, certainly at reception, were very helpful and friendly. The bedroom was fine - after all, this is not trying to be a Four Seasons - and perfectly comfortable. My one gripe is that there was no shower curtain (no excuse for something so basic), so water went everywhere! No problem parking, and the location close to the 'strand' and an outside bar/cafe was good. Found some perfectly OK restaurants in Tihany - you'll need a car to get to the town, though.

Room Tip: Doubles are larger than twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PestfromBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

It is located close to the marina of Tihany. Thats the best feature of the hotel.
It is overpriced for what it has to offer, the service is appaling and the room is outdated.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akm803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tihany
4.0 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 20 in Balatonfured
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 41 in Siofok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#5 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ipoly Residence - Executive Hotel Suites
3.7 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#2 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Tihany
Club Tihany
#1 of 3 in Tihany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tihany Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tihany Atrium

Property: Tihany Atrium
Address: Kenderfoeld ut 19, Tihany 8237, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Tihany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tihany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tihany Atrium 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tihany Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing