We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Gallo Nero (Fekete Kakas Etterem es Panzio)
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Gallo Nero (Fekete Kakas Etterem es Panzio)
Ranked #1 of 11 Szombathely B&B and Inns
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Thank you”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our 5 day stay at this hotel could not been better. The service was friendly and attentive. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel and the grounds are maintained beautifully. Located just a few blocks from the main square of Szombathely, an easy 10 min walk away. We loved our stay and will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesouth42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margreid, Südtirol, Italien
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed one night in this little pension, in a large room with no windows, only three large skylights. The room was very stuffy and the skylights couldn't be opened. Luckily, there was an air conditioner which we turned on to the lowest setting before we went out for dinner. When we got back, the air in the room was at least cool for the night.
The breakfast was alright. The butter (Hungary has no butter culture, I guess, since there was nearly none to be found in the supermarkets) was very gamey and the coffee was tepid. But the personnel was very friendly and helpful. Most could speak only Hungarian and German.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,000 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Yes...we were very glad we found and stayed here. It is a mere few minutes from the main street and square of Szombathely.

I didn't expect much as we arrived but this soon changed.

Quick check in and off across the courtyard to another building to our room. This was a surprise. Big enough, modern and very clean with a very comfy clean bed. It has avery Italian/Austrian chalet feel to it. A big, modern, spotless bathroom completed our delight. There was a little noise in the morning from others checking out/breakfast, but this is hardly the Inns fault. Maybe a sign on the exit door for guests to be quiet??

I am a big breakfast fan. Breakfast here didn't have a huge selection but it had most of what you needed and filled us well enough for the day ahead. This was the only small disappointment we had.

Overall I would stay here again and the small issues did not ammount to much so it is an excellent little Inn, well run, clean and near to town.

Being Irish I was amazed to see a statue of James Joyce on the main square! I had to take a double take.But then I read the plaque which stated that the house was the residence for the Blum family. This I assume is the Blooms referred to in his famous classic "Ulysses".

Room Tip: Do not choose the room by the front door. Can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

the hotel is situated in a residential area. The staff were friendly and helpfull although did struggle with speaking english as most people in this town and area did. The room was cheap, super clean, a little dated but really was satisfactory and simple. it had everythig a person requires. there is some morning and late night noise from a large dog but it was only intermitent. The restaurant is highly impressive with awesome food and is a must if your staying there. Its clean and practical.. what more do you want from accomodation. I have been traveling alone so its always important to feel safe and i felt very safe here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonmili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinmount
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excellent conditions in a quiet residential setting. Cleanliness was superb. Breakfasts included in room rate were excellent. The staff were very accomodating and helpful with our requests. Recommend this hotel if you are ever staying in Szombathely. Walking distance to the center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Rooms very comfortable, food in the restaurant fantastic and staff incredibly helpful. Could not have picked a better place to stay in Western Hungary. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montypython51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Szombathely hotels
0.7 mi away
P4W Hotel - Residence Szombathely
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Pelikan
Park Hotel Pelikan
#1 of 8 in Szombathely
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garda Hotel Szombathely
Garda Hotel Szombathely
#5 of 8 in Szombathely
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Claudius
Hotel Claudius
#7 of 8 in Szombathely
43 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vadasz Restaurant & Hotel
Vadasz Restaurant & Hotel
#4 of 8 in Szombathely
17 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Jozsi Bacsi
Hotel Jozsi Bacsi
#4 of 11 in Szombathely
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Gallo Nero (Fekete Kakas Etterem es Panzio)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Gallo Nero (Fekete Kakas Etterem es Panzio)

Property: Il Gallo Nero (Fekete Kakas Etterem es Panzio)
Address: Rumi ut 21, Szombathely 9700, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Vas County > Szombathely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Szombathely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Gallo Nero (Fekete Kakas Etterem es Panzio) 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Il Gallo Nero (Fekete Kakas Etterem es Panzio) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing