We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking and More Walking”

Hungarian Open Air Museum (Szabadteri Neprajzi Muzeum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$320.00*
and up
Private Visit to Szentendre Skanzen with a Local Guide
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Szentendre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic village with many original buildings and objects representing Hungarian architecture and culture from the end of the 18th century to the middle of the 20th century.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Walking and More Walking”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Disappointing. This is supposed to be a working museum and no one was working. We were told all exhibits were open and they were. We went to see the shoe shop and heard the sound of shoes being made only to find it was a video playing. The train leaves the entrance/visitor center and makes various stops and ends at a museum. You are escorted off the train (a single car) and told you have to walk about 150 meters to the train stop. You can not get back on at the museum, plus you have to wait an hour maybe. So we walked back to the visitor center and caught the bus back to Szentendre. On the whole it was not very interesting, just a lot of walking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank greyhound85034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    30
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Awesome place to visit--great daytrip from Budapest!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our family came here (ranging in ages from 3-43). We all had an incredible time visiting homes, seeing the old traditions, dress, houses, recipes, customs. This is a terrific place to visit and you could easily spend an entire day here. There are great hands on activities for the kids, the animals are neat to see close up (lots of babies right now!) and the people that work there are exceptional. I can't say enough--go visit--you will be so thankful you did! We took the HEV from Budapest to the bus 878 bus i believe, from dock #7.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The diversity of Hungary explained”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

For anyone looking for some detail about Hungarian regions and history, the Skanzen is a great place to start. This excellent museum needs more than one visit. Seven regions are represented through reconstructed 19th or early 20th century villages. A real treat!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobbieandCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a great day out cannot understand why not more popular”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We took the train out and then the bus from stand 7 . On a weekday in September there was hardly anyone there and we had the internal train to ourselves.

It has over 300 buildings covering hungarian rural life and even has a small farm with Hungarian breeds of sheep,pigs,horses etc. There are demonstrations of crafts (more at weekends) and signage in English. Pay for the train as this is a very large site and it makes it easier to get around.

Bring a picnic as during the week we went not many of the kiosks/food places were open.

This was a fascinating place not that difficult to get to on public transport (bus is a circular route so get on and off at same stop) so difficult to see why not many tourists during the week. Visit it for a good day out and spend a bit of time in the town enough route as its lovely to walk around and only 5min walk from train/bus station.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank calabango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
317 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“An overview of the lovely place”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Avoid weekends if you dislike crowds - you literally have to be around someone or having people at your faces. Difficult to take pictures and if you take the last boat back to Budapest, as you enter the boat, side at your left side (when stand facing the front of the boat) though it may look sunny and hot. As the boat turns around, the other side will be hot side - unless you love the bright sun. Also, the middle of the boat is less stuffy as the windows cannot open well.

I felt this place was overrated simply because i hit the weekend crowd. Else, i am sure it is a lovely place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlepods18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian Open Air Museum (Szabadteri Neprajzi Muzeum) also viewed

 

Been to Hungarian Open Air Museum (Szabadteri Neprajzi Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing