We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The home of the artis, Kovács Margit”

Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Budapest: Szentendre Trip by Cruise With a Local Guide
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Szentendre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An extensive collection of Margit Kovacs' ceramic works featuring a unique synthesis of folk and Byzantine motifs.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The home of the artis, Kovács Margit”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The artist is a wonderfully talented artist. The Museum can be find at Szentendre, the town of artists.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaczorqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very well curated and presented selection of this talented artists' work”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We all thoroughly enjoyed this museum on our day trip to Szentendre. My only regret was that they did not have a catalogue for purchase. Very friendly staff and there is even a section where kids can handle some exhibits. A very welcoming and lovely place.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unique”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

the museum is a destination for beautiful and unique ceramic artwork. By the late Margit kovacs.This is a unique and special woman- artist, with touching works that were inspired by Hungarian themes and ancient ceramics art . Have a look at the wonderful stove, the wedding scenes. A must for all. Bought the book and surely will came back again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gyory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You must see,”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

You must see that little town call: Szentendre.
Szentendre is an attractive, picturesque old town is a treasure of the Danube Bend.
It is filled with romantic air and atmosphere. We walked all the way through the narrow alleys and passed by the old historical houses and churches day after day.
It is a town of the arts, and museums.
Margit Kovacs museum was one of our top experiences. She is a famous Hungarian artist, potter and sculptor.
It is an amazing, unique exhibition about her life and work. Once you step in you find yourself in a different world.We stayed for hours on end there, but wasn’t enough.
We would love to come back over again and again. We highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank csutika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected Hilight of Hungary”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had no idea of what we would see when we entered this unadvertised museum. It was one of the best things we saw in Hungary. I am not really an art fan, but the incredibly expressive ceramic figures at The Margit Kovacs Museum were very unusual and very enjoyable. I wish I had been able to take some photos of the sculptures.
Szentendre is much better known for the marzipan museum, but The Kovacs Museum is much more interesting. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank jm8421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum) also viewed

 
Szentendre, Pest County
Szentendre, Pest County
 

Been to Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing