We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Magyar Kiraly
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Szekesfehervar
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Right in the centre of Székesfehérvár this is a nice looking hotel that keeps this feel through the corridors and into the rooms. The welcome is reasonably good and generally the staff are friendly and more helpful than has been my experience in other places in Hungary. The rooms are comfortable with decent space, although the walls are pretty thin so if you are unlucky to have someone doing more than just normal talking etc then you may be disturbed. The hotel is well placed in the middle of the town with plenty of places to eat/drink around it but within the hotel the restaurant is also very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 116 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I liked this hotel very much.
Rarely happens that I donțt have complains about the hotel,
but this time everything was surprisingly well arranged.
Rooms are clean, cosy, everything is new, and I have found everything I needed,
and of course, was nicely surprised by the New Testament.
This city is a very important spiritual centre of the country, and you can feel it, especially when exploring historical sites and churches.

The hotel has it's own image, which coressponds to it's name.
Everything is on it's place, as for a hotel of that range, and some little surprises.

The breakfast is standard all-inclusive, the waiters are very nice.
Only thing is that there was no instructions how to use wellness, so it took time to understand how everything works.
Wellness area is big and relaxing.
The buidling itself is very impressive, I guess there is a summer terrace but it probably was closed.

The location is best for tourists, especially to those eho come for the first time,
it is in the walking distance from all main tourist places, churches, museums, cafes, the street is green and invites for a walk and have some coffee with a cake or an ice-cream at a cafe.

At the same time it is not noisy, if you cross the street you will have chance to walk in a green park.

Generally saying, everything is organised very well, I didn't find any big fault.
It was a very pleasant stay, I hope to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Karli_Iskakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is excellent, first impressions were that it looked great from the outside situated in an old grand building and I was suitably impressed throughout the rest of my stay. The room although a bit smaller than other hotels I've stayed in on my trip was ample and had everything you might need. The reception staff were helpful and the hotel restaurant food is excellent. We ate outside and were able to watch the chef cook who presented us with the best looking dishes of our holiday, it also tasted great so we decided to eat there again in the evening. It was great that breakfast was included and as an English couple we were also happy with the range of choice available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJo82992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice if you do not bave a lot of time available and you want to get all the luxury in a minute.

Positioned in the centre of the centre it is very clean, good wireless and breakfast with a decent range of choices. It also has a free underground parking which is a bit hard to find and quite tight but it will do.

All this is good but the price tag of 90€ is too high for a medium+ hotel in a simple town.
If the company pays I recomend it, if you have to open your wallet I am sure you can get a better value for less money.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel Kiraly is right in the center of Szekesfehervar. A few steps and you will find yourself by the restaurants and bars and the important building of the Former Hungarian Capital.

The room I got was very big, nice and clean. The fixtures are of luxury and modern. It's just too quiet sometimes it gives me the creeps. Breakfast is basic. There's free wired internet but no wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Animonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

As I was having my business trip in Székesfehérvár, the company which I work for booked this hotel.
I must admit that the hotel is located in perfect venue. The city center is very close (at a walking distance).
The romms are very spacious, well equipped and comfortable (satellite TV - not big choice of English, German or French TV channels, mosty Hungarian, wifi connection - working very well).
Regarding the board, the food served on breakfast was very delicious, However the lunches were not very good and this was the only negative point that I experienced during my stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Szekesferhervar is a lovely city which should be on any visit to Hungary. The city has many museums including the tomb of King Stephen (Istvan) and beautiful buildings. It is also an ideal location to visit the nature filled Lake Velence or Lake Balaton.

Magyar Kiraly is a very good hotel in the centre. If you came here in the past be aware that it has been completely refurbished and is probably the most improved hotel in Szekesfehervar.

Features of the hotel
- Completely refurbished hotel which is now a very high standard.
- Rooms are comfortable and well equiped. All rooms have free wifi, internet tv, coffee making facilities and comfortable beds and for religious a multilingual bible. Many rooms also have a bath.
- Rooms are clean and staff are polite and friendly.
- The hotel is in an excellent location, positioned on the end of Szekesferhervar's main street of the Old Town, with many museums, churches and restaurants. It is also in walking distant to Tescos, shopping centre and bowling alley.
- Breakfast offers a good range of hot and cold food.

The styling in the main hotel is Medieval with suits of Armour in the lobby. It is pleasant but feels a little faux.
Breakfast only opens at 7am so if you need an early start other hotels in Szekesferhervar open earlier.
There is amble parking immediately outside the hotel but you may need to defrost the car. It is free 6pm to 8am, but you need to purchase a parking permit from the hotel if you are parked outside these times. Wardens are visbile.
A number of TV chanel but only English TV chanel available is CNN

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorderReivers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Szekesfehervar
0.2 mi away
Novotel Szekesfehervar
Novotel Szekesfehervar
#4 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lakeside Hotel
Best Western Plus Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vadaszkurt
Hotel Vadaszkurt
#3 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Karolyi - Kastely Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Jancsar Hotel
Jancsar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
15 reviews
12.0 mi away
Velence Resort & Spa
Velence Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Velence
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magyar Kiraly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magyar Kiraly

Address: Fo utca 10, Szekesfehervar 8000, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Fejer County > Szekesfehervar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Szekesfehervar
Price Range: $102 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Magyar Kiraly 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, classical-style Hotel is located in the historic center of Szekesfehervar. It features a restaurant, a spa area, and air conditioned rooms with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Magyar Kiraly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing