We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Szarcsa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Szarcsa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Szekesfehervar B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It a very nice hotel with nice rooms – it seems like all the rooms are different.
The hotel is located at bit from the inner city – around 20 min. on foot. There are also a bus but as far as I could see it only went once a hour.
But all in all a very nice hotel with nice atmosphere – we didn’t try the pool area.
It seems to be a nice place for weddings. The restaurant is also nice with lots of different dishes. The breakfast was really nice with homemade jam. Very nice for a 3 * hotel.
I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: check the rooms on the web and chose your favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
15
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have found this hotel randomly online when we have decided to make a mini-trip to Székesfehérvár. And luckily I did so!
After checking the pictures of the various room decors I have had a direct request for some possible rooms. And we got a lovely, romantic, tastefully furnished room (#136), with a small balcony facing to the garden with pool.
The hotel is not located in the historical city center but easy to access by car, otherwise 15 minutes walk on foot.
The restaurant for dinner was a great experience as well. The service was really high level and the food was tasty - coming in big portions. And the wide selection of breakfast was a perfect start after a peaceful sleep in our cozy room.
I would definitely recommend the hotel and a restaurant also for special occasion, as they have extra rooms for birthdays or weddings. Hopefully we can return soon again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity19812016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here whilst at a friends wedding in the town, had a really good time room clean a spacious, with air con (which helped as it was very hot weather) the food was great, well cooked lots of choice and very reasonbly priced. Breakfast selection was very good, my little boy loved the kids pool outside. Its well placed to get about the area the town centre is a quick walk away which is a plesant place, nice bars and street cafes and nice shops to look around.

The beer is very nice and well priced in the area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for a week here with 6 of our adult children and it was wonderful!!!! The service was great! The rooms were clean and beautiful! Really gave us a taste of Hungary! The food was fantastic!!! Each morning the staff asked about our agenda for the dinner meal and made sure there were staff members that spoke English if we were coming back for the meal! Excellent service, food, rooms! The pools in and out were clean and lovely! We would stay here again without any hesitation!! A Beautiful Stay!
August 2012

Room Tip: Choose a room with air conditioning if you are staying in the summer. It was 40 Celsius when we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0ths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went with my 2 young daughters to this hotel, for a weekend. This were second time I visited this hotel
as weather were nice we used the outdoor pools a lot. There were one small child pool and normal pool with whirlpool and goodies. A lot of toys were next to the pool so the kid had something to play with. In door pool were also very good. For children one could find a small place with allot of toys so after dinner they were playing there together with other kids.
This is a very family friendly place so could only recommend it for family with small children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungarianguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The first time I went Szarcsa was for dinner with my client. Every dish was real homemade-like but gourmet. Especially Goulash I had was absolutely fantastic. Staffs were super nice :)
Room is cosy even it is not too big, and feel like you are in the wooden cabin. It is good place to relax but not for late night work- since there was fluorescent light was up. Bed was clean. Because I stayed here in winter times only, i have no idea about swiming pool : there seemed like kids pool outside for summer open.
The greatest memory I had was this town brought me in nostalgiac memory. I rent 2 bikes with my colleague (dont know still this rental service is available so far) and rode around the town. I met a few shops , coffee & beer places and old houses. It was really amazing.

Room Tip: Close to Philips' Szekeshevar factory (few stops away by bus)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eun Sil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsile, uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If I came only once to Szekesfehervar, the Szarcsa would be the hotel I would stop in. Every room is individual, with individual furnature, artwork and ornaments and it gives a real feeling of times gone by. This is reinforced by the restaurant which has a great ambiance and often you can enjoy you meal listening to live Romany music.

Despite the antique style, rooms are well equiped with free wifi and coffee making facilities. Rooms are individual and also vary in comfort, some have comfortable beds some less comfortable, some have baths and others have showers. I nice feature is a DVD player in each room, there is also a good range of TV channels but reception is at times poor.

Breakfast is excellent. The eggs and bread are very fresh and there are many options. Breakfast opens early.

The location is good for easy access to M7 motorway and travel to Lake Velence, Lake Balaton or Budapest. It is also well positioned for shopping in Auchan which is the best supermarket in Szekesfesfehervar. Also do not rule out going to watch Videoton football team. Videoton are famous for having knocked out Manchester United to reach the UEFA Cup final in 1985. In recent years they have had a resurgance winning the Hungarian league and then finishing runners up in the last 2 years. The ground is behind the Szarcsa Hotel. In terms of Szekesfehervar town centre I have walked from the hotel to the town centre many times but it is a bit of a walk, so if you have a car I would drive down the main road and part up in Tesco's car park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorderReivers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Szekesfehervar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lakeside Hotel
Best Western Plus Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Vadaszkurt
Hotel Vadaszkurt
#3 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Magyar Kiraly
Hotel Magyar Kiraly
#2 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Szekesfehervar
Novotel Szekesfehervar
#4 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jancsar Hotel
Jancsar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Szekesfehervar
10 reviews
9.6 mi away
Vital Hotel Nautis
Vital Hotel Nautis
#1 of 2 in Gardony
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Szarcsa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szarcsa Hotel

Property: Szarcsa Hotel
Address: Szarcsa utca 1, Szekesfehervar 8000, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Fejer County > Szekesfehervar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Szekesfehervar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Szarcsa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Szarcsa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing