We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a boutique hotel to fall in love with”
Review of Tiszavirag Szeged

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tiszavirag Szeged
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we truly loved this place! An old building coming to life in a cool and up to date way. Everything from rooms to restaurant is on a very high level. Convenient location for attractions like the synagogue, Anna bath and downtown. Cool large room with high ceilings, wooden floor. Great service, best breakfast we have had in Hungary so far (in many years living here). Made us feel at home.Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good bits about the hotel:
- The hotel building is amazing. The quality of the building and the interior design are A+. This building would be a definite 5 star quality anywhere in the world

Bad bits:
- As the hotel is very very new, you could see that the staff and the facility management needs more experience and know how of how to run this place efficiently
- We stayed for 3 nights on a long weekend. The A/C broke down and we had do stay in our room without an operational A/C. We were offered a DOWNGRADE with no compensation attached. This is really ridiculous as no hotel in the world would allow itself to offer something like this to their guest staying at the suite. They had not maintenance person during the weekend which is also ridiculous for a hotel. Guests are 24/7 people not Monday to Friday ones!
- Their coffee shop which is also their breakfast bar is very poor in choice and also in service. We sat down approximately 4 times including breakfasts and there was always an issue (ran out of main food ingredients, waitress forgot to bring food out on 2 occasions etc.)
- We stayed as part of larger event which we organized at the hotel. We occupied the main restaurant for a whole afternoon. Whilst serving the food you could notice that the staff had no control of the situation as no one was running the show. Management should be more present and take control of running this place.
- It is absolutely overpriced to Hungary not to mention a town like Szeged. After taking all the above into account they should definitely rethink the running and the pricing of this place.

It is overall a nice place however I do hope that the management will take on board everything that was said in order to make it even a better place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magellan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is the nicest place I have ever visited, although I was in many designed and unique hotels. It is totally authentic, with its own style of the renewed historical monument. The service and the cleanness are at the highest level. Surely the best place to stay with or without children. We was with 1,5 year old son, and large space of the one bedroom suite with the bath in the room was very interesting for him. For romantic couples the place is even better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samardzici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I regularly have to spend a few days in Szeged for some business purposes. For this reason I have been to many hotels, but none of them had such a familiar, but unique athmosphere as this one. Professional staff, good service, high quality and central location. I loved it, definitely will go back. Although it is not an easy-to-find hotel, it's worth looking for it and spend there a few nights.

Room Tip: Although I have stayed in a double room, the manager showed me one of the Suites which was absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Honestly, I have never been before such a unique place, like this. It is amazing, I can hardly find words for this little gem. :) You must see this elegant complex! The hotel is pretty amazing. Designer furnitures are everywhere. The room, the restaurant, the café and the bar, everything was so stylish and comfortable at the same time, Not to mention the SPA. I have never felt before this feeling..you can feel free, relaxed yourself there..And one of my favorite thing is : you can see only smiling faces, :) Nowadays, it is kind of rarity.
Last but not least, I can not leave without saying a word about the restaurant: show cooking, region’s special food , and the excluisive menu featuring flavors of neighboring countries......and the best :only fresh ingredients are used!
So, I think I fell in love a little bit with this cute thing :) Seriously, you must visit the Tiszavirag!

Room Tip: Two-room suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Szpiridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Szeged hotels
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Szeged
Art Hotel Szeged
#5 of 20 in Szeged
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Szeged
Novotel Szeged
#2 of 20 in Szeged
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Forras
Hunguest Hotel Forras
#3 of 20 in Szeged
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Science Hotel
Science Hotel
#4 of 20 in Szeged
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Auris
Hotel Auris
#6 of 20 in Szeged
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#7 of 20 in Szeged
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiszavirag Szeged? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiszavirag Szeged

Address: Hajnoczy utca 1/b, Szeged 6722, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Southern Great Plain > Csongrad County > Szeged
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Price Range: $92 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiszavirag Szeged 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel-Style Historical Townhouse "Where Everything Seems Like It Truly Is...A Real Gem..." Tiszavirag Hotel Is A Wonderfully Renovated Historical Townhouse With An Inner garden In The Centre Of Szeged. The Hotel Houses 12 Different Sized Rooms, A Bar, Restaurant, Cafe, Conference Room And Spa. It Is An Ideal Place For Those Who Are Looking For A Boutique-Style Hotel For Fine Dining, Business, Relaxation And Entertainment, or even Weddings. Our Conference Room Is A Perfect Venue For Companies To Hold Meetings, Workshops Or Training Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tiszavirag Szeged reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing