We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better than OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Matrix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Matrix
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,664 helpful votes
“No better than OK”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Helpful, English-speaking staff on reception, decent breakfast, depressingly plain, box-like room, no lift (room on the second floor), a/c didn't work. If I go to Szeged again I'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here last weekend with a toddler in a family room (with a cot no extra charge). There even was a plastic bathtub for babies and small children which is a nice touch.
The receptionists speak English well and are very attentive.
There is a free parking in front of the hotel and in the backyard too.
We liked a comfortable bed and good quality linings, with extra small pillows.
Planned to stay for a night, but as we liked the city and accommodation, we prolonged our stay for one extra night.
The price was very good as we got a last minute deal offered by the hotel.
The location is rather ok as it's just a little bit out of the heart of the city (10min walk maybe if not less).
We will stay at Matrix when we go shopping to Szeged next time.

Room Tip: There is a family room nr. 14 in case you're staying with a small child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

A lovely clean, bright hotel, with safe parking in a pretty courtyard at the back of the hotel - accessed through gates at the front of the hotel. The hotel is an area that you could describe as shabby, however, this is not reflected on the interior which is very light and airy. The room we had was of a good size and nicely decorated. No air con, however, it did have ceiling fans which did a good job. You need to be aware that the hotel does not have a lift and you may be on the 2nd floor.

The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful, most spoke very good English and made us feel very welcome.

On arrival you choose your breakfast which is served in the room behind reception and is of a very good standard, especially if you are a cheese, ham and salami fan.

The hotel is only a short (10 min) walk to the town centre, which has a small town feel, with a good selection of shops, restaurants and ice-cream parlours based around a pleasant central square.

We were just passing through on our way to Romania, but would like to return for a longer stay!

  • Liked — The breakfast.
  • Disliked — Carrying our heavy luggage up the stairs.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

The hotel is very small and cozy. Nothing fancy, but for its category this is as good as it gets. In truth, I do not know whether it is a family business, but it feels that way.

The rooms are spacious and bright. The staff is very friendly, mostly young, and English-speaking, which is important in Hungary. The only exception may be the night receptionist, and even so there is almost always at least one English-speaking person on the premises. The hotel provides breakfast for a modest extra fee (it was 500 forints, less than 3 dollars per person per day). Owing to the small size of the hotel, the breakfast is basically custom-made for you: they ask you in the evening what you would like to have the next day. The choice is quite reasonable. They did not have any problem preparing a packed breakfast for us when we had to leave before breakfast time. They also called a taxi for us. In short, we had absolutely no problems with the service. Just what you would expect from a well-run small business: attention to the customer, greater flexibility, etc.

It should also be said that renovations were nicely planned. Here and there you see a thoughtful touch, like a long shelf in the bathroom (see photo) to put your stuff on.

Be aware that there is no elevator to the 2nd floor.

The location of the hotel is quite good: it is on a quiet side street in a safe neighborhood just steps away from the Tisza-river. Given that most places in Szeged are within walking distance from each other, the only times we had to use a tram is when going from a train station and going to the zoo (an unexpectedly good one for such a small city). To reach the hotel by public transport from the train station take tram #1 leaving from the square in front of the station „Szeged Pályaudvar” and transfer to a northbound tram #4 at the 6th stop „Annaforrás,” right after a 90-degree left turn. The hotel is located at the first stop of tram #4 after the transfer, but you may choose to walk this one stop instead. Overall, it is no more than a 30-minute trip.

  • Liked — the atmosphere was very bright
  • Disliked — absence of an elevator
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amorkuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Szeged hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Szeged
Novotel Szeged
#1 of 20 in Szeged
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Science Hotel
Science Hotel
#3 of 20 in Szeged
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Szeged
Art Hotel Szeged
#5 of 20 in Szeged
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tisza Corner Hotel
Tisza Corner Hotel
#15 of 20 in Szeged
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tiszavirag Szeged
Tiszavirag Szeged
#2 of 20 in Szeged
130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Auris
Hotel Auris
#6 of 20 in Szeged
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matrix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matrix

Property: Hotel Matrix
Address: Zarda utca 8, Szeged 6721, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Great Plain > Csongrad County > Szeged
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Matrix 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Matrix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing