We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend in a low-end hotel”
Review of Hotel Fagus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Fagus
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Sopron
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family weekend in a low-end hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, 4 adults and 2 young children. Even though it is 4* the hotel did not come up to our expectations.

Location of the hotel: excellent! It is in a beautiful park with playground and there is a forest next to it as well

Rooms: nice big balcony, size OK. Bathroom shower mouldy. Not enough light even if you switch on all lights. This is the same situation on the corridors and in the restaurant - it is always like you are in the night, hotel is not properly lighted.

Breakfast and Dinner: most of the staff is young and inexperienced. I asked 2 of them when it is check-out time and neither of the waiters knew. There is not enough personnal as there are always dirty plates left on the tables and noone cleanes the tables. They run out of milk, bread, orange juice and waiters and waitresses do not take care of these. There is only 1 child seat in the restaurant. There are 2 coffee maker machines but one of is broken down.... There are no spare spoons, napkins, etc. There is only a small selection of cereals for breakfast. Warm food was OK.

Wellness facilities: again, not enough lights. Pools are OK.

Children's play area: toys are very worn out.

Staff overall: not friendly and helpful

This hotel is like an unfulfilled promise.... Could be a first class 4* hotel one day with the right staff...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
23
29
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed two nights. Not bad - nice room with a big balcony, decent beds, clean, good powerful shower, friendly staff. Surprised to find no little shampoos etc in the bathroom - one gets lazily dependent on such things. Breakfast was a bit lack-lustre - wasn't tempted to try the cooked options, but juices, coffee and cereal options could have been better. Didn't try the bar or the pool complex. Don't despair if your company books you in here, it's quite OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasm205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
245 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The location of this hotel is top class. The design is also very nice. It was built a few years ago with good quality material. Sadly the hotel is getting more and more warn down and they are not doing anything about it. The beds are all rather uncomfortable now since they are old. You can find spots of mold in the bathrooms. Strange but there is no internet in the rooms. The hotel has a nice but rather small spa area. If not many people are down there then its fine.
Breakfast is good. Staff is useless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I spent 2 nights in hotel Fagus. Hotel location was quite good in the forest park, not far away from the city (approx 3km). Rooms was quite good, spatious and clean with nice loggia. Meal was good, and we do not have any problems. Local staff did not speak english, but that hotel is focusing mostly on austrian or german clients.Internet was not working in hotel rooms, but wifi in bar or restaurant works without aby problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozi_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent there a few nights not long after the hotel was opened, sometime in 2007. When entering our room there was hair on the pillows. The room smelt as if by a sewage canal. We were half board (two families of 3 and my father) and could not find free tables neither for breakfast, nor for dinner. Not even split into two groups. When finally we got one, we had to clean it after the previous family. The only positive thing was the outdoor playground for kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skrisztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sopron hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We like this hotel every year, but there are many things to Improve on. For example: the mattrasses are old and there is no king size bed. The food is very good, but sometimes it runs out... And what's a pity: you have to pay for outdoor parking at the hotel!!! Wowww... :-( The wellness is better than you are waiting for, children also like it so much!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titcsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a weekend in Fagus in January. We thought it will be a fantastic trip, but not. In overall the hotel is very dirty. In the room we have found many old bugs,spider webs, everything was dusty. We have found also some toys under the table coming from the childrens room (which were also very dirty). The balcony window was very dirty as well, this destroyed the panorama of the beautiful wood. It seemed that room was not cleaned for months. It's very difficult to open the balcony door, normally we couldn't open it. The breakfast was ok, but they are really strict to the closing time. The restaurant was dirty, we had to clean the high chair before using it. I don't recommend to check what is under the furnitures because you won't eat any more.
But the most annoying: as this is a wellness hotel as well, there are many childrens during the weekends. There are many floor lamps all over the hotel. These are very dangerous!!! My daughter touched one of them for a moment and she burned her two fingers. I cannot imagine how could this happen in a 4 star hotel.
In overall the hotel location is fantastic, the product is also very good, but the there are many-many amateur mistakes which could be solved easily by a professional staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
1.3 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Sopron
472 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 12 in Sopron
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 12 in Sopron
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#2 of 12 in Sopron
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#7 of 12 in Sopron
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#8 of 12 in Sopron
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fagus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fagus

Property: Hotel Fagus
Address: Ojtozi fasor 3, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Sopron
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fagus 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcement of suspension of hotel operation for an uncertain period of time. Sopron is one of the most preferred cities of Hungary, and is very famous of it's history and it's loyality to our country. We are all very proud working here, as we may provide to our visitors not only a unique city, as a peaceful and natural green environment, and a beautiful & friendly hotel as well. Vienna and Bratislava is almost appr. 60 Km from here, people may visit such ancient Austro-Hungarian city landmarks, as Baden, Mariazell, Eisenstadt, Fertod, or Nagycenk.Our hotel is 30 minutes on foot from the old castle-downtown of the city, and only 7 km far from the Austrian border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fagus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fagus Hotel Sopron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing