We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location historic hotel”
Review of Hotel Wollner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wollner
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Sopron
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location historic hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a heritage building. Its located in the historic part of town so great for seeing the sights, but an easy (10min) walk from the railway station. Rooms are good size, very clean and tidy, with heritage furniture, and there is a lovely courtyard. And check out the courtyard gate - its impressively solid! Staff were friendly and helpful with sights, restaurant recommendations etc, especially Krisztina who knows New Zealand and speaks perfect English. This hotel gives a good heritage feel to go with visiting the city centre, and is definitely recommended.

A previous review found it too hot in May, but I was there in hot weather in May and found the hotel fine - it has very thick walls which even out the temperature.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Murray,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel! It is always a pleasure to read reviews which reflect the effort given by all of our staff memebers to keep the standard of hospity that we have managed to reach. We thank you for your generous words and rating, which contribute to our overall evaluation. I would personally like to thank you aswell, for the many conversations about the place I once called „home” and keeping me up-to-date with information. We hope that the time you spent here in our city will remain as a pleasant memory in the future. We wish you and your wife all the best!

Krisztina Méri, receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
48
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loch, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Wollner based on its location and TA reviews and we were not disappointed. The location is great close to Szechenyi ter with plenty of metered parking and it is right on the edge of the Belvaros (old town) which is closed to traffic.
I believe you can drive in to drop off luggage but as we parked nearby and had very little luggage we just walked there from our car. It was very easy to find.
We were warmly welcomed and assisted by both the owner, Mr Wollner and his receptionist who were very patient explaining everything to us in English as we speak no Hungarian. The large coach doors leading to the internal courtyard are locked at night so they explained carefully how we gained access and made sure we understood.
Our room was lovely, very large, on the first floor at the top of the staircase, overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was very well appointed with everything anyone could need for their stay and all extremely clean. We had free WiFi in our room.
The owner & receptionist were very helpful suggesting a restaurant for dinner within walking distance.
As the Belvaros was illuminated after dinner we were able to collect our camera for a pleasant walk around the quiet streets.
Breakfast was buffet style with a large selection.
Before leaving Mr Wollner spent time talking to us and showing us around the hotel which he meticulously renovated 12 years ago, right down to a state of the art water filtration and heating system. It has 18 rooms including one delightful suite, a wine cellar, a small conference room, a
very pretty rear garden and internal courtyard complete with a 2000 year old Roman gravestone.
We highly recommend this hotel for location, service and hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. A garden view would be nice although our room overlooked the courtyard a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 270Loch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your very much for your much appreciated honest review! Your kind words and detailed review about our hotel make what we do worth it! We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that your experiences in Sopron were nothing else but positive. It is a pleasure to read guest opinions such as yours! Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion. We wish you all the best and we hope to see you in the future at our hotel once again!

Best regards,
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in the hotel 2 nights. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the hotel has a great classical interior, with rustic furniture. The breakfast was o.k., nothing special though. A disappointing that they had no hot chocolate...

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitaesgyuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your writing your opinion after your stay with us!

We are delighted to read positive feedback about the cleanliness and quality of our hotel.
We also thank you for writing your honest opinion about breakfast. We are very sorry that you didn't mention you required hot chocolate, because we always serve whatever the guest requires without hesitation even if it is not part of the buffet breakfast. We always ask children if they would like hot chocolate or not however we don't automatically ask adults the same question.

We hope to see you in the future in our hotel and we wish you all the best!

Best regards,
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel has no air condition, so if the weather is hot consider twice if you want to stay here, as it`s gonna be too hot! We were here in May and weather was around 20 C and without air conditionjust it was just OK but humid!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiestMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear HappiestMother,

Thank you very much for your honest review. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our hotel's building is 600 years old with walls that are several meters thick- these walls react well to hot and cold weather. They keep the rooms cool during summer and warm during winter. When we rebuilt the building and made a hotel we didn't count with the sudden changes in temperature and extremes today's weather has to offer. We apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to see you in the future. We wish you all the best!

Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although still the premier, centrally located hotel in Sopron, I confess we were a little disappointed.

The arrival, unloading and location of nearby parking is all fine.

The hotel is located in one of the town’s splendid old Baroque houses complete with carriage entrance and garden (not obviously open during our stay). The room we occupied on the first floor was roomy with a good bathroom, albeit a bit dated in style and décor. Unlike so many modern conversions, however, the heavy wooden shutters were still fully functional!
Although we were greeted by an enthusiastic, friendly member of staff, unfortunately her colleagues did not match her commitment. Even if you lack the language skills, surely a smile can go a long way.

The breakfast was adequate. Whilst there were hot options, they were not offered but had to be requested and sadly were not wonderful. They also attract an extra charge. Although formerly offering guests dinner and wine-tasting packages, these are now limited to Groups only.

In fact the whole place felt as if it had ‘dropped a gear’ in recent times, and did not seem to be the same place as visited by previous reviewers. I wonder if there has been a change of ownership or certainly a fall onto harder times?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel W, Manager at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your opinion which is very much valued. Because our hotel isn't very large and can only accept a smaller capacity of people we always serve hot options at breakfast freshly which is why they are not part of our breakfast selection.
It is very important that our staff show equal enthusiasm and comittment towards the guests. If you feel this did not happen we express our sincere apologies.
Our restaurant -which currently only holds events for goups- is adapting to the current economic situation which is the reason why it is only open for groups.
Once again we would like to thank you for your review and despite the negative experiences we hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I could write a good bit about the many reasons we found this hotel so nice...but the offer of the owner to allow us to borrow her and her husband's coats because of the abnormally cold fall day was reflective of our entire stay. Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean and well organized...unless you are looking for a large convention/tourist hotel, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Better to stay on the courtyard if you have the windows open...late night revelers might wake you ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel W, Recpetionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ditto famiy,

Thank you very much for your positive review! We much enjoyed having you here at our hotel. We try to make each and every guest feel at home and we hope that when they leave, they leave with a smile on their face and with positive experiences and good memories of their stay. We are very happy to read that we managed to achieve our goal with your family.

We hope to see you again in the future and we wish you and your family all the best!

Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was with a group of 13 people cycling from Prague to Budapest and got here in the evening with the group. Its a small but quaint hotel in the center of town run by a husband and wife. Tr e property itself is very beautiful - they have a restaurant on the ground floor with a seating area on the outside, they have a large garden on the first floor where you can sit and enjoy your coffee/tea in the morning. You can walk to the major attractions in Sopron from here - the fire tower was a 5 min walk from here. We did dinner here as well and the food quality was very good. The service is excellent as well. I would definitely go back if visiting Sopron. Oh also, the rooms are very nice and comfortable as well :)

Room Tip: lower floors as there is no elevator - its a 2 or 3 story hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miteshgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel W, Receptionist at Hotel Wollner, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Mitesh Gupta,

Thank you very much for your valued review! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a review about our hotel! Our hotels staff work hard to provide such service and to maintain the standard that is required of a four star hotel. We are very glad to read positive feedback especially opinions such as yours as we strive to not only meet the needs of the guests, but to exceed their expectations. We hope to see you in the future and we wish you all the best!

Best Regards,

Krisztina Méri
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.2 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#8 of 12 in Sopron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#6 of 12 in Sopron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Erhardt Restaurant and Pension
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wollner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wollner

Property: Hotel Wollner
Address: Templom utca 20, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Sopron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wollner 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Wollner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollner Hotel Sopron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing