We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great view”
Review of Hotel Sopron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sopron
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Sopron
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great view”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed 1 night during summer with my mom and my friend in a 3 bed room.The room was clean,the staff was friendly and the buffet breakfast tasty and with good variety.The view from our balcony was gorgeous,right on the city. I was totally satisfied with the service and would surely stay there again.Besides for less than £80 for 3 people with breakfast is not that bad,is it...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samantha1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
34
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I have stayed here for a day, didn't spend the night only because I live in Vienna, but it is the best place to come for teeth cleaning, facial, hair cut, a massage, I mean you name it, it's a great place to feel good about your self when you leave.. And the prices are great compared to Vienna.. Enjoy your time

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Did not choose the hotel myself, but upon recommodation, should not have listened... Tacky hotel that needs serious renewal, well propably not, better just chooose something else... Old, ugly and no good. Rooms actually ok, but only if you like to hear all that is going on in the entire hotel..Remember earplugs if you'd like to sleep

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We spent 3 nights (12-15 Aug, 2010), during my wife´s family´s reunion (which is celebrated every 4th year). The hotel is situated at the hillside, with a magnificent view over the old city centre of Sopron.
If you have the chance to get a room a bit higher up in the hotel - it is at the most 4 floors high - with a view (and a balcony) towards the city, you will be impressed by the nice view.
It takes not more than 12-15 minutes to walk down to the city centre!
The centre of the city (55.000 inhabitants, in the north/west corner of Hungary, less than 28 km to the Austrian border…and only 75 km to the city centre of Wien), is very picturesque, with many old buildings and squares! Do not miss the church and the narrow alleys.
Sopron is, as well, a perfect place to start from if you would like to make excursions by feet, bicycle or car (for example to - or even round - the Neusiedler See).

The breakfast at the hotel is really OK, with a large selection of cold and warm dishes.
One of the things we liked at the most was the pool, due to the really sunny & hot summer weather.
The garden is nice, as well as playing some tennis at one of the tennis courts belonging to the hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Position excellent with easy walk to centre of Sopron. Hotel somewhat old fashioned and in need of modernising. Bedroom comfortable but 2 single beds and no double. No shampoo, shower cap or other items which would have been nice as it is a 4 star hotel. Towells very thin and small although when we complained they did bring us some more. Free wifi in bedroom which was a bonus. Outside swimming pool and tennis courts. Breakfast good and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meggiemoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed there for two nights as an economical alternative to a nearby hotel in Austria.

The location of the hotel is quite close to the city of Sopron. Travelling there by car, do not take the Centrum directions, keep on the strip road around toward Vienna. From the hotel the city is a ten-minute walking.

Choosing Hotel Sopron you should be aware that though it is advertised as a fourstar hotel, it has different quality levels in their accommodation: our one was the "standard room" type and it has had some disadvantages. Examples: no noise reduction between the rooms and from the corridor, very worn chairs and bed matrasses, only a most basic type of liquid soap (no shampoo, no paper tissue), a bit smelly toilet. I do not want anyone to deter from, nothing real wrong was with it, but I would expect much-much more if I think of a four star accommodation, especially reading the rack price advertised. I suggest that travelling there you should try to get the possibly more upto level "comfort room" type, but probably it is more pricy

Other parts of the hotel is okay, as an extra it has internet access, a small wellness part (no experience), and an open air pool during the summer. I would like to positively emphasize the hot buffet breakfast (plenty and many to choose even they have home-made marmalade). The hotel staff was friendly, a bit unexperienced. By checking out it was funny to learn that they checked us out automatically already after the first night. I just imagined what could have happened if someone new guest would have been checked in to our room? (Fortunately it was not so.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_and_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This is a moden hotel of the type you might find in North America with a swimming pool and tennis courts, restaurant, etc. etc. Everything was great.

The location is perfect for walking to the downtown area.

We only stayed one night, and everything was great.

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sopron
0.4 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Sopron
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#8 of 12 in Sopron
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 12 in Sopron
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#2 of 12 in Sopron
122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#7 of 12 in Sopron
69 reviews
5.2 mi away
Weinwirtshaus Hotel
Weinwirtshaus Hotel
#1 of 1 in Klingenbach
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sopron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sopron

Property: Hotel Sopron
Address: Foevenyverem 7, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Sopron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sopron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sopron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing