We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and warm welcome”
Review of Pannonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pannonia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just spent - unfortunately only - one night at the hotel. The building is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, right in the centre of Sopron. I didn't have time to use the swimming pool but I know the hotel has great fitness facilities. An excellent choice for anyone looking for a hotel in Sopron, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nvicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest, dear Eva,

We are delighted and extremely happy that you had a great time at our Hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 559 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a typical Best Western 4 star hotel, old building, oversized, old fashioned, but it has a great location, the new part is quite OK, free wifi, restaurants and city centre just few minutes walk. It is reasonable choice for1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krisztian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest, dear Krisztián,

Thank you for the comments.

Sincerely yours,
Pál Szilágyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I believe for this price we could hardly find a better accommodation in the area.
Hotel is in downtown but can be easily found with a car; you can park your car on the street (don't have to pay for parking on weekends) or put it in the garage (which was the case for us and became very useful as 20cm fresh snow fall during the night). The reception, lobby and the dining area are in the 120 years old building while some of the rooms are in a newer one which is actually attached to the old one - from which you don't realize too much walking inside the hotel. We stayed in a new room - was the same quality as in another 4* hotel. Food during breakfast and dinner is not the highest quality but it is reasonable priced. We did not used the gym and the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly built/refurbished room. That's the best quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toci001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words, we are happy that you enjoyed our new rooms. We are constantly upgrading our rooms and hope all customers will have such good memories and experience at our hotel.

Sincerely yours, Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The great location in the center of town. Old & nice building, big and comfortable rooms. If the hotel will be renovated can be the very nice but now it looks like 35 years ago.
The breakfast place was beautiful and the food good, enough and tasty - seeds, cereals and sausages are very good.

Room Tip: rooms with front city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. We are currently building 20 new rooms and renovating 20 other. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our new rooms soon.

Best regards,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Reception excellent,friendly,welcoming.
Rooms good we had a comfort room Bathroom excellent.
Access difficult.Lift to our room was at the back of the hotel next to the Garage.No use for wheelchair users or people with mobility requirements.
Swimming pool on 1st floor.Modest size.Good.

Restaurant unwelcoming,rude.Food terrible.Breakfast stale bread,dishwater juice or too much syrup.Evening set menu but no one would tell us what was in the tins.No a la carte menu as promised.
Great location,centre of town.

Room Tip: Get a good price,they do vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a nice stay here. The staff was lovely, the price and location were great. The hotel was very worn out. The room furniture was really shabby. It looks like it's been many decades since it's had any renovations. for the price and location, though, we'd stay again. But know that it's very basic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bfdcshskpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review, we appriciate all reviews which help us to make our services better. I am very glad the my colleagues at the hotel met the high standards of you. I can see You have been to many places at your oppinion is very valuable information for us.

I would be delighted if you could let me know which room you stayed in (TripAdvisor is anonym, I can only see Your usernem). We are in the process of extending and renovating the hotel and we really hope that the next time you visit us we will be able to deliver a better travel experience at our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Three of us just walked off the street to ask for rooms for a two night stay. The staff were helpful, polite and attentive. The rooms we were shown were very good and quiet even through they were street side. The breakfast hall was beautiful and the food good. This hotel is well worth staying at and we will be back. Well done to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Roger,

Thank you for the kind comments. We are trying and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you soon and wish you a pleasant stay here again!

Best regards,
Pal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 13 in Sopron
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#2 of 13 in Sopron
127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 13 in Sopron
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#7 of 13 in Sopron
45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 13 in Sopron
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#11 of 13 in Sopron
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pannonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pannonia Hotel

Address: Varkeruelet 75, Sopron 9400, Hungary (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Price Range: $37 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pannonia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic town, this hotel, built in 1893, is the oldest in Sopron and is just in the city center. It offers a fusion of traditional and modern hospitality. Free Wi-Fi and a large spa area are provided, as well as a private garage. The hotel includes individually furnished rooms with a flat-screen TV, a minibar and a bathroom. Some come with antique furniture. In summer, the hotel opens its terrace and the roof-garden with its sunbathing terrace. There is also a restaurant which serves a breakfast buffet and a 3-course dinner option. Guests can enjoy the cafe, open during the day. Close to the Austrian border and a one hour drive from Vienna (43 miles), the hotel is west of Budapest (137 miles). During your stay, you can explore the historic quarter center of Sopron, rich in monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pannonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sopron
Sopron Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing