We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value”
Review of Pannonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pannonia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The great location in the center of town. Old & nice building, big and comfortable rooms. If the hotel will be renovated can be the very nice but now it looks like 35 years ago.
The breakfast place was beautiful and the food good, enough and tasty - seeds, cereals and sausages are very good.

Room Tip: rooms with front city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. We are currently building 20 new rooms and renovating 20 other. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our new rooms soon.

Best regards,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 570 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Reception excellent,friendly,welcoming.
Rooms good we had a comfort room Bathroom excellent.
Access difficult.Lift to our room was at the back of the hotel next to the Garage.No use for wheelchair users or people with mobility requirements.
Swimming pool on 1st floor.Modest size.Good.

Restaurant unwelcoming,rude.Food terrible.Breakfast stale bread,dishwater juice or too much syrup.Evening set menu but no one would tell us what was in the tins.No a la carte menu as promised.
Great location,centre of town.

Room Tip: Get a good price,they do vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a nice stay here. The staff was lovely, the price and location were great. The hotel was very worn out. The room furniture was really shabby. It looks like it's been many decades since it's had any renovations. for the price and location, though, we'd stay again. But know that it's very basic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bfdcshskpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review, we appriciate all reviews which help us to make our services better. I am very glad the my colleagues at the hotel met the high standards of you. I can see You have been to many places at your oppinion is very valuable information for us.

I would be delighted if you could let me know which room you stayed in (TripAdvisor is anonym, I can only see Your usernem). We are in the process of extending and renovating the hotel and we really hope that the next time you visit us we will be able to deliver a better travel experience at our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Three of us just walked off the street to ask for rooms for a two night stay. The staff were helpful, polite and attentive. The rooms we were shown were very good and quiet even through they were street side. The breakfast hall was beautiful and the food good. This hotel is well worth staying at and we will be back. Well done to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Roger,

Thank you for the kind comments. We are trying and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you soon and wish you a pleasant stay here again!

Best regards,
Pal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just spent two nights at this hotel which is perfectly located in the center of Sopron. The staff was delightful and helpful. We were shown a room which suited us perfectly - we were a party of three people. I especially enjoyed the atmosphere of a traditional grand old hotel combined with more modern elements. The breakfast was excellent with a large variety of offerings. We are looking forward to our next stay there in six weeks time.

Room Tip: Ask if you can see the room before you accept it. Rooms on street side very very quiet due to modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Harry,

We are extremely happy that you had a great time at our Hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have been travelling in the Sopron area for a few years (due to Moerbisch Operetten- Festival) and two years ago "visited" the Pannonia Hotel in order to check it out and book for the following year. This hotel is a great mix between old Bohemian style and new elements (like elevator, AC...). To us, it's one of the best hotels in the region (including Austrian 4*hotels around the lake): super clean, very kind and correct personnel, great service also in the breakfast area (clean, quick, friendly) and it's great value for money. Only the 10€ per day for our little dog were "daylight robbery", almost 20% of our room price - we had never paid that much before! Location is great, it is in the middle of the old city center with all shops, tons of restaurants and bars around the corner, still not too busy to feel disturbed. Good news is also the new coffee shop just 50m away which has great cakes and even Italian Cappuccino!

Room Tip: We were in the newer part of the hotel, still had a great bohemian style room, a little balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisBeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

We hope you enjoyed the Festival this year. Thanks for the kind words, my colleagues really appriciated the kindness.

Best regards,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Best Western Pannonia is an older hotel that has been redone and updated and modernized. It is very big and the rooms are nice sized. They have a bar and a nice restaurant, which serves breakfast and dinner. The pool and hot tub are nice and can accommodate many swimmers, though neither has a great temperature.

The location is right in Sopron and an easy walk to the train station.

The price is great and the breakfast was very good and had a variety of items each day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Florida_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szilagyipal, Owner at Pannonia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest from Florida,

We are grateful for the kind review and we hope your family members also had a great time in our Hotel and the City. We are looking forward to welcome you next year when our new rooms will open with extended services like panorama sauna in the winter on the rooftop.

We wish you further nice travel around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Pal Szilagyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 13 in Sopron
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#3 of 13 in Sopron
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#9 of 13 in Sopron
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 13 in Sopron
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#2 of 13 in Sopron
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#11 of 13 in Sopron
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pannonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pannonia Hotel

Address: Varkeruelet 75, Sopron 9400, Hungary (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Price Range: $37 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pannonia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic town, this hotel, built in 1893, is the oldest in Sopron and is just in the city center. It offers a fusion of traditional and modern hospitality. Free Wi-Fi and a large spa area are provided, as well as a private garage. The hotel includes individually furnished rooms with a flat-screen TV, a minibar and a bathroom. Some come with antique furniture. In summer, the hotel opens its terrace and the roof-garden with its sunbathing terrace. There is also a restaurant which serves a breakfast buffet and a 3-course dinner option. Guests can enjoy the cafe, open during the day. Close to the Austrian border and a one hour drive from Vienna (43 miles), the hotel is west of Budapest (137 miles). During your stay, you can explore the historic quarter center of Sopron, rich in monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pannonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sopron
Sopron Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing