We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of town, but worth the trek.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibraltar Vendeghaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gibraltar Vendeghaz
Ranked #15 of 33 Sopron B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of town, but worth the trek.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed here earlier this year and thought I had given it a review. A 15 min walk from the city centre but well worth the trek, passing two excellent top quality and very reasonably priced Hungarian restaurants on the way and a super local kochma (wine bar), just a few houses away. The Gibralter is Spotlessly clean, everything works properly, warm, comfortable and a good breakfast. Very quiet
and good service. The proprietor, Eva speaks good english. Taxi about £3.00- only for coming home! Very safe respectable area as in most places in Sopron.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodwoodearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family stayed in two double rooms for a night in July, and we can give nothing short of full marks for this splendidly run hotel/B&B. Great rooms, reasonable rates and a decent breakfast, what more can you ask for?
It´s a pity the location is a bit off the beaten track, but it is relatively easy to find your way around Sopron, so there should be no great problems for future guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We walked about 1 mile from the train station and thought we were going the wrong way as it was in a neighborhood, but we were pleasantly surprised by this delightful little hidden gem. the room was probably the nicest one of our entire month long trip. spacious, new, warm, quaint, clean. Had it all. AND Eva the host was delightful. Thanks to all for making this a great stay

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKtravelers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Large, clean room in fairly new building in quiet surroundings. Extreamely helpful and friendly staff and proprietors. Excellent starting point for concerts and festivals in Eastern part of Austria and Western part of Hungary. Effective air condition. High quality but reasonably priced restaurants in the area. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j-halvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at this guest house. It is 10 minutes from the centre and allows you to walk past some restaurants and cake shops that you might miss if you stay more centrally (and expensively). The room was spotless and very comfortable. A lot of care had been taken over the quality of the furnishings for this price. The area was quiet. The breakfast was good, with real individually made coffee too, not just a bulk load of cheap filter stuff! The most outstanding feature was the proprietor who was very friendly and spoke some English. I think the person who served breakfast was pretty good at German too. The parking was secure. Be aware that if you are arriving on a Monday or after 9p.m. you should call first as it is not a 24 hour reception. I would also contact them directly as the rate might be better than through a broker. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehansons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London SW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Comfortable, clean, spacious, all you could hope for in a reasonably-priced guest house. And above all, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff in this family run panzio.
A 10 minute walk from the town centre, but taxis are cheap and plentiful hereabouts, for those who don't want to walk.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidL-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.6 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Polus Pension
Polus Pension
#24 of 33 in Sopron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Fenyes Panzio
#17 of 33 in Sopron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alsolover Apartman
Alsolover Apartman
#3 of 15 in Sopron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#7 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Pihenokereszt Panzio
#8 of 33 in Sopron
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibraltar Vendeghaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibraltar Vendeghaz

Property: Gibraltar Vendeghaz
Address: Bercsenyi Miklos utca 35., Sopron 9400, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sopron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibraltar Vendeghaz 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run and brand new pension, which can be found in a very nice and calm part of Sopron with beautiful views to the city center. We are awaiting our dear guests with friendly and helpful staff, and for 24 people fully-equipped guestrooms. On the ground floor, you may find a our small restaurant, where you can try delicious Hungarian cuisine. We do not accept any pets, and all of our guestrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibraltar Vendeghaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing