We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and cozy hotel near Lake Balaton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Siofok
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique and cozy hotel near Lake Balaton”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Janus during a family trip this April. As soon as I saw it, I was in love! The hotel used to be an old schoolhouse, and each room is styled completely differently. We stayed in the "Gaudi" room, which was a two story loft, with stained glass windows and mosaic style tile accents. Breakfast is included (and is it very good!) and has 24h complimentary tea/coffee/water in the lobby. The spa facility on the lower level is quite nice, with attractive and well kept steamrooms and whirlpools. They also offer services like facials and massage at very reasonable prices (I had a 1h facial done, which cost me about $30 CAD, and she did a fantastic job). It is also within a 7ish min walk to the Lake and Downtown area.

The Hotel Janus is a unique and cozy place, and I hope to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esha_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here during the Queen's Diamond Jubilee week for seven nights. We were given the chance to choose from two different rooms and we chose the French-inspired one even though we were warned about possible noise from the nearby railway station.
The noise of trains could pose a problem for people who don't sleep well, it didn't bother us. Otherwise the room was fine, the beds are comfy and cleanliness is very good.
As it was early in the season we were two of only four guests for about four nights which was amazing. It was like having the entire hotel for ourselves. We particularly enjoyed that seclusion in the spa area. We used the gym, the pool and the Jacuzzi every day. My partner also had four different treatments such as full body massage and a facial. He enjoyed all four.
Breakfast was more than adequate, particularly if you consider how quiet the hotel was. Apart from continental breakfast there was some cooked breakfast as well. The breakfast lady was helpful and efficient.
The free tea and coffee corner is a nice touch. By the end of the week it became part of our daily routine to have a hot drink there after coming home from dinner.
Location was good too, five minutes walk from the lake, three minutes from the main square.
The reception staff were all charming and helpful.
All in all a very good choice, we'll definitely be back if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PracticallyPerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed in this hotel early september, as it was out of high season there were a possibility to choose among from rooms and as all rooms are in different style it was interesting to see more rooms :-). There are more small rooms but as we were with children we picked one of the suites which are quite big (80m2, 2 floors).
The hotel is nice, I like the idea of having rooms in different styles, I was never in such hotel.
The wellness are of the hotel is quite small, but have sauna which is enough for me :-)... although in high season it could be quite crowdy, but was ok at our time.
The staff is kind and helpful, the breakfast is amazing.
Lake Balaton is quite close, I was quite surprised, that in 1st week of September we could hardly find a place open...
My only concern with this hotel is that its not really a 4*, more a 3+, the prices are quite high, but there are lots of possibility for discount so worth to check.
I can recommend this hotel (at least out of high season) even with children, but for pairs as well.

Room Tip: Oasis suite is the nicest among the suites. I have not checked the small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

When we got here first, it was night and raining. The hotel looks like an old house, from the outside but when you get inside: wow.
A very nice boutique hotel with nice english speaking personell.
Every room it's unique. We had the ASIAN Room. Very nice...

Breakfast: a lot of delicious food to choose from.
Room: small but very nice and quiet area. Good for sleep.
SPA: A small pool with sauna and a small hydromassage pool. Very stylish.
Hotel surroundings: near from the walking center and the Balaton Lake.

Tips: rent a motoscooter and visit everything around, from the harbour to the noth side of Balaton lake.

Room Tip: Check all the free rooms, in order to pick the right one for you. Every room has it's own style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budakeszi, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The hotel offers several rooms decorated in a diffferent style. We had the angel's apartment, and were quite satisfied. Buffet breakfast was abundant, but the spa was a little too small of what I've imagined. The location is not the best: railway is one sie, some block building is on the other. Don't expect a view of Lake Balaton, but it's a great start of cycling tours, as they let us keep our bikes stored in a safe place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigritigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukovica
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The hotel is made up of 2 buildings connected with atriums-perfectly done - Rooms are something to rememeberr-evcery of 29 is different decoreted. There are at least some you will fall in love... But the choice in the summer is limited due to great demand
Pool and jakuzzi are great, decorated in egiptian stile - a 5 star hotel wouldnt be ashamed'-
After 8pm it is open to nudists also - but I havent seen any...
Try the 1oo1 night room

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This hotel does not have 4* quality rooms - they are imaginatively but shabbily decorated and furnished. The quality is very cheap. However, together with the size, cleanliness and lovely spa area we consider it good value for money. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. They all spoke excellent English. The minibar is very reasonably priced and the hotel has a central and easy to find location. Even though it is on a main road and next to a railway line, we were not disturbed at all. The restaurant was shut so cannot comment on that. The breakfast was average but there was a free coffee machine in a lounge area packed with leaflets and books on the area.

Siofok in September is not however recommended, everything was shut and the town has no charm. This could be a good place to stay in season.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxembourgRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siofok hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 39 in Siofok
345 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 39 in Siofok
36 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sungarden Wellness & Conference Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yacht Wellness & Business Siofok
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#18 of 39 in Siofok
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA

Property: Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA
Address: Fo utca 93-95., Siofok 8600, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Janus Atrium Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Siofok
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Siofok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, familiy atmosphered hotel can be found in the heart of the city – close to everything – on the old Main street of Siófok. The train station is 100 m away, the citiy center along with the Water Tower, restaurants, and the Sió mall are 200 m away. Siófok’s Main beach is also close, in a 10 minutes of walking distance. The building complex came into existence with integrating an old evangelic chapel and a school together in 1993, by the plans of Imre Makovecz. This hotel is the only relized plan of the famous architect. Later, between 2004 and 2015 a new concept came and the hotel recieved a new enterior. A unique design has been created, all of the rooms have different styles and decors. This is the only boutique-hotel in Hungary where all the rooms are different from each other. The house’s family atmosphered SPA facility has been evolved in roman and old egyptian style. Everything can be found here, which is necessary for the active recreation and relaxation: swimming pool, sauna, infra-sauna, whirlpool, gym, aroma chamber and solarium. Of course there is possibility to have massage and cosmetic treatments aswell or paid privat usage of the Jacuzzi with champagne and sweetplates. The combination of the open-air and the glassroofed atriums, design rooms, SPA facilitiy and wellness services makes the days spent here a unique experience. The hotel is non-smoking and do not allow pets. Vehicles can be parked in the open-air, but closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Siofok
Siofok Best Western
Janus Boutique Hotel & SPA Siofok, Somogy County, Hungary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing