We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fun experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palatinus City Center
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was a fun location for us to be able to step out into the old pedestrian zone in Pecs. This is an old hotel, there are noisy stais, old time inconvenience and a ton of charm that comes along with it. The beds and decor are a bit older, but in line with the period decor of the hotel.

After reading reviews, we were sure to understand if breakfast was included in our room. It was and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the hotel.

For a one night stay, this was great for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank You for taking time to send us your opinion. We appreciate all the reviews what helps us to make our guests' stay more convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The Palatinus is a very beautiful hotel, full of the taste of modernist style! Maybe a kind of old but is a good place to stay and spend the night, in spite of hard beds which maybe need renovation. The staff is very helpful and polite in a perfect location!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank GeorgyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank for taking time to send us your opinion about our hotel . We always try to follow our guests' wishes to increase the quality our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely old hotel.Parking was easy to find and led directly to reception.
Staff were really helpful and pleasant.Breakfast was also very good.
Perfect location right in the centre of old town.
Just loved Pecs.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank You for Your opinion!
We hope to greet You again in our Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The first clue was when we had to haul our luggage far from the street. Then when we checked in-it seemed very hot-no AC in lobby. Then the poor receptionist told us the elevator was broken. We were able to use the service elevator. The next clues should have prepared us more. The carpet was the thickness and cleanliness of felt in a garage! We had not realized that we had an economy room! Very HOT & no A/C. The staff was nice enough to accommodate us with an oscillating fan. The night cooled off to the music of Bongo Boy till 130AM heard thru our open window. The beds were from the time of the crusades! If you choose this centrally located hotel pay the extra for A/C and the highest class room you can get. Of note-the breakfast included was just OK.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Carlos Antonio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank You for sendig Your opinion according Your stay in Hotel Palatinus City Center.
We appriciate Your message , what helps up to improve our services.
We hope we can be at Your service next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend in Pecs and we choosed the Palatinus Hotel. The location is great, just in the middle of the centre. Clean room, friendly service. We really enjoyed the fantastic breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Márti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank You for sending us your great opinion. Hope to greet You again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Palatinus is right in the very centre of the town making it ideal for exploring the sites. It is leftover of bygone elegance and extravagance, especially as far as the public spaces are concerned (lobby, lift, dining room). Our room was on the second floor, adequate, perfectly clean, but small and unimpressive, with an old TV and with the extractor fan not working in the bathroom. However, beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
My only real gripe would be that for a good hotel, wifi was charged extra if used in the rooms. It was free in the lobby, but there are only 8 armchairs there, so if they're taken, you have to pay. I think this is something I'd expect from a cheap place looking to make a few extra pounds - not an elegant hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have lovely little balconies - not sure if they charge extra for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishwomanBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank You for sending us your opinion. Looking forward to greeting You again in our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We (a couple) visited Pecs for 2 days and we chose to stay at the Palatinus hotel for a night.

The hotel is located in the Kiraly street, the most popular touristic street in Pecs. It is a very pretty and old building with luxurious decorations.

Our room was located on the fifth floor. It was quite spacious and bright with clean sheets and towels. There was a very nice view to the city from a big window. We enjoyed to watch it day and night during our stay.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the very rich breakfast! For us, it was maybe even more impressive than Pecs itself! It took place in a very luxurious dining room, from 7:00-10:00 am. The breakfast included: juices (peach, orange, pomegranade), milk (warm and cold), coffee, cacao, salads, different types of cheese and hams, crumbled eggs with boiled and grilled sausages, yogurts (natural and berry), bakery, jams and honey, toasted bread, etc.

The price of our stay for a night including rich breakfast (+extra sandwich that we "took" for lunch) was 50 euros (plus 3 euros city taxes).

However, it is good to mention some negative parts of our experience in this hotel. To start with, we read from reviews before we went there that people were bothered by the high temperature in the room during summer. We were also bothered by it, even if we were there in the midle of January. It actually felt like summer. We slept with open windows and listened to music coming from the street bars, which was not annoying for us. Another negative aspect was the level of cleanliness in the toilet. It seemed clean in general but the staff could do some extra careful cleaning in the corners. Also, there was no free wifi in the room, and our double bed was rather two single beds together with annoying middle part.

All in all, we would definately recommend this hotel for a weekend stay in Pecs (enjoying the best breakfast)!

Room Tip: Probably the highest room level is the best (and at the back side of the building), concering the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalaki-Papaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank You for sendig Your opinion according Your stay in Hotel Palatinus City Center. We appriciate Your message , what helps up to improve our services.
We hope we can be at Your service next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pecs hotels
0.1 mi away
Adele Boutique Hotel
Adele Boutique Hotel
#1 of 27 in Pecs
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corso Hotel Pecs
Corso Hotel Pecs
#3 of 27 in Pecs
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Therapia
Hotel Therapia
#4 of 27 in Pecs
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millennium
Hotel Millennium
#15 of 27 in Pecs
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fonix
Hotel Fonix
#12 of 27 in Pecs
23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Makar Sport & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatinus City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatinus City Center

Address: Kiraly utca 5., Pecs 7621, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range: $47 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palatinus City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic monuments, cultural events, charming streets, thermal baths, fine wines and scenic hiking routes, Pécs is understandably one of Hungary’s leading tourist destinations – and Hotel Palatinus is among its most beautiful buildings! Entering the grand lobby is like stepping into a different era, and Art-Nouveau masterpieces like the stunning ballroom – where Béla Bartók once performed – continue to enchant guests to this day. The hotel is also an excellent base for exploring, located just off the main square in the historic old town, and next door to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palatinus City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatinus Hotel Pecs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing