We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palatinus City Center
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Palatinus is right in the very centre of the town making it ideal for exploring the sites. It is leftover of bygone elegance and extravagance, especially as far as the public spaces are concerned (lobby, lift, dining room). Our room was on the second floor, adequate, perfectly clean, but small and unimpressive, with an old TV and with the extractor fan not working in the bathroom. However, beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
My only real gripe would be that for a good hotel, wifi was charged extra if used in the rooms. It was free in the lobby, but there are only 8 armchairs there, so if they're taken, you have to pay. I think this is something I'd expect from a cheap place looking to make a few extra pounds - not an elegant hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have lovely little balconies - not sure if they charge extra for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishwomanBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank You for sending us your opinion. Looking forward to greeting You again in our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We (a couple) visited Pecs for 2 days and we chose to stay at the Palatinus hotel for a night.

The hotel is located in the Kiraly street, the most popular touristic street in Pecs. It is a very pretty and old building with luxurious decorations.

Our room was located on the fifth floor. It was quite spacious and bright with clean sheets and towels. There was a very nice view to the city from a big window. We enjoyed to watch it day and night during our stay.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the very rich breakfast! For us, it was maybe even more impressive than Pecs itself! It took place in a very luxurious dining room, from 7:00-10:00 am. The breakfast included: juices (peach, orange, pomegranade), milk (warm and cold), coffee, cacao, salads, different types of cheese and hams, crumbled eggs with boiled and grilled sausages, yogurts (natural and berry), bakery, jams and honey, toasted bread, etc.

The price of our stay for a night including rich breakfast (+extra sandwich that we "took" for lunch) was 50 euros (plus 3 euros city taxes).

However, it is good to mention some negative parts of our experience in this hotel. To start with, we read from reviews before we went there that people were bothered by the high temperature in the room during summer. We were also bothered by it, even if we were there in the midle of January. It actually felt like summer. We slept with open windows and listened to music coming from the street bars, which was not annoying for us. Another negative aspect was the level of cleanliness in the toilet. It seemed clean in general but the staff could do some extra careful cleaning in the corners. Also, there was no free wifi in the room, and our double bed was rather two single beds together with annoying middle part.

All in all, we would definately recommend this hotel for a weekend stay in Pecs (enjoying the best breakfast)!

Room Tip: Probably the highest room level is the best (and at the back side of the building), concering the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalaki-Papaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank You for sendig Your opinion according Your stay in Hotel Palatinus City Center. We appriciate Your message , what helps up to improve our services.
We hope we can be at Your service next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The location of this hotel is great. It's right on the main street of Pec, a pedestrian street where most of the interesting stores are located. It's right across the street from the theater and down the street from one of the main squares of the city.

The dining room of the hotel is also wonderful, decorated in a neo-rococo style. The food is plentiful and good.

The staff at the front desk, however, gave us a rather sour taste when we first arrived. The temperature was about 90 degrees Fahrenheit, and the desk clerk wanted to charge us extra for air conditioning. My wife was able to argue with them successfully, pointing out the description of the rooms that we reserved implied that they were air conditioned.

After that, they were pleasant enough, but it was a bad way to start our stay there. The rooms themselves were quite small, but otherwise adequate.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a view of the pedestrian street. We did. But I think some rooms have quite grim v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank You for sendig Your opinion according Your stay in Hotel Palatinus City Center.
We appriciate Your message , what helps up to improve our services.
We hope we can be at Your service next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was our second stay for a night because of a summit. The front desk as always were very helpful, especially when we asked for another room after we realized that there was a barking dog next door. The rooms need to be updated but still well equipped and spacious enough. We booked half board which was a good choice again. Buffet breakfast and dinner had great choice offering mainly Hungarian dishes. I also have to highlight the excellent location of this hotel, located at the main walking street with lots of pubs, restaurants and only a few meters away from the main sightseeing points.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank You for sending your opinion according to your stay in Hotel Palatinus City Center. We appriciate all the messages what helps us to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

As I see here before from others' rewiews, I can also state that the hotel is indeed very well situated and has a beautiful facade, lobby & dining facilities. The rooms, however, are a big disappointment. We stayed a couple of weeks in the summer in an economy room (~30C warm inside). Booked now in the autumn a week in a standard room, learning from the last time we thought, but things weren't better:

- there was an AC but it didn't work and seemed to be too much of an effort to get fixed. The room was surely the warmest place even if it wasn't so hot outside anymore so the window must be kept open
- the bathroom stinked horribly, honestly all day after you've been there suggesting a total lack of air circulation
- things were often just falling apart for instance in the bathroom, a renovation would have been a good idea years ago
- there was a very bad insulation of sounds so you could hear your neighbour's talk, showering, TV etc as though you were just behind a drape
- also the plumbing was very superficial, in my room it was through the cupboard so you know when the guy above you went to the bathroom..
- internet was from a 3. party costing over €10/24h and frequently cut off. It was free if you wanted to sit in their restaurant or one of the lobby's 6 chairs
- service was mostly noticeably stiff but maybe it's a matter of culture

I wouldn't return unless I got a much better room - for the location - but noticing their standard & philosophy I wouln't be so sure what to wait even so. Maximum ***, absolutely not 4!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kimmo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here recently. Great location right in the heart of the attractions. Hotel is clean and presents as a magnificent building. However, although our room was a superior one which was modern it was small with a double bed built in right against the wall. I found the room to be claustrophobic, hot and although superior rooms have air conditioning this was fairly noisy.
Restaurant was good, staff welcoming. No safe in room. You have to pay for Wi-Fi if you want it in your room. Breakfast finishes at 10am so if you are not an early riser you can miss this!
Overall a pleasant stay but if I returned I would request a larger room.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are smaller but have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidazeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The kindness and care from the reception staff is a great image to pecs. They made our stay unforgettable. They make the hotel a home away from home. Especially Ms Ildiko, Sabi, the other young gentlemen on the desk (whose names are tough for me )and the bell boys. Absolutely efficient in check in and out, answering all queries. They emit a kind of warmth that beckons you to visit again. We are very luck to have stayed there.

Room Tip: In summer have to ask for a room with AC. Suites are nice and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouslefamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pecs hotels
0.1 mi away
Adele Boutique Hotel
Adele Boutique Hotel
#1 of 27 in Pecs
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corso Hotel Pecs
Corso Hotel Pecs
#3 of 27 in Pecs
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Therapia
Hotel Therapia
#4 of 27 in Pecs
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Makar Sport & Wellness
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millennium
Hotel Millennium
#15 of 27 in Pecs
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fonix
Hotel Fonix
#12 of 27 in Pecs
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatinus City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatinus City Center

Address: Kiraly utca 5., Pecs 7621, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range: $41 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palatinus City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic monuments, cultural events, charming streets, thermal baths, fine wines and scenic hiking routes, Pécs is understandably one of Hungary’s leading tourist destinations – and Hotel Palatinus is among its most beautiful buildings! Entering the grand lobby is like stepping into a different era, and Art-Nouveau masterpieces like the stunning ballroom – where Béla Bartók once performed – continue to enchant guests to this day. The hotel is also an excellent base for exploring, located just off the main square in the historic old town, and next door to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palatinus City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatinus Hotel Pecs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing