We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“clean and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barbakan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Barbakan
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

small and very clean and frindly boutique hotel, located 5 min walk from the main attractions, yet away from noisy part. small patio for parking (4 cars) but there is a supplement parking just across the street. recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsolt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during a conference trip to Pecs in 2010. It just so happened that Pecs was hosting the European capital of culture that year so that was an added bonus. Pecs was a pleasant surprise: modern, clean, the old city centre beautifully resotred. The same goes for this hotel - a small gem just out of the old city centre near the old fort in the city walls (hence the name). I was allocated a room (these are huge, by the way!) in the top floor which gave me a beautiful view of the city's roofs and a bit of a park. It was quite astounding. The food was good, the survice was very nice - as was the whole experience. If you happen to be in Pecs this hotel won't dissapoint you. Neither will Pecs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Barbakan Hotel lies at the North East side of the city centre, within 5 minutes you are standing at the UNESCO 4th Century Christian graves! The rooms are clean, have German style furniture and neat. We slept with our two kids in the family room at the top of the building. Only negative point is that the sheets are too short for the mattresses, but you see that more often. There is an elevator for most rooms and at the back (very) limited parking, but you can park at the front of the hotel also. The breakfast is good, there is a buffet with some standard drinks and food (bread, butter, jam, honey etc), and you can order a dish from the menu with eggs or a cold plate with a.o. typical Hungarian salami. The receptionist speaks some German and English. Well recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4ofUS_eis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

This hotel is very good for a 3-star hotel.
The hotel is relatively new and the rooms are quite good. The only thing that could be better is the breakfast, which should be more diverse.
The location is very good, very near the city center.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_CostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
416 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

This 3-star hotel is a very good 3-star option in rural Hungary. The rooms are large, have air-conditioning (vital in Summer), and freshly renovated bathrooms. The beds are comfy, although they are all singles - so no double or king-sized beds. Strangely, they seem to have purchased sheets that don't fully fit the beds and the pillows are horrible. Breakfast is OK with a selection of cereals, yoghurt, bread rolls, coffee, tea and cooked breakfast options. Fruit was nowhere to be seen and the juice was heavily watered down. The service was excellent and always delivered with a smile. The location is fantastic as you are just a 2 minute walk from the Barbakan and 5 minutes to the cathedral and early Christian tombs. It is important to note that you cannot pay with credit card - it is cash only.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We arrived in Pecs from Romania in the early evening and our sat-nav found the Barbakan for us. First impressions were that it looked quite small and very well kept - this was confirmed at the reception which was also small and very well kept!

The receptionist had very basic English and of course we couldn't speak Hungarian, but we were quickly checked into what turned out to be a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. Although the hotel has a small parking area at the rear, we had to park on waste ground just across from the hotel entrance, which we were assured was safe.

We ate out that night, but had breakfast in the rather splendid hotel dining room. The food was very nice with assorted types of egg, all liberally sprinkled with paprika.

If I'm ever in Pecs again, I'll be back at the Barbakan.

  • Liked — Not far from the city centre and clean and comfy rooms.
  • Disliked — Not much private parking space.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Zundappzundapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pecs hotels
0.5 mi away
Adele Boutique Hotel
Adele Boutique Hotel
#2 of 27 in Pecs
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#1 of 27 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arkadia
Hotel Arkadia
#7 of 27 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corso Hotel Pecs
Corso Hotel Pecs
#3 of 27 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Makar Sport & Wellness
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#5 of 27 in Pecs
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbakan

Property: Hotel Barbakan
Address: Bartok Bela u. 10, Pecs H-7624, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barbakan 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Barbakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing