We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable...growing pains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calimbra Wellness Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Miskolc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We checked in for one night since we visited the cave baths down the road about 200 meters, the hotel is brand new and very clean.
Upon entering the receptionist was on the telephone and did not even acknowledge our assistance, if it were not for the masseur walking by who greeted us and gave us the sheets to fill in, who knows how long we woudl have stood there.
We checked in and went to the room, it was clean, orderly and free WLAN was available, we were hungry but had to wait for 6PM for dinner, where we had a choice of a buffet for 4000 HUF per person or Ala Carte.
The buffet was excellent, as a meat lover, there was everything to include ribs, simply delicious!
Our servers were in great spirits despite we were the only one there for the first 30 minutes. Very helpful and one even spoke to us, which was the first time in the hotel where anyone took any interest.
The mini bar was empty, they said since they are so new they did not stock them yet, but had nothing to stock when we asked them to.
The next morning we went to the wellness area, a great let down, the Infra Red Sauna was not working, the steam bath was not on and the jacuzzi was not turned on, the pool is to small to swim and the fitness room is, well a small room, very small.
We left and got ready for breakfast, again, a great buffet. When we went to mention our room, the staff said "we know who you are" and escorted us into the dinning room. Not sure what that meant but they spoke English for the first time so I guess they heard I was an American, not sure but it was good to feel at home and be served with such attention.
All in all a great stay, great staff (except for the receptionists) upon checking out the desk manager or hotel manager and two others receptionists were speaking and I had to insist they stop so we could check out, we seemed to bother them.
The location is perfect for the cave baths and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Does not really matter since the town dies after 6PM, it is so quiet there, if your wish to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

we spent 2nights in this hotel .We booked last minute and everything seems to be ok but after one day i can say ;the room was well furniture and clean, the wi-fi did work,the half-board good but not excellent(a little poor and the desert looked good but not tasty)for a 4 star hotel.The spa area looked nice from outside, with inside pool (cold water)and everything looked not very relaxing. For me the spa means a warm place where i can relax myself, but this one was everything except that nice ,warm place.(in any event we got a nice flu).So finally, quite good but do not choose it for the spa area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked rooms from the US months in advance on account of an event we needed to attend in the area. Upon arrival, we learned that the wifi did not work in our rooms. We are business people and need wifi for our work. They offered a cable Internet connection but our laptops are newer and have no Ethernet connection. They clearly advertised wifi Internet and could not provide it. On top of which, the beds were mattresses on a wooden platform and were beyond hard. One could not sleep on those beds restfully unless one is accustomed to sleeping on the floor. One our rooms also smelled foul as did the restaurant. NWhen we complained about the internet situation they insisted we would be charged a full night regardless. We had to get out of that nightmare, so we left. Charge us if you will. We want a real hotel with accommodating and pleasant staff! Good bye, Calimera "Wellness" Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViktorMike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nóra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irénke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dombra néző kilátás.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank krisztimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miskolc
6.4 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Levay Villa Panzio
Levay Villa Panzio
#4 of 16 in Miskolc
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kolibri
Hotel Kolibri
#10 of 16 in Miskolc
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
City Hotel Miskolc
City Hotel Miskolc
#3 of 16 in Miskolc
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kitty
Hotel Kitty
#9 of 16 in Miskolc
22 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pannonia Miskolc
Hotel Pannonia Miskolc
#11 of 16 in Miskolc
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calimbra Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calimbra Wellness Hotel

Address: Bencesek utja 9-11, Miskolc 3519, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Miskolc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Miskolc
Price Range: $97 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Calimbra Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing