We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Cave Bath of Miskolctapolca
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.51*
and up
Miskolc City Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Once free entry in Cave Bath with Miskolc Pass tourist card. Our guests can bath in hundreds of thousands year cave passages created by nature, enjoy nice massage of stream of wild water. Our parkwayed swimming pool are close to 3,6 square miles size where 6 swimming pools and basins provide nice experiences. The swimming pool has a park suitable for relax available for handicapped peoploe as well due to its accessibility for tourists with reduced mobility.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were there in April with my parents and 2 year old daughter. The outside pools were not opened yet, so we only went inside the cave pools. There were several different pools inside the caves with different themes and water temperature. My daughter loved swimming in the caves! The water was warm, and clean. It was truly an amazing experience. I would love to go back again!! Recommend it to anyone who loves Hungarian culture and not afraid of the dark.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank L_awakening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    166
    77
    27
    17
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sight, less great experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

First and foremost, it's a great space, swimming in the beautiful cave labyrinth is truly a wonderful experience. But the place itself has problems.

- it's almost always crowded and people make quite a big noise in the caves.
- the sauna house works a bit strange. You can't go into the saunas without a swimming dress and even the towel they give you is not enough to cover your body so you really have to sport your speedo inside the saunas. The "sauna seance" is also strange with projected imagery and no time to get fresh air in the cabin - so by the end almost everyone was on the edge of escaping.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were planning on spending a few days to relax in the cave bath. However, upon arrival to the gate I was adviced that they only allow people to enter for a 4 hours period then you have to leave the premises.

This was followed by 4 hours of children screaming and crying, jumping in and out of the bath/pool which was meant to be for "relaxation". Not to meantion every inch was jam-packed and nowhere to sit down.

The place itself was very difficult to find, there are no signs until you are very near the cave. The whole setting feels like the place rather caters for locals only.

It's only fair to say, the caves are stunning and I agree with some of the comments, it must be very romantic when it's quiet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
170 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Interesting but not as warm as expected”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'm not the sort of person who usually frequents thermal baths, but we had a family holiday in Miskolctapolca and went in to try out the cave baths. We went on a Monday and it was already quite busy at 11am. There are a number of outside pools including children's paddling pools as well as the cave baths. These are thermal waters so we were expecting some pleasant temperatures especially since the weather was not as warm as usual. However, the first pool inside was 'cool' - supposedly 25 degrees. We went with the flow - that is, we joined one of the lanes of people circulating through this pool along the passages hewn out of the rock and went into a dark section with fake starlight above. The noise created by those trying out the echo was a bit much so we went in search of warmer waters. We found another pool with water around 32 degrees which was much appreciated. Exploring outside we found that most pools were also of the 20 degree sort with one 32 degrees - and this was the more popular given the weather. As time moved into the afternoon more people were arriving at it really was becoming unpleasant in the pools inside the caves - teenagers throwing balls to each other, difficult to move without bumping into someone else. I'd recommend coming early - or maybe paying extra to come at night. Certainly an interesting place but only come if you don't mind other holiday makers in close proximity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Amazing maze of Miscolc Tapolca caves”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

On our way to Budapest we spent two hours in a small town Miscolc Tapolca (Hungary).
We paid 2200 Ft (8 EURO) per one adult ( group price if you have group more than 15 people) for the entrance. Better come there in the morning because starting from 12 P M the number of visitors increasing. The price is very small for that kind of experience you'd get. Imagine different caves connected by water in one great maze. It is difficult to guess what you 'll see around the corner : waterfalls, sparkling stars on the celling or walls made of rock. And you feel yourself like explorer in the caves. The water is shallow and acceptable for children. That's why many visitors came there with children and receive family price (2 adults + 1 child = 5900 FT (21 EURO). I didn't regret about the time spending there. I wish I had the same Cave Baths in Kiev where I live.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Bath of Miskolctapolca also viewed

Miskolc, Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County
Miskolc, Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County
 
Miskolc, Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County
Miskolc, Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County
 

Been to Cave Bath of Miskolctapolca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing