We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Royal Restaurant/

Royal Restaurant/
Ranked #37 of 42 Restaurants in Keszthely
Restaurant details
Szentendre, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice atmosphere, good food. Terrible service, my plate was dirty as much as i wouldnt give it to my dog...the staff is unfriendly and they havent got any knowledge about the word of quality....i suggest never try it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    10
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Chaotic service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it was near the Festetics Castle and we were too hungry to keep looking for better places. It has a nice terrace, not very overcrowded at lunchtime. Our food was really good, I particularly recommend the French Onion Soup. I have never tasted a better soup.

But I must say that we were lucky because the waiters came to take our orders promptly and didn't forget to bring us anything we ordered. But from what we saw while we were eating, not all of the guests had our luck. One family left because no waiter went to their table for half an hour, another family waited 40 minutes for their meal and even then only the parents got the order, the kids had to wait more and I heard the waitresses wonder if anyone took the order from a certain table.
The chaos is evident to anyone trying to enjoy a meal at the Royal Restaurant. This is why I don't recommend it if you are in a hurry or you hate waiting. There are many other restaurants nearby. Just choose any of those.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Szerendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Opinion about this restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We visited this restaurant in Keszthely during our bike trip around Balaton. My experience is very mixed with the place. The prices are high but in a city center it is normal I think. The food was very good we enjoyed it, but there were two problematic things. The waitresses were forgetful and not very kind (for the forgetfullness one couple left the place as they were not served for a long time even if the place was half empty), also we needed to wait for long to get the bill.
The second thing which was bothered me very much that the prices on the menu don't contain the VAT price (27%). So we paid and on the bill there were the sums of the dishes, drinks we took, and the additional VAT which we needed to pay.
Generally in restaurants the vat price is included in the normal price, but here on the menu the prices doesn't contain the vat, so you pay 27% more than you excpect and above that it is not written anywhere in the menu that the prices doesn't contain vat.
So I don't recommend this restaurant as their attitude was not customer friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Excellent food, nice staff, moderate prices.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've found this restaurant during a long sightseeing in Keszthely. At first i was a bit nervous about the prices / quality, because the place is located next to the Main attraction of the city ( The Festetics Castle) but we've gave a try. I was surprised. The food was excellent, the service was fast ( from order to delivery approx 15 minutes). Everything was fresh, well prepared.
Highly recommend for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arpad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Royal is at the end of the pedestrian street close to the Festetics Palace. It has both indoor & outdoor seating. Although it specializes in pizza, the Hungarian selections on the menu are extensive. We ate there twice and had wonderful meals both times. There are several pork dishes which are very tasty. The pork Gypsy style the steak tartar are both excellent. The prices are lower than in the tourist restaurants along the pedestrian street and the house wine was perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Restaurant/ also viewed

Keszthely, Zala County
Keszthely, Zala County
 
Keszthely, Zala County
Keszthely, Zala County
 
Keszthely, Zala County
 

Been to Royal Restaurant/? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing