We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth to view”
Review of Festetics Palace

Festetics Palace
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Keszthely
Certificate of Excellence
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth to view”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Old hungarian castle in the city (Keszthely), if you have time, just walking at the park, taking photos and feel the mood of the place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank peterbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    115
    21
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Beautiful castle, many things to see. Some times they have the "old time" photos, very worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
428 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Lovely palace”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Palace has 100 rooms but only part is open to the public. The rooms are decorated with furniture of the period. Some lovely woodwork on walls and ceilings. Unfortunately, there was no information in English. But two of the staff spoke English and told us about the history of the building and the famiy who owned it. The gardens are pretty. Admission was 2300 ft for an adult. Those over 70 get in free and there was a student discount. We found free parking right outside the gates. It was a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The library is an amazing room.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balatonmariafurdo, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Candel light in the Palace”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Visit the Palace at night. Candel light and music...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank HullamVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nignotwill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It took me a year but i am so glad i visited”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I have owned an apartment in Heviz for over a year and although i had gone past the Festetics Palace many times i had not actually been inside, however a visit to Heviz by my relatives spurred me on to make each of their days worthwhile and i finally went inside .....and i am so glad i did it. Im not into history but its certainly an impressive place and even the lack of an English speaking tour guide didnt detract from making it a very special visit. I was so amazed by the visit i purchased a book giving full details of the Palace so that i could re-live my visit (in English) room by room - its unusual for me to even by a postcard! The Palace is well worth a visit and all my family members (8 in total) thought the building was exceptional. It cost 2000 HUF to enter (about £5) and was half price for over 65s. A bargain.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nignotwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Festetics Palace also viewed

Keszthely, Zala County
Tapolca, Veszprem County
 
Szigliget, Veszprem County
 

Been to Festetics Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing