We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel at a high level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NaturMed Hotel Carbona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NaturMed Hotel Carbona
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Heviz
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel at a high level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel provides a wide range of services at a reasonable price. Excellent pools: for swimming, spa, massage, outdoor, therapeutic... The hotel has comfortable rooms and a good restaurant. The price includes half board, full breakfast and dinner. Staff is working on a high professional level. I definitely recommend you to visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
46
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in late November. Perhaps missed the charm of great weather and being able to lounge outdoors, but many of the negatives would apply even then.

1. Maybe a quarter of the staff smiled and were friendly.

2. The restaurant was a disaster. My family had full board, but other than the (rather sparse) salad bar, a few cooked vegetables and fresh fruit at every meal, it was truly difficult to find anything tasty or healthy among the choices at the buffet. The charges for drinks (e.g., water) at lunch and dinner were outrageous, and the morning coffee was truly awful.

3. The rooms were mediocre, with the flat screen TVs and nice shower soaps and shampoos being the only truly nice touches.

4. The water in the main indoor pool was too cold for anything but a hard training swim.

5. 10 a.m. check out! First in my life! Woke up at 8:30, intending to have a quick breakfast and swim with the kids. Oops, breakfast only, as I was told on a Sunday morning there was a lineup of people waiting to check in (by 11:30, I hadn't seen any evidence of this).

There are lots of good places to get away for the weekend in Hungary. This unfortunately isn't one of them!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an experience! Any place that you can walk around in a robe all day is a hit with me!!! The pools are amazing, the staff are friendly and the rooms are perfect. Beautiful scenery, walking distance to local shops and markets, depending on the time of the year. I will definitely make the effort to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am a world traveler, and this hotel would never be a choice for me. But I come here to accompany my parents and have a family vacation. I have been at this place for this reason a few times so my review is based on many experiences.

This is an old communist hotel which has not been able to bring itself to the 21 st century wellness industry. It is trying, but it is filled with old habits every step of the way. Perhaps the reason is that the staff and management are still old Hungarians who do not know how the world and this industry had progressed. The staff is focused on doing their job as they always have and they don't necessarily focus on the customer and their needs.

The food reminds me of the food of our school cafeteria. The supplies look like they are from Tesco. Te meats, the cheeses, the vegetables, the fruits they are all low quality without fail. The coffee is horrid. I usually just ignore the meals and go out and eat out, because I can not stand the mediocracy at Carbona. The hotel rooms are a luck of a daw, if one gets a room facing the town forget the restful stay. Those rooms are noisy and hot in the summer.

The a/c does not work properly in the rooms. It has two options of being on, and cooling some, but they are very noisy or being off, in which case in the heat the room is unbearable. Each time we have visited upon our arrival the a/c was on in our room, and the windows were open. Clearly the staff do not understand that those are mutually exclusive.

The beds are just twin mattresses pushed next to each other, and not great quality mattresses, as one would expect from a wellness place. The bottom sheets are flat sheets and they do not stay put on the soft mattresses, and waking up one will find that they are sleeping on the mattress cover.

The bathrooms are outfitted with liquid soap containers, but the soap is watered down and useless, so I have been bringing my own. Currently our toilet lid is lose, so each time we need to use the bathroom, I refit the lid.

The ramp to get into the hotel is so steep that I many times slid backwards in my sandals while I was pushing up my stroller. There is no way a disabled person in a wheelchair can manage the degree of slope. there is no direct elevator from the parking lot to the hotel. It is really disappointing considering that this place is supposedly catering for people with various disabilities and ailments. The gift shop could offer arts and crafts from the region to feature Hungaricum, and to create demand for local artisans, instead it sells stuff looking cheap and utterly out of fashion or touch with the times.

There is a beautiful bird in the foyer. I personally feel bad for it, as it is encased in a small area. I think it would be much nicer and fitting with the spirituality of wellness to have a water feature there instead of an prisoned animal.

We pay USD150 for this per person, per night BEFORE treatments which are at a higher price obviously than the Hungarian price range. At these rates all the above become quite upsetting.

I think there is a lot of potential lost and this place could be much better and deserving the 4 stars if there was a complete management overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hasznos-Munro-groupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff was extremely friendly ,trying to fulfill all our wishes.The place is really very relaxing,emphasize on the pools ,water temperature is mentioned .Impressed by the cleanlines of dinning room.As a minus i should mention that although the beds are advertised as twin or double beds,the rooms contain only twin beds

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Urys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szombathely, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

In the hotel are thermal baths and numerous therapeutic and wellness opportunities all year round! The thermal baths are in the style of Roman. The thermal bath is very good for painful articular disease. The hotel is located in the centre of the town in an arboretum-like park. There is also a Feng Shui garden. There are pleasant air-conditioned rooms, abundant, tasty, great variety of Hungarian and international foods, reform dishes, indoor and outdoor activity pools, massage jets, 25 meters long indoor swimming pool. Nearby is the largest thermal hot water, natural lake in Europe.
The staff is very friendly, polite, courteous. We spent a very pleasant week there, and as often as we can, we go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globussavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently my wife and I spent a week in this lovely hotel. It is not the "klein und fein" category. To the contrary, it is a huge operation, the "ehmalige" Coalminers Union's holiday home.This is the reason of its new name (Carbonara). But dont be afraid. It is perfectly designed perfectly done up to the minor details and perfectly maintained hotel. Rooms are clean and well kept (#1208). Bathroom is perfect, food is delicious and has a huge variety of buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. The staff is extremely kind, helpful and EFFICIENT (!)Facilities, like swimming pool, sauna, treatment pools are clean and well managed. Eating places (coffee shop, dining room) are pleasant. Drinks, coffee etc.are extremely expensive relative to average Hungarian prices but we understand that hotels can make a little extra profit on this. Good for them. Tipping system is good, because to all kind of extras 15 pc service fee automatically added to the bill (charged to your room or pay in cash), so dont need to worry how much you tip the staff. A little extra of course expected at the and of your stay at the little casbox in the dining room. Mgrs like the F&B Mgr is excellent, special thanks goes to him. Dear CEO ((Dr V.?) I do suggest you to inform people who is the designer and who, which company is the one which designed and built so perfectly, using their brain, the whole facility. And special thanks goes to the owners to those who had the "heart" to spend money to the plenty of marble and quality material and have "heart" to spend to maintain the facility including the flowers. Nobody will be disappointed with this hotel and again, thanks to the staff for making our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: 1208 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heviz hotels
0.4 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
0.7 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Aqua
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Heviz
Hotel Palace Heviz
#6 of 33 in Heviz
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Heviz
Hotel Spa Heviz
#12 of 33 in Heviz
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquamarin
Hotel Aquamarin
#20 of 33 in Heviz
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sante
Hotel Sante
#7 of 33 in Heviz
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NaturMed Hotel Carbona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NaturMed Hotel Carbona

Property: NaturMed Hotel Carbona
Address: Attila utca 1, Heviz 8380, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Heviz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Heviz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NaturMed Hotel Carbona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your NaturMed Hotel Carbona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naturmed Hotel Heviz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing