We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
Nearby Hotels
$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$75
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$186
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
123
80
27
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
80
27
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal poolshalf boardbuffet styletasteful foodmain floorenglish speakersbeef tongueflip flopswide range of choicesevening dinnerover christmasbudapest airportsuperior roomnice stafflake balatonwaiterdanubius
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 236 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This was to be our 4th trip to Hungary and staying in a Danubius Resort. We have stayed twice in Budapest, once in Buk and now to Heviz. The Hotel is one of the top ones under the Danubius chain. We signed up for the 3 week complete SPA package. The package includes transportation from New York to Budapest, 21 nights at the Hotel, 2 meals per day and 15 SPA treatments per week. We paid extra for a car to pick us up in Budapest and drive us to Heviz, about 2 hours - round trip. The Hotel reception staff were about the best we have ever seen. The all spoke English which was very helpful since we spoke no Hungarian. The room was excellent and enough room to get all our clothes out of our suitcases. Maid service every day and they were excellent. After seeing a Doctor, who helps you decide what kind of treatments you want you are sent to a "scheduler" who schedules you our for the next three weeks. My wife and I had, Massage, Mud Treatments, Hydrotherapy, electrotherapy, traction, and we also had a person who worked on any specific area you might have problems with . You had use of the indoor and outdoor thermal pools, the indoor and outdoor regular pools, sauna, steam bath, jacuzzi and workout center. There was music both in the dining room and in the bar area. We scheduled no treatments on Wednesday and Saturday, and there were no scheduled treatments on Sunday, so it gave us 3 days a week to travel around the area. Food, was ok, the buffet meals on Wednesday ;and Saturday were outstanding. The off the menu meals for the remaining 5 days a week was just ok. The salad bar, both for breakfast and dinner was outstanding. So were the deserts and the fruit at every meal. There is also a Beauty Salon and daily scheduled workouts (for free) by the gym staff, like stretching exercise, water exercise, etc. Overall a great place to go for three weeks. The town is Heviz, and the center is about 3 blocks away from the Hotel. There is also one of best Wine Cellars we have ever been to in Heviz that is only about 2 blocks from the Hotel. Heviz is also the home of Hevizi Gyogyto (the curative Lake of Heviz) which is the largest natural peat mud thermal lake of volcanic origin in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to hear that we could meet the high expectations of a returning guest.

I cannot wish you anything else than having you with us again very soon. A small extra to visit us in this summer: for 7+ nights stays during the summer months we await our guests with buffet dinners three times a week.

If we can be at your disposal in anything regarding your next stay, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards:

Peter Nagy
E-commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

I stayed here at part of a tour group for one night.

The Good
- GREAT view! I believe the hotel is one of the tallest in the vicinity, and therefore had great mountain and city view
- Decent rooms with a nice balcony
- Natural hot springs spa with a variety of temperature
- 2 outdoor pool (one of them is kind of hidden!) and 1 indoor pool

The Bad
- Slow elevator
- Spa/massage closes way too early! I think it was at 3:30pm or 4pm. Just way too early!
- No additional towels provided for pool/hot spring (which was very inconvinent)
- The restaurant/dinner place was quite .. just say that it could have been cleaner. The food was delicious though!
- Staff may not be fluent in English (which can be a hassle)
- It wasn't luxurious - I'll give it a three star

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Food was awful. Spa was good. Treatments were excellent. Location was awful. Showers were awful (needed to be 10 ft tall and flooded the bathroom). Ambience was generally awful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback you shared with us. Every opinion is very important to us, especially those, which enlighten the parts of our services need to be bettered.

I really sorry that we could not provide you with the holiday-experience you expected from our resort. Regarding the experiences with the showers, now every room is equipped with bathtub (except for rooms for guests with limited mobility) to guarantee a comfortable means of bathing.

Though we constantly improve our services, I would greatly appreciate, if you would be so kind, and share with me all the impressions and experiences you gained during your stay. This would make a great contribution to our further developement. For doing this, I will gladly be at your disposal on the heviz<dot>e-commerce<at>danubiushotels<dot>com e-mail address.

Best regards:

Peter Nagy
E-commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Only stayed one night but lovely large room - modern with balcony. Would go back for another stay as it was difficult to get spa treatments without further notice - the beauty and therapy receptions close at 3.30 pm so unless you're checking in early you have to book them in advance! Would recommend eating out if you're not on half-board. We didn't have HB included (which was very cheap) but then paid quite a lot for what was a very bland and unexciting buffet (reminded me of school dinners). As for spa treatments - they seem to go in for clinical, effective but no atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

well, i read the review of the previous traveller on here and booked. The occasion was my partner's 30th. We like spa resorts and clean minimum 4 star places, so this hit the mark.

we flew with ryan air to the friendliest airport of hungary,good trip and a taxi awaited us pre-ordered due to e-mails direct to the hotel before outward bound trip.

Arrived on 27 December 2007, the hotel was quiet and the first person we spoke to was the receptionist who did not speak english, only german and hungarian. So along come another receptionist who understood english and advised us our room would not be ready for another 3 hours he suggested that we have a look around the facilities, to which we did.

We were able to have a inital check with the doctor who was friendly and chatted in basic english, he advised us as to what treatments to have. This part of the trip was good.

With the package that i had purchased via ---.com, we had 6 treatments included and any additionals were charged accordingly.

So we booked the treatments, but due to the new year, spaces were not readily available as they would be for the rest of the year. My partner was booked in at 0900hrs on two of the five days that we were there and then did not have another treatment until 1330hrs.

The room was pleasant, average condition and very woody. I noticed throughout the hotel this to be a trait. Unfortunately, the housemaid would wake us each morning even though we put what we thought to be the do not disturb sign on the door, with hovering the corridor, frustating.

Meals were poor, a set menu with a distinct lack of taste. We ventured out one afternoon and found better food in a local restaurant, and the owner spoke english and was very accommodating.

In the whole 5 days there, i only spoke to one other visitor who spoke English and he could speak 6 languages, english was not his first. He asked why we chose this hotel, and i explained, the facilities and reviews, he then advised me that he would not recommend this hotel for a couple of late twenties and whom only speak english, as most visitors are from hungary and aged above 40 years old.

Overall i would rate this 6 out of 10, as it facilities are great but the other visitors do not speak english so you are your own company. would i go again? no, would rather spend the money in a british speaking spa

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nat&trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews