We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent generous home-cooking in a rustic atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Csulok Csarda

Csulok Csarda
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Esztergom
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
362 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Excellent generous home-cooking in a rustic atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We found this restaurant in Lonely Planed and went there for lunch. An experience we did not regret!

I had foie gras as a starter, one of the tastiest I ever had -and I'm French!- and a large portion of it. Then we shared a gigantic pork knuckle dish, which was absolutely delicous -but we really couldn't finish it because there was so much of it -and we eat a lot!!!

Service was attentive and friendly. Food was reasonably priced. A very good choice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    17
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Although the menu contains baby food, when we asked it, they looked us like a fool. Moreover one of their waiters started swearing, how irresponsible parents we are. I don't recommend this place at all. Shame for Hungary and for Esztergom!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iz0ldaHUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“You better be hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Imagine staggering uphill, on an uneven, narrow, cobble street, going to eat, then by entering going down into a semi-lit dungeon where the scent alone of the delicious food will force you to sit down, if you can find a place, and await to fill yourself with food the medieval Kings & Knights used to gorge themselves on. Well my friends, welcome to the Csulok Csarda. This is no ordinary place. The service is immediate and good, and the choices are wide as to what to eat. Be prepared to eat a big meal because you will empty your plate. Guaranteed! It's that good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent pork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with good food. I had the spare ribs, which were good. Would have gone for their speciality - pork knuckle (Scweine haxe) - if I were not alone (a bit big for one). Friendly waiters.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUDAPEST
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really a very good restaurant closed to the biggest hungarian Basilica. Outdoor terrace, polite staff, rather big choice, and excellent food. Good and quick service, reasonable prices. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FALATKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Csulok Csarda also viewed

Esztergom, Komarom-Esztergom County
Esztergom, Komarom-Esztergom County
 
Esztergom, Komarom-Esztergom County
Esztergom, Komarom-Esztergom County
 

Been to Csulok Csarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing