We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Dobo Guesthouse

Dobo Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eger
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dobo Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 54 Eger B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Dobo is perfectly situated in the middle of Eger, less than a five minute walk from the castle, and also nearby a few popular bars and clubs. The staff are lovely, and they serve a delicous breakfast. The rooms are spacious and are accompanied with enormous bathrooms. Wifi was great as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Even though the address belonging to this property is not right, I have to believe that it is the same Dobó Vendégház (or guest house) that we went to under Dobó utca 19. That is the one that is close to Dobó tér, the castle, and the pancake place.

We visited between Christmas and New Year's for a few days' sightseeing and found the hotel to be OK. The room was basic but spacious with the bathroom and toilet found outside of the room itself, separated from the hallway with a sliding door. Apparently, all other rooms have en-suite bathrooms. The owner was very welcoming, everything was clean and we had no problems.

The one thing I might mention is breakfast, which was slightly below expectations based on previous experiences in similar price-range establishments in Hungary. A few rolls, some cold cuts, butter, honey and jam, plus juice and tea or coffee - pretty much the same thing every day. If you're spending only one or two days, it's not bad but if you are there longer, some of the buffet-style breakfasts I've seen would be better as well as more filling, perhaps.

Overall, though, nice and cozy and, as has been said, can't be beaten on location.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed at the Dobo Guesthouse, a 3 star hotel, for 3 nights. The room was comfortable and spacious. We had a convenient safe and small refrigerator, and our room had a lovely terrace with table and chairs overlooking a nicely kept internal garden and car park. The bathroom and shower were tiny, but everything was clean. Breakfast was included (43 Euros/night for 2 people). The innkeeper, Marianna, was terrific--very kind and helpful (but she doesn't speak English). The hotel is also steps away from Dobo Square, Eger's main plaza, and near the Castle. The one drawback was that the blinds and curtains did not completely block the morning sunlight. If you go, visit the crepe restaurant nearby, Palacsintavár Étterem. Fantastic, huge dinner and dessert crepes! Ask about prices. We found nearly all the restaurants in Hungary add a tax to the meal, so the stated prices are much lower than the final prices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlottesvilleVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We were looking forward to this guest house based on the reviews and Rick Steves recommendation, but when we got there we were told that they were full, even though we had made our reservation 8 months previously. We were put into a room across the street which was less than desirable. the second morning there was no hot water as the pilot light had gone out and we had cold showers. The saving grace was that the bed was not bad and they brought a nice breakfast to the room. Since we were across the street from the Dobo guesthouse, we could also see that in fact it wasn't full, it was dark the whole 2 days we were there and obviously we were probably the only booking so they decided not to open. We find that unacceptable. If you take a booking, you have to honor it.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Spotlessly clean and with modern, uncluttered interior. Excellent location near Dobo Square and Castle. No airconditioning.

  • Liked — location and spacious, clean room
  • Disliked — no airconditioning in summer
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Eger is wonderful, and this is a great homey place to stay. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, and breakfast is great. The woman that runs it is very sweet, and although she doesn't speak much English, it is enough to communicate the basics. The location cannot be beat - don't miss this lovely city!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank LillyDeViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

I really liked this place. It was very cheap yet very nice. Our room was v big, the bathroom was small but that was only thing wrong with it. it was in a very central location and the staff were nice. They didnt speak much english but enough to get by.

Breakfast was cereal, bread and some salami type meats (from what i remember).

Our room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. No complaints about this place at all. it was what i was expecting so whilst not the nicest place in the world it more than met my needs and i would stay here again.

if you want to be waited on and have your bags carried then there are numerous hotels in eger for you. but if you want a cheap, quiet, good located friendly place then i'd recommend here. only stayed one night here as had 2 night in pecs but i would recommend you stay 2 nights in eger and one night in pecs if you had to choose.

  • Liked — The price and comfort
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deno666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
1.0 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincze Guesthouse
Vincze Guesthouse
#4 of 54 in Eger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agria Retur Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Lobe Vendeghaz
#14 of 54 in Eger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flamingo Vendeghaz
Flamingo Vendeghaz
#29 of 54 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dobo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobo Guesthouse

Property: Dobo Guesthouse
Address: Malomarok U.56 Ungarn, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing