We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting ”
Review of Hotel Villa Volgy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Volgy
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights during the bulls blood festival , and found it a lovely hotel , staff friendly and helpful , although I had to ware a wrist band to use the pool spa and baths they were really nice . The room was sufficient and beds were comfortable , although there was a problem with our booking and we did end up spending more on it upon arrival I still feel it's a nice hotel

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
44
52
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

i stayed at this hotel while on a birdwatching trip for seven days. The hotel is classed as 4 star I would put it at just about 3 star but having said that it is a very nice place to stay. I had a very large room with three windows and everything is very clean and pleasant, the grounds are lovely very carefully designed with a large selection of attractive trees colourful flowers are not needed as the trees and shrubs are so wellplaced and attractive. It was filled with birdsong. The one thing that let it down was a very unattractive swimming pool with what looked like a pile of bricks in the centre.
the restaurant was good and the menu was interesting breakfast was also good with a variety of fruits and breads along with the usual foods. The staff were always polite and I would recommend he hotel for a short stay in that area.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the restaurant and gardens are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel staff is very nice but there are some problems with the buildings. Unfortunately the hotel is located in various buildings and it's very unpleasant to go from one building to another to have breakfast in rain.
It's also a problem, that there is no lift in the 4* part and it's not very pleasant to climb to the 2nd floor with luggage. The apartments are not apartments. There is no separate sitting area and sleeping are.
There is no proper wireless internet in the common areas and the one in the rooms work with a cable which is not very handy.
The hotel is a bit overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the top floor of the building. They are very dark because there are only roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Az9371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

At the moment the Villa Volgy is having their spa area renovated. Personally I would not choose this hotel for its spa, but for the food it offers and its location. My partner and I always stay here when we go to Eger due to its location to the Valley of Beautiful Women. This is an excellent site to sample wines from all of the Eger region. The hotel is a 20 minute walk maximum to the city of Eger and is in a nice quiet area to relax. It is also reasonably close to superior thermal spas in the area.

Room Tip: It really depends on what you want. The hotel is really three different hotels but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oct34th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked via booking.com who list hotel as 4Star but it is both a 4 and 3* the offers are for the 3* rooms. The hotel is set up in three blocks in the 3* block the rooms are very nice, clean and modern but you get a list of things you dont get as you are in the 3*. The spa is open 8am till 8pm but you cant use it once you have booked out of your room at 10.30 so if only staying one night and you arrive late it is virtually impossible to use the pool/spa unless your up early for breakfast.
The outdoor pools are not in use in winter and the indoor pool and spa are poor and could do with a clean. New sauna.
The staff we found were not very friendly apart from the young man on reception. For example i asked in the morning we were due to check out if we could use the spa..all I got was an abrupt NO you pay...not the service I would expect.
Also there are dogs locally who barked all night long..
Food all ok lots of choice.
All in all a lovely hotel but with a strange set up and rude staff. Shame really.

Room Tip: facing away from the main buidling and dogs barking..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family-and-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miskolc, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel has nice, polite, attentive crew. The rooms are clean and good atmosphere. The wellness comfortable, clean and adequate in size. The breakfast is ample and good quality ingredients. Unfortunately, we close 20.00. We've had a fine dinner at the restaurant (a la carte), but there are also half board. Unfortunately, the kitchen is close 21.30. Overall, I recommend it to all your family, friends, couple or just to relax together.
a short walk to the wine cellar series

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATTILA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is a very comfortable and beautiful hotel in a beautiful place. The food is amazing and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is in a 20 minutes walk from the city center and 5 minutes from the famous wine area, Szepasszonyvolgy. We will visit this hotel again in a near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterPusztai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#5 of 22 in Eger
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#11 of 22 in Eger
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
#4 of 22 in Eger
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Volgy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Volgy

Property: Hotel Villa Volgy
Address: Tulipankert utca 5, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Volgy 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Volgy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volgy Hotel Eger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing