We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Aqua Eger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aqua Eger
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel is in good location close to downtown but in quiet area. Our room was spacious with decent furniture and amenities. The most we liked the restaurant where the food is great, bistro style as the name suggest it (it is called Zsálya Bisztro). There is a charming outdoor dining area where was nice to enjoy the food and some wine. Another highlight is the good selection of local wines in very attractive prices. Worth to try some local wines here, one glass (1 dl) cost only 3-400 Huf. The breakfast was decent but did not reach up to the restaurant's lunch and dinner menu. Service is very helpful both at reception and in the restaurant. I recommend this place to those who want to stay close to the downtown and Castle, but in green area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigmacbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aqua Eger
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

The reception staff and restaurant are very nice. They speak english and are always smiling. The rooms are nice and pretty good size. We also had a balcony and they have free parking and free internet. The breakfast was nice..typical Hungarian with touch of international.
Its located 5 minutes from the castle of Eger and 2 minutes from the Turkish Bath. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in hotel in January 2013. We - 2 adults- lived on the 3rd floor. There is no elevator. It was extremely to bring 25 kg luggage to the 3rd floor and then back. According to the buildings plan we lived in the single room where was 2 beds. And paied about double room. Reception couldn't change our room, because wasn't empty rooms. In the room wasn't the air. There was no place where to change each other. Internet on the 3rd floor was very very slow, sometimes was no signal. Wifi worked only on the ground floor where is reception. Towels in the bathroom were gray and hard. In our rooms bathroom shower stall hadn't doors - therefore in this space was flood. Bed sheet had a hole. Carpet wasn't clear. Under the bed was lot of dust. Our clleagues TV was not working. And other colleague could died because the frige was broken and at the midnight from fridge started flow out Freon. Some of receptionist wasn't frendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lelde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tímea L, Director of Sales at Hotel Aqua Eger, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry that you had bad experience in conjunction with our hotel.
I would like to response to your problem.
We are a small three-star hotel, where the elevator and the bell boy is not criterion. We have rooms just on 2 floors, and your room was on the second floor. If you had asked my colleagues to help you, I am absolutely sure that they would have done it. Our guests always praise the staff readiness, and we are very proud of it!
My colleagues maked the invoice according to your reservation, that we confirmed with these price that you accept.
WiFi system is established in the first week of January that we used also in the back office. Speed of the WiFi depends on the network loaded.
We pay attention for the cleanliness, and we have never got complaint about it. The Housemaid everyday cleans the rooms, and she is accurate in her work.
The thing with the fridge was an accident, It can happen to anyone at home also, that something go wrong. Our staff solved the problem immediately.

You spent a week in our hotel, me and my colleagues did our best, and we are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your staying here!

Best regards,
Team of Hotel Aqua Eger***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2006

We stayed in this hotel from December 29, 2005 to January 1, 2006. It is close to the thermal baths and to the older part of the town. The staff in the hotel have limited english but it was sufficient. The restaurant is excellent and the menu included English and German. It is about 20 min walk to the Valley of Beautiful Women where you can go wine tasting. Make sure to visit the cellar No. 2.
Only real down side of the hotel was that we had booked through ratestogo.com and the confirmation amount in Euro must have been calculated at a more favourable rate but even at the current rate they managed to add €20 more than agreed to the bill. This was over three nights so it wasn't too bad and everything else was so reasonable we couldn't be bothered arguing. Only tip is try and get a quote in local currency and not euro. Every hotel we stayed in added to the agreed amount!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vargaklaudia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.5 mi away
Szent Janos Hotel
Szent Janos Hotel
#11 of 22 in Eger
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Romantik
Hotel Romantik
#7 of 22 in Eger
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
Imola Hotel Udvarhaz
#4 of 22 in Eger
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Korona
Hotel Korona
#10 of 22 in Eger
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Szent Istvan
Hotel Szent Istvan
#16 of 22 in Eger
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varkapu Panzio
Varkapu Panzio
#12 of 22 in Eger
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua Eger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua Eger

Address: Maklari ut 9, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aqua Eger 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aqua is situated near the centre of Eger. The castle of Eger, the main square, the Turkish Bath, the local lido and swimming pool are in the neighborhood. The hotel's restaurant offers wide range of selected wines from the country together with delicious meals. Parking is free in the courtyard, internet connection is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aqua Eger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing