We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
91
61
21
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
61
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful women wine tasting different wines take away bulls blood small area language barrier small road large variety of wines pleasant place st andrea an interesting place to visit min walk take home beautiful city the main attraction walk around
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Eger is apparently known as a wine-making area, and here is a small walkable variety of the wineries in the area, with cellars built into the hillsides of the valley. It has the occasional souvenir magnet stand, and a number of cafes/restaurants with typical Hungarian food so you won’t go hungry. We stopped at Preteny Volgy47, Toth Ferenc46, Juhasz Pinceszet 40, and Kedves 38. We are 1 hour from the Napa Valley in California and my husband is the wine drinker, not I, but we both enjoyed checking out each cellar, and he would taste the wines while I got on the wifi in each cellar and checked my email, and edited my fotos. My husband enjoyed Toth Ferenc46 and Preteny (he bought a Tokay Brandy at the latter).
Taxi from Dobó István was approximately 1300-1600Ft one way.

Thank sandralA3267QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

//Scroll down for English//
Eltöltöttünk egy szép délutánt itt a férjemmel pincéről pincére járva. Előtte a Nótafa étteremben ettünk finomat, a kiszolgálással is maximálisan elégedettek voltunk. A pincékben mindenhol kedvesek voltak velünk, sajnos a bort viszont nem mindenhol szerettük. A leginkább a Petrény borbankban éreztük jól magunkat. A kisebb bortúra után a Legényfogóban szerettük volna az éhségünket csillapítani, de több mint egy órát várhattunk a megrendelt ételre.
//
We spent a nice afternoon here with my husband. We went from wine cellar to wine cellar and tried different wines. Before this we had eaten a good lunch in the restaurant "Nótafa", we were perfectly satisfied with the service, too. In the wine cellars everybody was very kind with us. We enjoyed the "Petrény borbank" thr most. After our wine tour we wanted to eat something in the restaurant "Legényfogó" but we had to wait more than one hour for our orders.

Thank EszterM167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

The Valley of the Beautiful Women is a place located in the surroundings of Eger, where there are a lot of wineries. Here you can taste some wines of each one, so it is one of the most fantastic places, where you can enjoy a lot if you are a wine-lover. We came here and taste some of them, surely too much ;-).
Obviously, if you are a wine-lover, it is a greateful experience to come here, walk on the place, see all wineries and taste some glasses of wine. A top place!
I recommend a lot Kedves (or St. Andrea) winery,its wines are wonderful! and you can eat some cheese or cures sausages in the place.

Thank AlbertSalichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The area actually has nothing to do with Beautiful Women (the only one I saw, was the one I brought with me), unless you count the view through wine goggles. The place is all about wine drinking with a reputed 200 wine makers clustered around the small area.

Prices varied, but were more expensive than local shops (for wine to take away), so not really good value. A reputed very cheap shop at the top of the hill was closed when we visited. The bar areas were reasonable value compared to other bars in Eger, so worth visiting for those.

In a country with zero alcohol allowance for drivers, it was disappointing to be left to drink grape juice. But as nearly all the wine was very dry, I don't consider it a huge loss.

1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Great place for wine fans. It is located 20 minutes walk from city centre. You may get there by car or local transport. You may try there regional vines in many cellars. Prices are reasonable. It is the best place to buy wines in Eger. It is "must see" attraction in Eger.

Thank Paulina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

There are wine caves dug into the hillsides all around this little valley, and several restaurants, as well as a couple of family-style guest houses. You can drink and eat your fill, and roll downhill to your bed. Several of the wineries serve superior wines. I can recommend Besenyei, Petrény, and Juhász, because these wineries produce consistently great wines, but that does not mean that the others are not good. They are, but those three are my favorites in this location.

Thank GeneBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

You find most anything Hungarian here. Wines in all price ranges. Street food to decent restaurants. Even a good hotel.

Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Szépasszonyvölgy has finally some of the best winemakers these days and the restaurants offering good food.

Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

It is good for people who likes to test the wine in atmosphere of carnival...anyway you can find there a good quality of wine

Thank peter7922016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

We visited here as part of our tour group activities. It is a nice 30 minute walk downhill thorugh lovely views to the wine cellars. We got to taste 4 different wines (in large quantities), and lovely cheese/meats at the same time. The 2 lady's we had serving us were lovely and explained a few things about the wines and their heritage (with our guide translating). We had Roma music as well which was nice to match up the experience. There was easily enough wine to keep a hungry group like ours going. White, red, bulls blood (deep red) and dessert wine were served and they sold the bottles quite cheap that we could take away.

Thank Terran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews